International Monetary Fund Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monetary fund
Network Administrator (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DC3 November 2017
Great place to work (IMF). the team spirit is high in the IT department. Even though the place is a mix culture every body respect each other's view, opinion etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No commemt
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC26 October 2017
I have no valuable opinion to give about my current employer, at this this time. Due to the nature of my work I personally feel it would be unfair and a dis-service to myself if I write any type of comment, being it be positive or negative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible people - across the board.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC25 September 2017
I had a six-month contract here. It was the best place I've ever worked. I was so sad to leave. Everyone I met there was incredibly down-to-earth, helpful and kind. It was truly an honor and a privilege to work there. I miss it all the time!
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
IT Risk Assurance & Compliance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DC23 September 2017
Unite for Youth's management team will consist of the Board of Directors and the program's executive director. A team of professional program and fundraising managers will be assembled to manage and grow the program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Environment
Editorial Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC21 August 2017
Great International and professional environment
Do not count your work hours (weekends and night will be spent at the office) - 2 week maternity leave
No micro management
No job security unless you're an economist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Research Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC16 August 2017
Great work/life balance, a lot of smart people around, a lot of opportunities to learn and visit training, good benefits, interesting assignments, good environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
SFO (Regional Portfolio / Relationship Mgr) (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC10 August 2017
An excellent place to work with diverse people from all over the globe.

The benefits of this kind of international interactions are rich. The travel to member countries for official work are equally rich experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Library Aide (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC6 August 2017
The supervisors didnt have any leadership and give advance notices. they have poor familiar with disablites cultures. They didnt know what to next with disablites people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC18 June 2017
Actually I don't have 'much' to say about this position, because I was a volunteer there. One good thing about it was that you got the chance to meet many famous politician and economics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Country Economist (Former Employee) –  Kinshasa, CD4 June 2017
- A typical day at work would involve interacting with Government official on state affairs, collecting data, building models, writing reports and interacting with other teams.

-Learned how pratical economy is implemented outisde of theory and textbooks.
Pros
Good compensation and no tax on salary, great work life balance, exposure to public officials
Cons
slow career advancement, promotions highly political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good
Technical Assistance Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC3 June 2017
Staff is underpaid and overworked. Staff Assistants do not receive the recognition that they deserve. I believe that the Staff Assistants do most of the work but they are treated like dirt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of business
iPad refresh technian (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC18 May 2017
Great atmosphere, friendly work environment.
Employees were kind and helpful
Great place to learn your craft and pickup skills that's needed in your career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract IT Work
Helpdesk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PA7 May 2017
The company itself isn't bad but I worked on an IT contract that was severely underpaid. You'd think a company that makes as much money as the IMF would be willing to pay more than absolute bare minimum for IT staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly interesting place to work
Senior Consultant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC24 April 2017
People work very regular hours here, with many opportunities for socializing. I have the opportunity to work with people from all over the world, various cultures and every language imaginable.
Pros
Smart people
Cons
Static position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Golden Handcuff
Computer Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC15 March 2017
Worked at the IMF during a high unemployment and job stagnation period in the US. It was an very insulated environment, with a guaranteed employment environment. Benefits were incredible!
Pros
Great spring picnic @ Bretton Woods & Christmas Party
Cons
Managment was more charisma than technical
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Policy work
Economist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC1 March 2017
A lot of policy work with different country authorities. Variation of assignments across fiscal, external, financial and real sectors.
Interesting discussions but over-censorship in reports.
Pros
Good Travel, Variation in Assignments
Cons
Difficult to advance, static culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
administrative assistant position
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC11 February 2017
This was an office job on temporary assignment. I was lucky in lasted for four years but it was a pain not knowing the future of your employment each day. Because I wasn't a permanent employed I was not valued or didn't feel like a part of the team. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the scanning project and filing that I did at this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
SYSTEM ADMINISTRATOR (LINUX/SPLUNK) (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC2 February 2017
IMF was a good experience for me, I've learned plenty, there is room for advancement. Although the job atmosphere could be a little bit better. Besides that i liked it a lot , people in my team loved to share knowledge on and off site.
Pros
knowledge sharing, collabs, great energy
Cons
lack professionalism at times, No free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC2 February 2017
relaxing working culture and you can always learn new things in such a small company. You will become an expert in climate sector.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're screwed if you are not on an open ended contract
Senior Technical Assistance Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC5 January 2017
Pros
Amazing number of vacation days
Pension benefits (if you can stomach being there that long)
Cons
Horrible management
Very insular
"You're here to do what I say, not to think"
Boring and hard to advance if you do not have a PHD...You are not part of the mainstream if you are not a economist
Bureaucratic, inefficient, slow, very few opportunities for advancement, staff unmotivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at International Monetary Fund. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9