ALDI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin21 May 2018
It's very hardwork, but if you get into the routine and you like to be busy at all times, that's the place for you. Mangers are demanding people but they are very helpful too.
Pros
Good amount of hours weekly
Cons
very early start in the morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but rewarding
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  IE18 April 2018
very nice place to work, high paced but rewarding, I'm only leaving as the company is cutting back on costs and my wages are just not what they were plus its extremely hard to progress any further with the company even though I feel I'm more than capable. but would highly recommend
Pros
salary
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviorement always work to do
Deputy Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin ireland4 April 2018
Loved working in Aldi and progression is possible for anybody with a strong work ethic and a good head on there shoulders. I have recomended Aldi to many people as it really helped with my life carreer choices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aldi
Cashier/Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swords, County Dublin3 April 2018
ALDI has been a fantastic place to work since I've started there over a year ago. there were some difficulties at the start but once you become used to the ALDI way days fly by as there's always something to be doing as its such a busy place. salary is good always guaranteed hours, management is great always very accommodating with days off, shift swaps and understanding when children are involved. great place to work.
Pros
salary, hours
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive workplace
Deputy Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ballincollig, County Cork28 February 2018
Aldi allowed me to shape and express my options regarding both hard work under pressure as well as precision, retail and attention. The culture and work system in Aldi are lovingly refined, which makes the productivity of both employees and stores at the highest level.
Pros
Promotion opportunities
Cons
Work under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aldi review
Store assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlow30 January 2018
When I was working in Aldi i had a lot to learn while scanning items constantly your duties include stock rotating sales customer service the management are great and will show the training you need to excel
Pros
salary
Cons
working late
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Stress
General Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cork30 January 2018
Not a job for the faint hearted! Physically demanding mentally draining. Long hours constantly changing Rotas mean any work life balance is impossible. It's all about the targets and people are no longer important. Area managers with no life skills or people management skills make it even more difficult.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long hours, constant pressure, no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad store management
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Claremorris, County Mayo27 November 2017
managers are overdemanding and under performing time frames are unrealistic
store managers have an ego complex
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blood suckers
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin22 November 2017
A lot depends on store manager but most of them are useless and acting like they were presidents
Wouldn't recommend to anyone who likes to spend time with family.
Choose life..
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend, be careful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Laoise, County Laois15 November 2017
Can't say . evrything is very confidential.
Before You join , ask right People about typical day at work, management,workplace culture, hours, breaks, holidays,ect.not
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend, be careful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Laoise, County Laois15 November 2017
Can't say . evrything is very confidential.
Before You join , ask right People about typical day at work, management,workplace culture, hours, breaks, holidays,ect.not
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Dundalk, County Louth15 October 2017
You have to work really hard for the money aldi offers.so if you are not hard worker your carrer be unnseccsesfull . Everything else is allright cant complain
Pros
good work life balance
Cons
lack of comunication
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flawed
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork24 September 2017
Days at work were busy, but lack of actual structure made it difficult.
Management is good but structure on setting work times per individual was not good.
Culture not good if you didn't fit in..
Packing a shelf exactly the way the manager wanted it was difficult due to sheer volumes of customers and learning the tills.
Pros
Always busy good salary
Cons
Lack of proper training
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse picker
Warehouse picker (Former Employee) –  Naas, County Kildare18 September 2017
early mornings an you never know what time you will finish. hard work in fast pace environment management treat you like dirt. not a good job would not recommend
Pros
finish early, good canteen
Cons
the whole job
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blessington, County Wicklow28 August 2017
brilliant company to work for. very good to me. hard work but great pay. managers and firm but fair. felt like a family. we worked hard and we achieved goals and we were rewarded
Pros
great pay
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin28 August 2017
every day at work was i learnedfrom my managment i didthe hardest part of the job the most enjoyable part of this job
i alwaya came to work on time and stay longer if manager ask me to help .Sometimes i went to the opening of new stores to help
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect logistics
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Naas, County Kildare17 August 2017
Good place for growing up yours skills a lot training and familiar coworkers
Working on shift like you prefer no problem with days off
Promoting good workers
Pros
Free hot drinks when you working in cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
store assistant (Current Employee) –  Ennis, County Clare23 June 2017
your never bord, money is great hours are great, people are friendly management are great at training you how to do it their way, its hard work very hard but yet again the money is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job if you want to loose weight!
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin22 June 2017
I worked at Aldi for 10 months as a store assistant,at first I didnt like it,most of the staff were polish and barely even said "hello" to you.
The training was awful!!the staff were too busy to assist you and when they did one told you do a task a certain way and then another a different way!the store manager was a nice guy but the assistant manager wasnt!!you were basically timed on everything you did,you were expected to pack a huge pallett of stock in 20 minutes and whether you were there a wk or a 5 years that wasnt taken into consideration!
It wasnt too bad tho,the days flew in cos you were always busy but there was no proper communication among management and staff!!
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Your werent guarenteed a 35 hour shift, some wks might only be 25 which is just not enough for a single person, also after the morning shift I was dripping in sweat!
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place i worked
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick,Dublin Road11 June 2017
Worst job i ever had - starting with shop manager,finishing with kinda all employees attitude (based on managers attitude in first place) - toxic place to work,at least shop Nr.45 in Limerick,Dublin Road.Have no back and left hand anymore,nobody cares,manager has preferable people,and if you not fall in to that category-you screwed.Many people taking advantage of it and because of that others must work way more.In the mornings you have 2.5h to do 15-17 pallets of produce alone,some banana/pineaple boxes are 15-20+kg,but considering you need to do 15-17 pallets...good luck finishing in time,and if you not finish - well,nobody gonna say anything nice to you.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 91No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,888 reviews
5907
41.2K
3978
2426
1372

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture