Spar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth15 January 2018
nice shop and nice people to work for just didn't fit my hours I was looking for very friendly staff and was shown the ropes straight away it was very close to home so never had a reason to be late 😊 really looking forward to getting back to work and looking for something to fit in around my son being in school
Pros
close to home
Cons
awkward hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and liked it
Store person (Former Employee) –  Rathnew service station31 December 2017
My shift would start at 6:30sm till 4:30pm. I enjoyed it very much. It was great to interact with new people every day. I learned a lot about the stocktaking and orders whilst working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good work experience
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oulart Gorey13 November 2017
The staff treatment well and I was tasked with loads of jobs to do it was a great work experience I learned a lot from the staff the hours where a little long but I don't mind them.
Pros
Threated well
Cons
Not enough jobs to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dublin10 October 2017
It was my first job after school, first time i was in foreign country , so i learned so many , i became more secure , sociable, responsible !

I had colleagues from different cultures, i liked working with them , it was like an exchange of experience and informations
Pros
Flexible program
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Spar work experince (Former Employee) –  Dublin10 September 2017
I was on here for a few weeks for work experince as part of college but I did enjoy my time there. the staff where very friendly and helpful and kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cork12 August 2017
Spar shop was challenging job for me I worked there as a supervisor and I learnt alot of things updated my life style working as a responsible make to think differently
Pros
Not really
Cons
Shop Cloesed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor salary and no staff benefits
Shop Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dublin10 July 2017
It's an easy going job. The management were knowledgeable. The hours were good. However, the salary was very poor. I was 16 and was paid 6.41 euro an hour. There were no staff benefits whatsoever.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Poor wage/benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy place for linch time
Cashier and floor staff (Current Employee) –  Dublin9 July 2017
Employers put always under the pressure floor staff. There's no motivation working this job, you feel like a machine. every day the same routine, which is not so bad. You always know what to do, but when is there no motivation for staff to improve, after a while job gets very boring.
Cons
long hours, lack of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are chances to be promoted but depend on management.
Store manager (Current Employee) –  Dublin4 July 2017
Its a busy day you get to meet alot of new people every day.
It improves customer service.
You dont have social life retail your required to work flexible it can be any in 7 days.
Pros
Depend on the owners
Cons
No social life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales/Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasthule, County Dublin14 June 2017
Busy and face-paced workplace, plenty of opportunity to expand your skills and learn new parts of working in a fresh foods store. The staff I worked with were brilliant, and we worked well together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Ross, County Wexford2 June 2017
The shop was managed very well and I got along swimmingly with all the staff. Though the job could be physically demanding at times I got on excellently here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First experience in ireland
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin24 May 2017
learn too many things management. the experience is very good is good and workplace is very friendly hard part of the job is cleaning and serving people is very enjoyable part
Pros
discount in lunch
Cons
loung hour break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind Staff, very helpful when training
Store Person (Former Employee) –  Thomas Street16 May 2017
Over all the work was standard. Mostl till work so it was dealing with customers at the check out. It was an easy place to work and the management were nice. The other staff were lovely too so over all a nice experience.
Pros
Lunch discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, welcoming and challenging work place
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin12 May 2017
This is a great place to work, staff and management are extremely friendly. In a developing part of Dublin West the shop is never short of new customers and therefore new challenges and opportunities to work and grow.
Pros
Great Atmosphere, free lunches
Cons
irregular working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always productive
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carrick-on-Suir, County Tipperary4 May 2017
start work get the jobs done what you need to get done,,serve customers while your covering breaks .
managers are nice to get along with.
From when you start your shift whether it be 3-8 hrs shifts you have your tasks for the day/night that you have to do.
Pros
reduced tea r coffee
Cons
short shifts for 3 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Celbridge, County Kildare12 March 2017
Enjoyed employer and other employees. Good place to work. Flexible hours and easy to deal with. Staff were trusted and a democratic style of leadership was used
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin25 February 2017
i had duties as a shop assistant where I worked in the café and also on the shop floor. My duties were to help out making coffees, washing the dishes and cleaning after people on the café. At the shop floor I had to do manual work as in stack shelves. Organise products, label products and assist customers.
Pros
short days
Cons
no payment as was work experience in secondary school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin Castlecknock20 February 2017
Its a pleasure working in Spar because its a nice shop ,with nice people,the managment in the shop is very nice,customers are always nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail agréable
Stage (Former Employee) –  Dublin6 February 2017
En tant que stagiaire en Irlande à Dublin, ce travail était plus qu'agréable, assez convivial et les managers était super !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working
supermarket assistant (Former Employee) –  dublin2 February 2017
Work at till
Selling to costumers
Counting the money
Organization of the delivery
Cleaning tables and floor
Opening and closing the shop
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,390 reviews
5446
4442
3327
2112
163

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture