Abbott Laboratories

Abbott Laboratories Employee Reviews

Found 67 reviews matching the search See all 4,179 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most ignorant HR
Diagnostic technologist (Former Employee) –  Longford (Urban), County Longford8 January 2020
No training
No information related to the role available as protocol
No team work culture
You must be related to insider to get a job especially village site ie. Longford
No direct contract .
Keep working on Agency contracts until new replace then leave.
Very ignorant team lead, managers line
No proper scientific manifestation
Regrettably aimple
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Clonmel, County Tipperary6 January 2020
Good stepping stone for other better paid medical device/pharma factories elsewhere.Be prepared to work hard from the moment you clock in, very fast paced environment with high and sometimes unrealistic targets. Some great people working there and some great opportunities to work up the ladder if you do put the head down and work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Associate Technical Support Scientist (Former Employee) –  Longford17 December 2019
Nice place to work. Good team members and management.
My routine work includes testing of reagents, sample preparations, executions, method validation, EDMS (Electronic Data Management System) data analysis, troubleshooting with testing protocol, preparing protocols, testing verification, documentation according to regulatory guidelines, maintaining GMP and GLP standard, 6S and stock inventory maintenance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abbott Clonmel- Very stressful and difficult place to work
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Clonmel, County Tipperary5 December 2019
Abbott Clonmel- Very stressful and difficult place to work. I worked here for several years and only that it was on my front door I'd have moved within a week. Very pushy management, negativity and arrogance are rife and widely accepted as normal. I'd even say that bullying does not go unchecked and HR are nowhere to be seen.
I will never work for Abbott or their like again
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and educational
Temp. Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westport, County Mayo21 November 2019
I was employed on a temporary contract, as an admin assistant with accounts payable. My duties included, printing off the emailed invoices, statements, dunning notes, purchase orders, goods received forms and shipping / courier / delivery documents for all purchases in all plants.
Sorting the documents into packages, firstly into the right plant sections, secondly into the right order (usually starting by the purchase order number followed by the invoice number then the dunning note and ending with the goods received docket.)
Finally delivery of the correct and complete package to the assigned person for payment.
Occasionally I would have to contact the suppliers requesting corrections to invoices ie: credit notes for VAT exempt or sometimes where the wrong purchase order numbers was quoted.
Quite often I would have to scan filed documents back to the plant / ware house, for various queries or audits.
Last but by no means least, the perfect filing of all documents, which was a huge task as the paper trail was enormous.
I really appriecate having had the experience in working in the corporate sector. Although being the last post of denfence I did at times feel slightly stressed. and over whelmed. A handbook on my main duties, would have been a huge benefit as I felt my supervisor didn't communicate very well due mainly to time constraints
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work
Diagnostic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Longford Town, County Longford14 November 2019
Company is good but Longford is a small and quiet town. There's all you need but not enough social life for younsters in Longford. Salary in Abbott is okay not great starting is 28-30000. Will increase to 33-35 in 2 yrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company!
Manual Handling Instructor (Former Employee) –  Clonmel, County Tipperary5 November 2019
Was a safe job....production line based .. 2 shifts changed by a week... Was not easy to adjust for a weekly changing lifestyle.... But could live with it... Good money, fun team.... It was a good job...very strict on rules and regulations...but it is important in a pharma company....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary, good benefits, average culture.
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Clonmel, County Tipperary18 September 2019
The work isn't difficult but can be repetitive. The culture could be improved. Management very much output focused. The salary is pretty good. Good prospects for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things have changed over the years
Diagnostics Assistant (Former Employee) –  Longford15 September 2019
Worked here for 10+ years was brilliant at the start.Due to a great team & manager. Everything changed in the past few years.Toxic Environment don’t let the nice building fool you in late they have hired the most horrible head strong people..everyday there and was someone upset.
Pros
Great sports & social club, Great family day provided, most of the manufacturing staff were very friendly
Cons
No flexible hours for manufacturin, No Christmas bonus, Management have favourites & these people excel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive and Fun Workplace
Export Credit Risk and Collections Analyst (Current Employee) –  Dublin13 September 2019
Good Company to work
Good Culture, could be more organised.
Salary and benefits are good
No training for new joiners
Still loads of manual working to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work in.
The management and staff are friendly, even though I was an agency staff worker I was treated equally to abbott staff. Good work life balance within the work place.
Pros
Good Work Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly workplace.
Domed over cap operator (Former Employee) –  Cootehill, County Cavan25 March 2019
i was om the evening shift of 4-12. i learned how to work as part of a production lines producing around 12000 cans per shift. i never had any problems working there it was a very friendly environment. I never found any tasks too difficult. High standards of quality had to be maintained as we were working with baby formula.
Pros
subsidized lunches, friendly working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former operator
Technician (Former Employee) –  Clonmel, County Tipperary18 February 2019
Horrible work environment. Operators basic fortnightly €920 with shift rate . Bullying culture within management high turnover of staff . Massive amount of eastern Europeans who freely speak amongst themselves with no repercussions from management which causes friction. Overtime is constantly being run on Saturdays chance to earn extra money if needed. Long nights 4.20 to 1 am which is every second week . Monotonous work little station rotation. Toothless hr team they will not help staff with any bullying complaints against upper management and supervisors. A very nasty hostile environment is to be expected if u choose abbott clonmel . Also general morale is atrocious worst ive ever witnessed.extremely strict rules on holiday time . Expect not to receive a lot of time that u asked for
Pros
Decent money . Overtime annual bonus .
Cons
Management . 20 days holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place place to work
Senior accountant (Former Employee) –  Dublim11 January 2019
Like any job it is what you make it. If you want the opportunity to progress in your career it is there for you. Great training and development opportunities. Opportunity for your realistic ideas and process improvements to be tried. Yes there will be long hours at times but that is expected with the job. Great senior management team who want your input and want you to succeed. The only reason I gave four stars for management is that some junior managers may not be the best fit for the jobs they are in and that is down to their own character rather than lack of training or support from senior management. Good team communication and great culture. Great support services on site in terms of HR, training manager and facilities manager. Nice location and great canteen services.
Pros
Development opportunities, progression, training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Diagnostic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Longford Town, County Longford6 January 2019
Great working environment, with a thriving company. Very professionally ran company with great customer focus. Staff treated very well with a decent salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Adc donegal23 August 2018
OK place to work apart from management , there a class apart , especially HR manager , pay is not great ,office staff think they are a different grade its nice to say hello Or thank you if someone holds the door opened
Pros
Health benefit
Cons
Shifts, should have split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Technical specialist (Current Employee) –  Lisnamuck, Longford9 August 2018
Abbott have been instrumental in the development of a young person searching for industrial experience. The experience gathered from the company will stand to any individual moving on in their future careers.
Pros
Experience gained
Cons
Poor management, salary, benefits and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand spot
Diagnostic Technician (Former Employee) –  Longford Town, County Longford31 July 2018
Learned a lot of new knowledge about how manufacturing works. Spent time in Document Control and learned the Behind the scenes of a manufacturer. Then in the Laboratory. Grand spot
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Engineer (Former Employee) –  County Cavan8 July 2018
Good Place to Work. But long working hours in India.
Need to focus on performance based development. Work life balance.
Benefits: Group & personal insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues always willing to help if necessary.
QA/Validation Specialist (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Longford11 June 2018
A typical day at work began between 8am and 10am (flexi-time). Coffee and water were available to drink as required. There is a subsidised canteen. I enhanced my knowledge in ISO13485, Validation and QA. Management treated me as a person. Excellent work culture. The most enjoyable part of the job was problem solving. I liked working for Abbott due to it's openness and good work / life balance. If any difficulties arose there was always someone there to help.
Pros
Subsidised Canteen
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Abbott Laboratories. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 4,179 reviews
51.7K
41.4K
3649
2195
1158

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture