Specsavers Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 505 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ireland5 November 2016
it was good but fairly boring waiting for people to come to you to enquire and ask for information. great pay and friendly staff.
i worked 3 hours a day, for three days a week. i set up promotional stands and stayed by the stand, ready to answer any queries from customers or passers by.
hours dragged because shopping centre was a generally quiet one.
every second week, i had to wear an ear costume which was unbelievably hot.
pay was great. €9.15 per hour.
Pros
very very flexible, great summer job
Cons
boring, had to wear an ear costume every second week which was HOOOOOOOT
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work starting off
Receptionist/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin12 May 2016
Its fine as a starter job but wouldn't recommend it as a career very hard work on your feet all day always busy and stressful. No matter how well you seem to do its never enough th y always want more which kind of let's customer service side down which is not fair on workers as we are under pressure to get more tests in sell more and serve customers quicker
Pros
Given loads of training
Cons
Monthly wages, bonus not great if given
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have created a great team.
Optical Assistant (Internship Programme) (Former Employee) –  Cork8 February 2016
We have created a great team. Working together with all these people and being a part of it was a really good experience. There were trainings and different career opportunities available.
Pros
Friendly Atomosphere
Cons
Long Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to start off
Store supervisor / Contact lense supervisor (Current Employee) –  Clondalkin1 February 2016
Great company to start off with if you are interested in getting in to optics, as they give you a lot of training. Pay isn't great to be honest but the amount of training the company offers out ways this. As i said its a great company to start off with.
Pros
The training you recieve
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful at times
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork15 January 2016
Lack of opportunity to advance on a monetary level. A lot of titles and extra responsibility but no extra money to back it up. no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fabulous team
Optical Assistant, I (Former Employee) –  Dublin11 November 2015
Loved working with the team we all got on so well, we were required to book patients in for appointments, pre test them before the optician saw them and then help with choices of lenses and frames to suit their prescriptions. The prospects for young people joining this organisation are fantastic, I personally felt that trying to balance my home life and a very busy job was too much for me at this time but would have no hesitation recommending this organisation.
Pros
fabulous team members
Cons
very stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviroment
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Santry, Dublin13 November 2014
A friendly place to work, training is done once a week for new employees, managers are helpful and understanding
Pros
Work hours are appropriate
Cons
Difficult to settle in
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice team to work with
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dundalk, LH27 August 2014
A typical day at work consisted of cleaning, shadowing and sorting appointments. I gained a lot of customer skills. The co-workers were lovely to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, Team work
OPTICAL ASSISTANT AND COORDINATOR @LEARNING (Former Employee) –  Cork, C23 October 2013
Reception duties, General office duties
Ascertaining customer needs thoroughly and understanding visual perception and basic visual defects.
Assisting customer to choose appropriate spectacles.
Repairing spectacles.
Having a complete knowledge of optical products and treatments.
Analyzing prescriptions accurately and dispensing lenses and optional products accordingly.
Keeping accurate records of prescriptions and transactions.
Ensuring excellent customer care.
Training new members of staff, when necessary to provide excellent customer and retail services.
Pros
Excellent team
Cons
Pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company you can easily progress in
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Dublin4 December 2012
Most stores are open very long hours due to their key locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report

See more Specsavers reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Specsavers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 505 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Specsavers Reviews by Location