Argos Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff
Customer advisor (Former Employee) –  Carlow22 August 2017
Loved working in argos and being part of a team I worked there temporarily for xmas staff for 5yrs friendly staff helpful treated me with respect and as part of a team
Pros
Flexible hrs
Cons
Only cud use tills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Argos
Customer advisor (Former Employee) –  Killarney, County Kerry21 August 2017
I Liked the job i liked the people different from what i was used to.
There was a monthly employee magazine was in it for selling insurance policy in the one month competition was good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  ireland15 August 2017
Working in argo was great for building confidence in customer service roles, as you are interacting with customers and staff all day, i found it a very friendly place to work, I especially enjoyed christmas time in Argos, as going that little bit extra to help a customer is really rewarding, i would recommend Argos as a place of employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Naas, County Kildare7 July 2017
Was good experience working in Argos. Was my first retail job and it was honestly so much fun. Since I am a quick learner it was quick for me to catch up with the rest and get a hang of the job
Pros
Discount
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin28 June 2017
I really enjoyed working in Argos. It was a great experience with great people. I learned many traits in working in Argos such as; customer service, jewelry care and how to manage the jewelry counter, and headset .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly productive.
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth12 June 2017
I worked in Argos over the Christmas period.i loved it it was my 1st job I was 16 and worked for a few months..I worked in the warehouse and on the tills and also helping customers with any queries they had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Tralee, County Kerry9 May 2017
Lovely business to work for. nice atmosphere and great training. staff all seem very happy in their job. Pay is grand & the hours are flexible. Management are nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Horrible managers
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Galway2 May 2017
Worked at argos galway for a year. They would let you work 3 hours 45 mins in order to save money on paying us a 15 minute break. Got bullied. Called names. One of my final days here ended as i was told "sure we can replace you just as quick as you leave". Got barely any training in argos. The company is fine. Its just the management in galway that is the problem. Not a nice place to work.
Pros
Double pay bank holidays
Cons
Management are bullies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers need to learn people skills
Operations Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Galway, Ireland5 April 2017
No work life balance if you are a team lead or above. The culture can be pretty good depending on the store/manager.
Most days can be pretty quite but during the holiday be prepared to sacrifice time with family for work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work and also to get work experience
Employee (Former Employee) –  Port Laoise, County Laois14 March 2017
Good environment for anybody to work in and also the management were very friendly and kind. Since in secondary school the hours were very flexible and also fair pay was included
Pros
Nice long lunch brakes
Cons
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Argos?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun workplace.
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tullamore, County Offaly28 February 2017
fast pased, learning something new every day.
the hardest part was climbing the ladders to reach high stock.
The most enjoyable was making customers happy :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Longford15 February 2017
Collecting orders for customers at sometimes a never-ending pace.(Xmas time)
good support from management and colleagues were very helpful, especially to new staff.
Pros
Day went quick
Cons
tired feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stockroom Team Leader
customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Navan, County Meath27 January 2017
During my time at Argos I found that for the most part their management to be friendly and courteous . Argos was a great place to work. The only draw back was the 6 hour contract.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and rewarding
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Letterkenny, County Donegal4 January 2017
i loved working in argos, i really enjoy working in retail, i met knew people everyday and learned a lot about working on tills, i learned to work and think quick to sort out problems that i didnt have to when working in restaurants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Costumer Adviser (Current Employee) –  Dublin28 December 2016
To work for Argos is nice, you are free to interact with customer and provide the best experience they could have and you are recognized for that. I have always heard "be your self".
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Few hours contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stepping stone into the world of retail
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Blackpool20 December 2016
very god stepping sone into the world of retail it may have only been a christmas contract but that is where i discovered my love of retail and gained skills like customer service,
Pros
good salary, good hours
Cons
hard to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the 1997 originals
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath2 November 2016
Started as one of the original crew in Athlone in 1997,great atmosphere and staff,management were ok .All staff were on fixed 15 hour contract which was a pain and very hard to live off
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Fixed contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place and great hours
Storeroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick25 October 2016
Really enjoyed working here meet new friends great hours..what I liked about the job was working with customers learned alot
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, poor management.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dundalk, County Louth3 October 2016
I liked working here and learned a lot when the manager wasn't around. All the staff were lovely and great to work with but unfortunately the management in this store is very poor. The manager didn't know how to perform some transactions on tills yet expected staff to know it all, and it was generally left to the 2 assistant managers to train them up. In reality, the assistant managers basically managed the store as the manager spent very little time in the place, and everyone worked better under them as the manager tends to give her friends and relatives who work there preference over other staff members, and gives younger staff members a tough time, regardless of their good customer reviews.
Pros
Great co-workers, nice job.
Cons
Poor management and training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me on my toes
Stock Room Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Dublin18 July 2016
This job was probably one of the most fun and challenging. The level of work fluctuated regularly, particularly at peak times such as Christmas. This company had quite a high turnover of staff, so it was a pleasure meeting and training new people on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Argos. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,221 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7