Applegreen
2.5 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Applegreen Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Ireland194 reviews

Ratings by category

2.5Work-life balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 194 reviews matching the searchSee all 379 reviews

Ok

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Worked for a long time was not valued for the amount of effort put in good to start off but is very toxic place defo don't recommend if you want this as a career
Was this review helpful?

Bad experience, unequality. Unfair trearment of employees of the same rank. Dont try they wont appreciate it. Ruined my nerves. Worked part time

Bad experience, unequality. Unfair trearment of employees of the same rank. Dont try they wont appreciate it. Ruined my nerves. Worked part time.You try and if you just take a breath, you will be given the task to wash the floor behind the oven or in the freezer, while those close to the senior in the department (their close colleagues) talk and can stand and take a breath and look into the phoneI’m glad I didn’t endure for a long time, it was very insulting,
Was this review helpful?

Worse company I ever worked for

Management only look out for management. Staff turnover is really bad. Deli food records are all falsified.If you give an opinion on something you are threatened and punished with your hours being cut. Minimum wage for maximum work .
Was this review helpful?

Good staff & management

If you show you’re responsible you’ll be given more responsibility within the job. Great job for students. Morning and evening shifts to suit everyone.

Pros

Good staff, flexible shifts
Was this review helpful?

Not a nice place to work

Underpaid and overworked staff, called in early to let other people go home early, only one set of unifo given had to go looking to get a jacket of them, unfreindly people, no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Low paid over worked

Never guaranteed to be paid properly every week !!!It’s remote location means fuel cost to travel there and fuel is not getting any cheaper no reduction from a fuel company for staff makes no sense

Pros

Great friendship made there

Cons

Low low pay if you get paid at all
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

28 June 2022
Hi,we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and grow, we would really appreciate it if you could share some more details into your areas of concern at the link below so we can look into finding a solution!https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ASPXVpZZNU6OmvyAjD9S3KfpUxWkCLZJhjHMCTyCTZpUMVRTQkJMMURPQkswUE8zTkZHU0g2WEpLTy4u

Avoid at all costs

I worked here for 3 years and I didn't realise the difference until I got new job in differentcompany. Your expected to do managers work for minimum wage.count the cash, safe, fill Atm,do all bank lodgement, train In a new member staff weekly and deal with customer complaints while manager hides... your expected to be on call 24/7 and when unavailable your told your ment to be fully flexible on a phone calls notice.but when you ring the manager on his day off you get in trouble..the money is terrible , minium wage for 3 years and the management only care about themselves.. there's never any in incentive for staff to progress...
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

31 May 2022
Hi,we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and grow, we would really appreciate it if you could share some more details into your areas of concern at the link below so we can look into finding a solution!https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ASPXVpZZNU6OmvyAjD9S3KfpUxWkCLZJhjHMCTyCTZpUMVRTQkJMMURPQkswUE8zTkZHU0g2WEpLTy4u

Discombobulated

Employees there’s are so nice, in terms of management, lazy and incompetent, one day I caught my manager eating donuts in the office when busy, was told to change expired food dates, childish management with dimensia but altogether good conversations with interesting employees
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

23 May 2022
Hi,we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and grow, we would really appreciate it if you could share some more details into your areas of concern at the link below so we can look into finding a solution!https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ASPXVpZZNU6OmvyAjD9S3KfpUxWkCLZJhjHMCTyCTZpUMVRTQkJMMURPQkswUE8zTkZHU0g2WEpLTy4u

Good for students

Good company to work if youre a part time student, besides that there is no room for progression and the management are terrible. They do offer flexibility with the roster, also some really fun people you work with.

Pros

Flexible hours/days

Cons

Bad pay, not much room for growth
Was this review helpful?

Fine

Good enough for a retail job. Managers are not very experienced and this leads to tension regularly. Very understaffed and therefore leads to working extra hours/ days. Not seen by management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

23 May 2022
Hi,we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and grow, we would really appreciate it if you could share some more details into your areas of concern at the link below so we can look into finding a solution!https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ASPXVpZZNU6OmvyAjD9S3KfpUxWkCLZJhjHMCTyCTZpUMVRTQkJMMURPQkswUE8zTkZHU0g2WEpLTy4u

Awful

Overworked, underpaid. No overtime pay, only an extra 30 odd cent an hour on a Sunday. Hard to book holidays with. I went 7 months without a break. Understaffed, management do not care about staff

Pros

10€ a day allowance in Bakewell

Cons

Everything. The €10 a day isn’t worth it.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

10 May 2022
Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and grow, we would really appreciate it if you could share some more details into your areas of concern at the link below so we can look into finding a solution!https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ASPXVpZZNU6OmvyAjD9S3KfpUxWkCLZJhjHMCTyCTZpUMVRTQkJMMURPQkswUE8zTkZHU0g2WEpLTy4u

Good place to get work experience

Never had issues with my wages , always pay on time , friendly environment to work in, mangers are nice and understanding, get to pick the hours you want to work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

23 May 2022
Hi - Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we really appreciate it, we are glad to see that you enjoy working with Applegreen

No breaks yet your docked

No breaks yet your docked for them, given holiday pay in ur wages when u haven't taken them. Expected to do the work of 2 people while working alone the whole time, I could keep going with a whole lot more, oh and management there on a different level. Plus timepoint is obviously been input into computer manually. Forget to clock out and your docked for the day

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, no recognition or thanks for what you do, just use you and take u for granted.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

10 May 2022
Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and grow, we would really appreciate it if you could share some more details into your areas of concern at the link below so we can look into finding a solution!https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ASPXVpZZNU6OmvyAjD9S3KfpUxWkCLZJhjHMCTyCTZpUMVRTQkJMMURPQkswUE8zTkZHU0g2WEpLTy4u

Great place to work

Good times there, really enjoyed myself, great colleagues , nice places to work, like going in all times, nearly best job ever, only wish I could stay longer but had to move house.

Pros

Food

Cons

Damp weather
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

23 May 2022
Hi - Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we really appreciate it, we are glad to see that you enjoy working with Applegreen

An exciting company to work in

Overall Applegreen is a brilliant place to work - the staff are all exceptionally nice, friendly and welcoming. There are plenty of opportunities to move within departments and progress in your career. The support you get from management is second to none and the culture of the office is excellent.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

23 May 2022
Hi - Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we really appreciate it, we are glad to see that you enjoy working with Applegreen

Productive and fun workplace. No two days are the same

I have built an amazing career with Applegreen. They have been thoroughly supportive of my career and my progression to become the best version of myself. Continous development programmes are available and are extremely beneficial.

Pros

Team development, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

23 May 2022
Hi - Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we really appreciate it, we are glad to see that you enjoy working with Applegreen

Collaborative, Team- oriented work place

Management interaction with entry level employees is regular, re-assuring and insightful. Plenty of opportunity to switch between teams and try areas which you feel are right for you

Pros

Great atmosphere, everybody is friendly

Cons

Very fast paced which can become a lot to handle if you dont manage your workload effectively
Was this review helpful?

Good work environment

It is a good work environment with flexible hours and very understanding with holidays and time off when needed i.e dentist/doctor's appointment ! Very friendly staff and approachable, very understanding !
Was this review helpful?

Great Management

Loved all the management and staff here. A great working experience and atmosphere. It was an absolute pleasure working there and never had any issues. They were extremely accommodating to my personal life especially regarding my college hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

23 May 2022
Hi - Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we really appreciate it, we are glad to see that you enjoy working with Applegreen

Miserable

Working retail in Applegreen for 2 years have been nothing but miserable.Most workers including myself will be constantly mistreated by our manager and the customers. The fact they have a new job opening at least once a month is due to their mistreated of staff.Applegreen themselves clearly don't care about their minimum wage workers as long as they make a profit.

Cons

Mistreated by manager and customers, Minimum wage, No pay rise or bonus even during the first lockdown.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Applegreen

10 May 2022
Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and grow, we would really appreciate it if you could share some more details into your areas of concern at the link below so we can look into finding a solution!https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ASPXVpZZNU6OmvyAjD9S3KfpUxWkCLZJhjHMCTyCTZpUMVRTQkJMMURPQkswUE8zTkZHU0g2WEpLTy4u

Its ok

Management was rubbish, sometimes you dont even get a break after 6 hours of work, hours all over the place.. nice who wants to work weekends all the time.

Pros

Different jobs during the day

Cons

Roster not changing a lot
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Applegreen. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 379 reviews

Ratings by category

2.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.2 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.4 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.4 out of 5 stars for Management
2.4 out of 5 stars for Culture
  • Companies
  • Applegreen
  • Employee reviews