Irish HomeCare Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great helpful job that works around you amd your needs
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ballymun, County Dublin30 November 2017
Ive worked for this company nearly four years the hours work around my child i have lovely clients and the managment and careworkers are all great friendly and very helpful i am currently working my way up in the business as i like this company so much
Pros
Great fair company
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all good experience
Home Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin29 November 2017
The company have always been very good to me and have always helped me out when needed. Management and office staff very helpful. Never really had a problem with them
Pros
Can work hours around my personal life
Cons
Some days are very long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Place to work
Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Dublin29 November 2017
I have worked for Irish Home Care for 3 years now and I would recommend working here to anyone. I find my team leader very helpful and she always provides me support when needed. The on call team also provide support out of hours which is always great if you have any issues. The most enjoyable part of this job is the relationship you build up with your clients and making their day to day life a little easier. I have also made friends for life within the company.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Clients passing away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and supportive
Manager (Current Employee) –  Finglas, County Dublin29 November 2017
This company have a range of hours to suit all availabilities. They helped me get back into the work place , become a certified health care assistant and upskill again . There is a great support team of managers in the field
Pros
Discounted courses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place from night mare
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin5 November 2017
To all!
Please stay away from this company ! Team leader just big joke no respect from company ! They will kick U a.. when U don't sing like they wish. No fuel allowance bad management. This company should be close down.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Bad management bad team leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better but could also be worse..
Carer (Current Employee) –  Louth13 April 2017
Have been working with Irish Homecare a while now and I love my job. You're offered the chance to become a qualifed carer and company subsidise your course so its a massive plus. Only downside to that is that people tend to leave once they are qualified for many reasons including pay, (currently the lowest paid agency carers in Ireland), mileage only paid on the very rare occasion, and a lack of support from higher management. We do however have great support from our Service team leader and the girls in the office are fabulous but everyone seems to be doing the job with one hand tied behind their back.
Pros
Clients and fellow carers
Cons
Senior management not appreciating staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workers
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cavan6 March 2017
I enjoyed working with Irish home care however I found it really expensive it cost me more in petrol than I was paid by them and the course I couldn't finish as it was also too expensive for me
Cons
Alot of driving, no fuel allowance actually cost me money to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin20 November 2016
I worked here for 10 months. Poor company to work for. Wage is okay but must pay for your own petrol costs this can add up as quiet a bit as not all clients live near each other. Hours get cut and on a zero hour contract. Which means if you are full time then get cut to part time there is nothing you can do. They do not give a Monday to Friday shift but instead 3 days one week and four the next. Office very poorly educated nobody seems to know what is going on. They can also ring you at nine at night or on your day of at any hour to ask would you do a call. Also you could get 4 hours a day but the calls are spread out so you have to be available for the whole day or evening for example to get paid for 4 hours.
Pros
The clients
Cons
Poor mangement/paying for your own travel costs
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job. Very rewarding
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Santry, County Dublin27 October 2016
I have been working with this company for the last 10months. In the time i have gained so much experience as i started off with only experience of family relatives. Earning while training. I have now completed my dipoloma and am a fully qualified healthcare assistant. Very supportive company, whether from the office, stl or co-workers. Able to earn a good wage while working around other life commitments. Company has employees and clients best interest at heart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Castleblayney, County Monaghan19 October 2016
Did not know what to expect when i started to work for the company, but was pleasantly surprised that colleagues are friendly fun and in general nice people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great friendly place
Administration (Current Employee) –  Monaghan19 October 2016
Great company with friendly staff, communication is good between office staff and care workers, There is always someone on the end of the line to talk to. The care workers can benefit from the online course offered to train as they work and gain all the qualifications needed at a very competitive rate which has been subsidised by IHC
Pros
friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed the job
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laois9 October 2016
Very rewarding job. Feeling of fulfillment when the day is over, that you have helped in someones day and life. That you have contributed to their life being a little bit easier!
Pros
Very rewarding, job fulfillment
Cons
Not enough time allocated with some clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very badly run
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louth9 October 2016
No communication with senior staff. No travel allowance. Seem more interested in taking on new staff rather than give the work to older staff. Won't give out references when leaving. Expected to work long hours and at the drop of a hat. No moral. Badly run company which is an absolute shame to the clients who are by far the best part of the job.
Pros
Clients.
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 65No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy.supportive fun
care assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin North, County Dublin4 September 2016
I worked for Irish home care and loved it always had the hours I needed for my wage. I found my stl brilliant if I needed extra hours or time off or if I had a problem she was available to help . I feel this company is always changing trying to improve there service for each client which is lovely. Only down fall is the wage but with the right hours u can make your money up.

I'd go back in a heart beat .
Pros
Busy, supportive
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed caring for clients
Assisting clients (Former Employee) –  carer19 November 2015
I enjoyed working with the clients and helping them in their daily tasks.The hours were long and hard to be away from family and not knowing when i would be home. There was not a lot of structure.I learned how to deal with different situations between the clients family not understanding what was happening to their family member.I was always happy to do as much as i could but financially it wasn't working . The best part of my job was seeing that i was making a difference in the clients life or just taking a little bit of pressure off the family.I learned how to communicate to different colleagues efficiently . As it was not just me caring for the same client each day was different so you had to discuss with your colleague what was happening.
Cons
long hours and alot of money on petrol a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
care worker at irish homecare (Current Employee) –  Dublin12 November 2015
a typical day for me is that i take the kids to school, then drive to my first client who lives nearby. I give him his lunch, have a chat, then i have to go to my next call. you don't get much time between calls. you have to call into the office to show that you were at the clients house.my next client in the afternoon has dementia. i take her for a walk. then i go home. when the kids have settled down i go out again in the evenings sometimes to clients. its all nearby my house. the hardest part is when a client you get used to gets sick or has to go to hospital or dies. i used to get very upset over that in the beginning.the nicest part of my job is that im not working in an office. im out an about
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, family run
care assistant (Current Employee) –  dublin12 November 2015
I like working here because its flexible for me to be able to work around my family. The team leaders are very good and they give you a partner to work out your shifts so your not under pressure. the pay isnt great but i can top it up with fis
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 30Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for, bullying is rife.
Carer (Former Employee) –  East15 October 2015
Irish Home Care. is the most unorganised company to work for. The Carers bully the new ones coming in. The older carers get away with murder, and pick and choose the "EASY" clients to do. The pay is really bad, if you use your car my advise is don't you will spend all your money and petrol going to and from calls just say you can't drive use your bike. They make use of your car and you tax and insure it don't forget. You get no money for travel expenses only the supervisors do.Also you have to download your work schedule so you are charged for that through your Internet Provider. Morale is very low.Was working 8 days on the in a row without a day off because they cannot hold onto staff.
Pros
Leaving the job.
Cons
My advise is don't work for Irsh Home Care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice family-run company
care assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin7 July 2015
good team leader support, organised rotas. I love the clients, thats what makes it so enjoyable. The pay is not great, but its the same in most care companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 78No 34Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice compant to work for
care assistant (Current Employee) –  westmeath14 April 2014
this job suits my life style i really loce working for irish homecare
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 80Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Irish HomeCare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5