Petmania Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Pet care advisor (Former Employee) –  Carlow, portlaoise, tullamore30 September 2016
Very difficult place to work. Very poor atmosphere with a very autocratic area manager who was very underhanded, sneaky and just not a very nice person. Very strange set up where he supplied the fish as an aside. The handling of the fish was shocking with the amount dead on every delivery very disturbing. Same went for small animals but not to the same extent. The managers always seemed to be under pressure but were fair and helpful. A lot of reliance on the guys as there was a lot of lifting. Hours were varied and extra hours were paid with extra for Sundays. Met the owner (living in Canada) twice& he seemed very nice & genuinely interested in the staff, don't think she would stand for what goes on a day to day basis.
Pros
Fellow staff
Cons
Area manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animals are treated better than Staff
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wexford/kilkenny /Waterford2 September 2016
I must say truthfully and honestly , Petmania is an awful place to work . Inadequate management and underhanded strategies . They did treat staff disgracefully . Employees have Won cases against them in Labour Court and I believe that there is more than one case. In my opinion the HR dep. at this time was a joke and their HR department needed training .i would be shock if the HR dep is still the same . The store was icy cold during the winter and unhealthy for staff . Stay clear if you have any sense or dignity.
Pros
The animals
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales assistant
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick17 April 2016
Friendly staff
Multitude of jobs available
Not a very active store
Would have appreciated more responsibility when obtaining tasks
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Little customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad wages
Pet care advisor (Former Employee) –  Tullamore, OY13 November 2015
Wages are terrible. There is no such thing as a pay rise, no animal handling courses which is part of your daily duties. Animals not cared for if they fall ill or hurt. Never checked by vets. You have to lift 25kg bags of food on your own. Had no manual handling until 3 years with the company. Area manager is a little hitler and dictates everything. Has no idea on how to run a pet shop business. Manager is fair. Only suitable for students not for someone wanting to future there career. Overall not somewhere I would work again.
Pros
Staff were cool
Cons
Very little hours, wages are a disgrace and no poetry its to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for someone who likes animals.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway9 October 2015
Terrible job culture of "minimum wage minimum effort". No division of labour by management meaning that the vast majority of the work was carried out by two out of seven employees.
There was no training provided regarding handling or care of animals, which is something that is a daily requirement.
Very poor care taken of animals within the store ie. frequent deaths from neglect or lack of knowledge from staff and management.
Management disinterested and completely unmotivational. Unachievable targets set by head office and constantly changing the terms of the monthly bonus. We received the bonus only 4 times out of 24.
Hours are inconsistent, often you can work as little as 2 days a week for minimum wage. No chance to advance and no raise.
You're expected to do work outside of that stated in your contract, with the threat of a cut in your hours to ensure you do so. This can mean you are in the dog grooming studio with no training and expected to carry out the work of the groomer. The groomers earn more than the floor staff but you won't be compensated for doing the same job as them.
Huge health and safety issues. I worked for a year and half with no manual handling training and was expected to lift bags up to 25kg by myself out to the customer car park. Also inhaling dust and saw dust with faecal matter from various types of animal. Cheap dust masks bought by management rather than the correct ones.
Only good point is a free bag of dog food every month and 15% discount in store.
Pros
Free bag of dog food each month
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Pet care advisor/supervisor (Current Employee) –  Santry, D21 February 2014
To work in petmania is great if you are interested in animals and you are a student but, if you want to further yourself and climb the career ladder it is a slow process.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
minimum salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and rewarding experience.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Athlone12 November 2013
Great to meet so many animal lovers.Furthering knowledge of animal husbandry.
Pros
Involvement with animals
Cons
no proper break
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviroment
Sales. (Retail) (Current Employee) –  Dublin11 August 2013
Excellent place to work, normal day of work is fun and energetic constantly on your feet and meeting new people and customers almost everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place, great team to work with
Head dog groomer (Current Employee) –  kilkenny Ireland18 October 2012
co workers are great craic but i dont see much of them as i am in the salon most of the day grooming dogs, i also deal with customers meeting them and booking the dogs in. first part of the morning is to book my first couple of clients in, take details of any new clients that may be arriving log all information into the computer system, start groomig the first couple of dogs that are in while also answering phones for booking and dealing with walk in customers. somethings i get a lunch after that i would book in the next lot of dogs i have and work away on them doing the same as I did during the morning, when all dogs are done i make sure salon is clean and washed down, i then ring all appointments for the next day to confirm them. most enjoyable part of the job is when you get a dog you just cant resist!! hardest part is having to work late sometimes
Pros
meeting the clients
Cons
sometimes you might not get a lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 6Report

See more Petmania reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Petmania. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9