St Vincent de Paul Society Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bray dog grooming daycare
Shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Bray, County Wicklow23 October 2017
I had the most nicest job minding dogs un the daycare until their owner came and collected them. I would often throw the ball for them. Give them food.
Pros
left have 1 hour lunch
Cons
was abit boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i volunteered
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Killorglin, County Kerry19 September 2017
i learned a lot of organisation and how to use a till and i moved alot of things around in the shop. they showed me what you do in a work place. they were really nice there , they made me feel welcome
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Factory Worker
general warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Summer Hill Dublin24 July 2017
Here I learned to transfer my skills in the Drop In Service in Merchants Quay as I was aware of certain donations and what to look out for. I learned to communicate with the rest of the team to ensure things worked smoothly. I used my active listening skills to make sure I got things right.I also learned how to use the relevant machinery in the job to make me more effective as a team player. I got on with all other employees and had a perfect record of punctuality and attendance.
Pros
Learned ti use the machines for example, the compactor, the assembly line
Cons
Money wasn't the best to travel into town every day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Kilkenny3 July 2017
I did work experience here for two weeks and in those two weeks, I learnt a lot to do with the world of work and I also got a long well with the people there too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and caring environment
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork3 June 2017
What struck me about working with SVP was the caring and colloquial nature of the staff and volunteers. Everyone was there because they were genuinely passionate and wanting to make a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive volunteering
treasurer volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kildare Village, County Kildare17 May 2017
Helps me to gain an experience in accounting field, working with computer programs. Preparations of monthly management accounts, perform bank reconciliations, annual reports.
Pros
AGRESSO training workshop
Cons
no salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good insight on shop management.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth13 May 2017
I learned so much and gained priceless experience in retail management. I don't think I could have learned all of this without them. I would love a full position here but unfortunately there is none available.
Pros
Meeting people of all backgrounds.
Cons
Not being paid
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized and good experience gained
Financial Administrator (Current Employee) –  Dublin26 April 2017
I was part of the Finace team of Saint Vincent De paul. Team consisted of 10 people including management. It was a tight knit group and an overall enjoyable experience. My responsibilities consisted of the monthly management account, annual auditory and payroll to name a few. My days were always fairly busy but i enjoyed the different tasks i was asked to do. As a workplace it was vibrant and exciting.
Pros
Good experience, responsibility and co workers
Cons
long hours and difficult to have a work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing workplace.
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbridge, County Kildare24 March 2017
Worked here on work experience. It is an amazing place but deserves more funding. Staff is great and helps out with staff perfectly. Great relationships and very inspiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!!!
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin14 March 2017
The workers were so easy to socialise with. The customers were also very friendly. You'd love to be going in to work knowing what your diing would benefit the life if someone else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
charitable organisation
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Letterkenny, County Donegal29 January 2017
volunteered here to build further retail experience and gain an insight into a charity organisation. Further development of people skills thoroughly ascertained throughout my time in this organisation.
Pros
fore filling work
Cons
worked for free
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment and friendly staff
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Killester, County Dublin2 November 2016
The staff in St Vincebt de Paul shop in Killester are very welcoming . Everyone are hard workers and good team players . It is a very relaxing work environment . It is a great place to work .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Naas, County Kildare6 September 2016
Worked there for a 2 year period and was the best place to work. Meet the most genuine people that were a pleasure to work for. Would not have a bad word to say about the charity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm, welcoming workplace filled with friendly people
Shop Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cabra, County Dublin12 August 2016
I enjoyed volunteering with St.Vincent de Paul immensely. It taught me all of the skills necessary for a job in retail while I was giving back to the community at the same time. A typical day in work included sorting through the bags dropped in, arranging the items for sale in the store, cleaning the store and working the till. All worthwhile skills and I learned them all alongside friendly coworkers.
Pros
Free tea and refreshments, friendly staff, open workspace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Volunteer at S.V.P shop (Former Employee) –  Dublin11 August 2016
A shop that contributes to a great cause. A feeling of pride in the work I took part here and valuable skills learned. Co-workers and managers incredibly friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable learning experience
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin3 August 2016
I learned useful skills that would be applicable for any kind of work. The work was occasionally stressful, if there weren't many people working and we kept getting new things brought in that needed to be sorted. It could also be very dull, if there were a lot of people working , as there wasn't much that needed doing.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Volunteer retail assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin3 March 2016
I like working there and meeting people it's very interesting and it's helping me improve my English. I'm working in a team it's good experience and a nice place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff fun place to work flexibly hours
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Clonmel, County Tipperary18 February 2016
1.general work
2.the staff were nice
3.getting to no the staff
4.learned social skills and organizing skills
5.chatting to the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Part time Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, D1 February 2016
Opening of charity shop 3 days per week - ensuring shop is ready for business.
Taking in donations from the public sorting for sale or recycling.
Meet and greet the public.
Close of business - balancing cash - paper work.
Organising team meetings.
Weekly rota's for volunteers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed it
Voluntary Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  ireland11 January 2016
when I worked there it was very happy place, and a nice place to work a nice atmosphere , and friendly people, just sorting clothes out in the back and working on till was a very small shop so everyone new each other , was very nice place to work
Pros
12-5
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St Vincent de Paul Society. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 607 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0