Topaz Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job but minimum wage
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork8 June 2017
Worked here for 2 years and was paid €9.50 per hour and you can't get paid any higher than that. Easy job though and worked with some good people. Good hours there but as I said same thing every day for very little pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Logistics manager and order capture team leader (Former Employee) –  Dublin 43 May 2017
Wonderful company to work for worked there for 15 years and due to restructure my job was made redundant. Looking for new opportunities. I learned all about effective business practices,logistics, distribution and customer care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun. Work place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin4 April 2017
Lovely staff and work well as a team , can be a very tough job at times but there's no doubt when I leave work it stays behind me when I'm gone and when I come back I'm happy to be there
Pros
3€ lunches and 20c off petrol
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its very fun place
Til Operator (Former Employee) –  Bray, County Wicklow25 February 2017
i loved to work there . i enjoyed every moment
great team we had. i worked there for 3 years and that was best time of my career . i was lucky i had reat working experience
Pros
no
Cons
half an hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
downgrading work athlone
supervisor (Current Employee) –  athlone6 December 2016
They manegment take care of themselfs only.
emploees taken thru the friends only.
And no thank you and forget promotions what so ever.
back stabing prevailing daily dose and if you not happy you will work exactly with that person until you pass away.
Pros
free coffein
Cons
no life at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin29 November 2016
Great place to work
Meeting and dealing with different types of people everyday
Learning new things like stock counts working tills
Great opportunity s for staff and customers like the play or park game for everybody
Pros
Meeting great people
Cons
Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and nice work place
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Dublin13 September 2016
good to work with professional management, great team and support
I learned to be sharp,quick, and more good manage my job,
customer service,help each customer find what they looking for. i enjoying my job and happy what i done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tills and deli assistant brillant place to work
Sales Assistant/Deli assistant (Former Employee) –  Clondalkin, County Dublin10 June 2016
topaz was one of the best places to work
gainned alot experience from my time there.
went from deli to tills was amazing.
long hours but was good to work there
co workers was amazing like a family we all was. very close
recommend to anyone to work there.
Pros
staff discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
sales assistant / Barista/Deli assistant (Current Employee) –  South Dublin, County Dublin29 May 2016
I've worked in topaz for about a year most of the staff are great but every site I've worked in the management has been laughably terrible.
Pros
Cant think of one
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you are starting your career
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bray, County Wicklow4 April 2016
Management was very good, they were reasonable and listened to staff suggestions. The workload was a bit too high and in some cases not justified by the wages. Working hours were non-negotiable though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cashel, TA23 September 2015
i worked with topaz cashel for almost a year and found it to be a fun place to work but was also very demanding at times. for example whenever a big event took place such as the ploughing championships or a concert it got extremely busy as the store is just off the M8. I would probably be still working there if I hadnt been offered a job in my home town.
Pros
free coffee, discounted meals, work mates very nice and fun to work with.
Cons
can be demanding at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dublin, D15 September 2015
Too much stress for nothing. They dont appreciate your value, your loyalty, your hard-work. That's why they are hiring every week...because staff/managers are leaving.
It's just a big company but they dont care about their employees!
At the beggining you'll have few hours.
Cons
Hard-work, stress! Not worthed!
Was this review helpful?Yes 110No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cork18 August 2015
I joined as a deli and till person, but I have to do supervisor work and still get paid as a deli/till assistant. no appreciation,every one was demotivated by the area consultant. Giving unrealistic targets. managers don't trust employees. that's why Topaz always haring people because they always leave
Pros
No Free staff food or drinks
Cons
rarely
Was this review helpful?Yes 75No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad at all. good job , while u looking for another.
sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin4 December 2014
Sometimes u need to calm down , when gets busy , im sure that my presence growth them sales, as but u get only managers thanks , that's it ....they want u to do. Extra (asking for gametags , make your own targets ) but u want get anything back ...shops full of dust ,and still repeating, and don't trust to anyone , especially. When u start work , new staff competing each other , instead of be team ...nothing for free....
Pros
its a job
Cons
boring, for robots
Was this review helpful?Yes 114No 50Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresting public work
SHOP ASSISTANT - DUTY (Former Employee) –  New Ross, WX11 July 2014
Order stock,check and safety fuel delivery,check dates,rotate stock,storeroom to be organized and clean (pest control)stock take-check if there stock missing investigate
Pros
people contact work
Cons
low solary
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting proper staff
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dublin, D3 June 2014
Days was going faster on work people respect each other, special on the beginning (2006-2008) was hard to motivate staff to work hard, many other jobs around with better salary, some time hard to hire new staff , overall good experiences I achieve a lot, I got good training which help me a lot later one.
Pros
Secure job
Cons
In the last months too long hours same wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok. just as long as you dont mind working weekends
assistant (Former Employee) –  cashel26 May 2013
Worked there for over a year. Its minimum wage. I got on really well with every 1 there. I worked mostly weekends and evening shifts so not much of a social life and it was not by choice. This happens more-so in the deli. Maybe it has changed since I worked there but many people have left since may 2011
Pros
20c tea and coffee
Cons
no social life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 69No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for enjoyed working there
shopp assiant (Former Employee) –  shannon co clare14 January 2013
when i worked at topaz i manged the tills, stocked shelves and cleaned the shop. i meet people all day and enjoyed meetin new customers. i enjoyed working with my co-workers and always got on with them. i enjoyed the job and didint have any problems
Pros
we had deals on our lunches
Cons
to fair from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 38Report

See more Topaz reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Topaz. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

53%
15 ratings
Add your rating