ALDI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blood suckers
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin22 November 2017
A lot depends on store manager but most of them are useless and acting like they were presidents
Wouldn't recommend to anyone who likes to spend time with family.
Choose life..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend, be careful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Laoise, County Laois15 November 2017
Can't say . evrything is very confidential.
Before You join , ask right People about typical day at work, management,workplace culture, hours, breaks, holidays,ect.not
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend, be careful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Laoise, County Laois15 November 2017
Can't say . evrything is very confidential.
Before You join , ask right People about typical day at work, management,workplace culture, hours, breaks, holidays,ect.not
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Dundalk, County Louth15 October 2017
You have to work really hard for the money aldi offers.so if you are not hard worker your carrer be unnseccsesfull . Everything else is allright cant complain
Pros
good work life balance
Cons
lack of comunication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse picker
Warehouse picker (Former Employee) –  Naas, County Kildare18 September 2017
early mornings an you never know what time you will finish. hard work in fast pace environment management treat you like dirt. not a good job would not recommend
Pros
finish early, good canteen
Cons
the whole job
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blessington, County Wicklow28 August 2017
brilliant company to work for. very good to me. hard work but great pay. managers and firm but fair. felt like a family. we worked hard and we achieved goals and we were rewarded
Pros
great pay
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect logistics
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Naas, County Kildare17 August 2017
Good place for growing up yours skills a lot training and familiar coworkers
Working on shift like you prefer no problem with days off
Promoting good workers
Pros
Free hot drinks when you working in cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job if you want to loose weight!
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin22 June 2017
I worked at Aldi for 10 months as a store assistant,at first I didnt like it,most of the staff were polish and barely even said "hello" to you.
The training was awful!!the staff were too busy to assist you and when they did one told you do a task a certain way and then another a different way!the store manager was a nice guy but the assistant manager wasnt!!you were basically timed on everything you did,you were expected to pack a huge pallett of stock in 20 minutes and whether you were there a wk or a 5 years that wasnt taken into consideration!
It wasnt too bad tho,the days flew in cos you were always busy but there was no proper communication among management and staff!!
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Your werent guarenteed a 35 hour shift, some wks might only be 25 which is just not enough for a single person, also after the morning shift I was dripping in sweat!
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place i worked
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick,Dublin Road11 June 2017
Worst job i ever had - starting with shop manager,finishing with kinda all employees attitude (based on managers attitude in first place) - toxic place to work,at least shop Nr.45 in Limerick,Dublin Road.Have no back and left hand anymore,nobody cares,manager has preferable people,and if you not fall in to that category-you screwed.Many people taking advantage of it and because of that others must work way more.In the mornings you have 2.5h to do 15-17 pallets of produce alone,some banana/pineaple boxes are 15-20+kg,but considering you need to do 15-17 pallets...good luck finishing in time,and if you not finish - well,nobody gonna say anything nice to you.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greystones, County Wicklow3 May 2017
Hard work always busy time goes by very fast. Great place to work. Has a lot of good thinks. Great training given at the start. Always know your tasks. A lot of targets to meet every month.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
operator (Former Employee) –  Mitchelstown, County Cork23 April 2017
Unfair workplace.
No option to progress with career
Management is not responding for operators needs .
No communication between manager and operators
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly Aldi was not for me!
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin4 April 2017
Very, very physical job. Large volume of heavy lifting all day long..over head too. Pulling and dragging. Use of pellet trucks. My back was in bits after 1 week! Lovely store manager and area manager. Thr training was OK. Co workers are too busy to show you how things are done properly. Quite stressful as time is money here. Expected to work as good as others very quickly with little or no feedback. Hours are OK, bit unsociable. Store closes at 10pm but it's 10.45 before you get to leave. Customers are lovely. Not for the faint hearted but happy I tried it.

Great job for the right person.
Pros
Nice co workers, lovely management, nice uniform.
Cons
Early mornings, late nights, stressful, heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 76No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dundalk, County Louth18 January 2017
Very nice place to work for, keep you busy, keep you with good money, gives 4 weeks holidays, sick pay. company cares for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 34Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nightmare
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Carlow Town, County Carlow17 January 2017
you give the best years of your life to this company, both physically and mentally, and all they care about is numbers, the sales, the productivity and doesn't matter how they achieve it your only a number yourself, yes the opertunities are there,but it's the most dog eat dog company I know, people stabbing you in the back to get ahead, you have to sell your soul to Aldi to make it work, they need commitment above and beyond, better you don't have a wife and kids, nobodies safe from all the stress, the pay was great when I started in 2003 but the bonuses and perks are long gone now, they want the young and the robotic to work for them, use them for what they can get out of them then bye bye, apply with caution
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ewdwdfef
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork1 January 2017
Don't apply for this place it is a rotten place to work and the staff and managers are a joke. they over work you and underpay you and you will not go any where unless you have friends in high place
Pros
none
Cons
Staff and managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cavan Town, County Cavan6 December 2016
Stay away from aldi Cavan the worst place to work in county.
~The most important word for management is productivity
and you will be only another number used to beat targets.
Megalomaniac store manager,arrogant manager assistant's
Great respect for those who are working there
they still have to play with Myles's game.
Life after Aldi is fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 94No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strange atmosphere caused by odd managers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cork30 November 2016
Enjoyed the physical aspect of work, even as an assistant manager. Training from store manager some of the worst I've experienced in nearly 20 years of employment. Worked in a quiet store and a busy store. Both equally as stressful as never enough staff to cover busy trading times. Constantly firefighting, hard to be productive.
Pros
Salary
Cons
changing shift patterns. Poor quality training
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dundalk, County Louth5 November 2016
My working day would start different times of the day
I learned one thing not to work for Aldi again
there was 2 managers one was Irish the other not I think maybe German he was the best between them he was easy to talk to and down to earth the Irish one not so .
my co workers well the were ok part one or two
I did not enjoy my time spent working there
Pros
cant think of one
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay clear
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Louth2 November 2016
As a former employee I would urge all to stay clear of aldi.
I was bullied while working there.
I found the training strange and you are treated as a number not a person.
If you show any initiative you are beaten down
Pros
Good money
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to work, tests ur skills.
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth14 October 2016
All depends on your performance more work more pay, only suitable for people who work hard. Not easy to survive in the company.
Pros
Good pay for people who work.
Cons
Pressure and stress all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,031 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2