Marks and Spencer Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marks and Spencer is a good place to work
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Dublin27 July 2017
Marks and Spencer is a good company to work for and I would have no hesitation in recommending employment there especially if you are young and eager for a career
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring but friendly enviroment
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin15 May 2017
I did a week of work experience in M&S I learned how to deal with rude customers but I wasn't given the proper training seen as do I was only there for a week. But the staff were super friendly and kind.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Very boring when theres nothing to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fallen giant
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin8 May 2017
M&S appears caught in a generational divide between attempting to retain its core customer base while simultaneously attempting to expand it. Coupled with muddled priorities and lack of strategic or responsive communication the company needs to do much to recover its market share.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  dublin 146 May 2017
Work was always busy, management was brilliant best part of the job was end of day sale, team was easy to work with and the hardest part was clearing the fridges .
Pros
end of day sale
Cons
cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lucan, County Dublin23 April 2017
cleaned floors
cleaned desks
fitting rooms
cashier till work
helping customers with any problems they may have had
i enjoyed working for m&s because all the staff were a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace of experience
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin14 April 2017
Got to experience a typical day working in retail. Full of opportunity to gain more skills and experience.Good way to learn how to adapt to customer requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway10 April 2017
As a new employee, the staff were very welcoming and made me feel at ease and the management made me feel extremely comfortable. I like that the management did mid-progress review to let you know how you were doing and told you how to improve in areas that you were slacking in.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
no job availability in my area in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short but Sweet
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Corrib Centre, Galway3 April 2017
Pleasant working staff for the most part and a pleasant atmosphere. Felt that parts of the job I was lacking in could have been addressed/ made more of an issue of, so I could improve more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good place to work
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth3 April 2017
I loved working in Marks and Spencer, it was an enjoyable job and they were good to work for. There was no part of the job that I didn't like. I got on with everyone and I liked all aspects of the job.
Pros
It was all good
Cons
There was none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance Awful
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dublin3 April 2017
Late nights, struggling to get days off for hospital appointments or family events. Different managers telling you different things because they're not in communication with each other.
Pros
Wage is decent
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about Marks and Spencer?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Clonmel, County Tipperary9 March 2017
Ive been working in M&S for over three years now on a week to week contract. Ive learned many skills from working here and it has definitley improved my customer relation skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
somewhat enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grafton, UK2 March 2017
When I first started in Mark's & Spencer's I learned to be till trained, how to do stock takes, pricing sale and helping customers.
The management are great and always helpful and try to always communicate and help out with any problems you might be having.
The work place was enjoyable but some of the members of staff weren't the most enjoyable to work with and be a part of a team with.
Hardest part of the job's was working with some people and feeling very uncomftable and intimidated being there .
Pros
the hours
Cons
the limited time you get for brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath9 February 2017
My bosses and fellow employees did their utmost to make me feel as if i was part of the team, and I felt very comfortable working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organised
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin ifsc2 February 2017
I had 3 weeks work experience in marks and spencer and really enjoyed it. I was welcomed very well into the marks and Spencer's work place I was asked to come back over the Christmas but I was not able to as I was on football trials
Pros
Yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackrock9 January 2017
Great enviornment to work and lovely staff members

The hardest part of the job would be travelling

The most enjoyable part would be dealing with customers at christmas and everyone was in good spirits
Pros
free lunch and loyalty card
Cons
awkward hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin9 January 2017
Very fun and entertaining workplace, filled with nice people and approachable managers and members of the admin staff. Would recommend also the pay is quite good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Section Manager (Current Employee) –  Cork5 January 2017
Typical day at work is varied

I have recieved goo training

I have an excellent relationship with co workers

Hardest part of jobs are weekends and dealing with difficult issues with some people

Teamwork and achieving satisfying results are good
Pros
teamwork
Cons
Weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad working environment
Operations advisor (Former Employee) –  Blackrock4 January 2017
the work at marks and spencers was hard but not rewarding . My shift times often changed. My co-workers were very pleasant. Management was disorganised and some times unhelpful. The most enjoyable part of the jobs was the co-workers . The hardest job was staying busy as often i was left just collecting trollies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Advisor
Sales Advisor / Through the night team member (Former Employee) –  6 - 8 Patrick Street, Cork City28 December 2016
Worked in all departments throughout the store over the years, including the Cash Office twice a week. M&S was very good to me through my life to date & it was a pleasure working there
Pros
20% Discount. 1 month Christmas Bonus. FANTASTIC non contributory pension, Great comaraderie & friendships .
Cons
No cons on employment side.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Douglas, County Cork19 November 2016
Lovely staff, some times rude customers and some times polite customers. very busy most days especially at Christmas and during the weekend or when the school kids were off for the summer
Pros
lovely staff
Cons
rushed job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marks and Spencer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,497 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8