Bank of Ireland Employee Reviews

Found 130 reviews matching the search See all 215 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Bank of Ireland selected this as a representative review
Productive and Professional Environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Dublin4 September 2017
Customer Centricity prevails. Strong work ethic within teams and across channels. Supportive culture - of self, team and all work colleagues. Focus on personal and professional development - consistent support available in this regard.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Service Architect, NTT DATA Services Ireland/Noida (Current Employee) –  IE26 November 2019
Good company to work with nice work culture, goof work life balance,Good management, less salary, Good work culture, good paid leaves good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
Assist customer (Current Employee) –  Dublin9 November 2019
To much gossip no hands in action, and you will be evaluated not by your work or achievement but for what other people say about you, their system is make for you to fail, o matter how good you are or how brilliant solutions you can give, what maters the most is just to be a sheep, no complaint or give ideas for better customer experience.
Pros
non
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff friendly and helpful. Not so sure about management.
SWITCH OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  IE6 November 2019
I worked during a time where staff and the bank union were at loggerheads with management. The staff were really good to me a newbie who was only there for a matter of a few months. However it was stressful due to the poor atmosphere due to the union and management troubles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best
Treasury Analyst (Former Employee) –  IE24 October 2019
Best company to have worked for though it needs a lot of restructuring as costs are high so generally pay can be on the lower end of the scale. overall great culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and productive environment
Senior Bank Official (Former Employee) –  Dublin23 October 2019
Whether you work in branch sector , in Operations or in IT , you can be sure of a busy and fulfilling day. There is a strong culture of teamwork in offsite facilities. Branches have changed a lot in the past few years and the most difficult part of the job there is to manage the expectations of customers in a changing digital environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of work
Digital Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  County Meath10 October 2019
I really liked working in the branch, as one day is never the same. Things are different in every branch. The staff where friendly in general. Company' employment benefits are very good, but if you are on temporary contract, it is harder to avail of all of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving environment with opportunities to learn and and progress
Partnership Manager (Former Employee) –  Tallaght, County Dublin16 September 2019
Great opportunity to learn and upskill yourself in banking. opportunities for further education and qualifications. Career progression possible if you put work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over qualified for the role
PMO SENIOR BUSINESS ANALYST (Former Employee) –  IFSC10 September 2019
This was a contract role - Over qualified for the role - Job was not what I was expecting however I needed the job at the time. The programme going on was huge and would have been interesting if you were involved in the meat of the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly environment to work in with the option to move to different departments
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dublin20 August 2019
i work in the business online department and help customers with businesses or employees working in the business with payment queries. I also help them navigate through the online website when it comes to organising accounts that they have.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love my job i give 110% to all i do
Bank Official (Current Employee) –  kilkenny10 August 2019
I love the people the staff the fast pace an ever changing queries but my heart is in weddings and events an i want to persue it i love to organise and plan i feel im good at this an know i can excel in this role
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business UAT Test Analyst - CBSP (Former Employee) –  Dublin12 June 2019
I was employed as a DRC working on Core Banking Systems Project. The management & team ensured that there was a healthy work culture, promoting an agile & unified approach to the project.

Elements of the project were difficult at times but support from management & colleagues was there in abundance.
Pros
Salary, Project, Management
Cons
Location, Commute was difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
PMO Analyst (Current Employee) –  IE31 May 2019
A typical day is nice, sometimes manic. I learned to work under heavy loads of targets. Good management and excellent workplace culture. I enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
MORTGAGE CASE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  IE17 April 2019
it was a great place to work, with a strong and hardworking team
Great support from all team members
learned a lot about team work and multi tasking
management was great
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, non-stop environment.
Group Loans Administration and Mortgage Operations (Former Employee) –  Dublin10 April 2019
Was a good place to work, but lack of staff motivation began to create a few bumps in the road. Staff where great and fun to work with. Heavy work load everyday.
Pros
Great staff, good hours, subsidized canteen
Cons
Early mornings, heavy work load, lack of motivation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morale has diminished over the last five years.
Lending Official (Former Employee) –  Cashel, County Tipperary20 March 2019
With a new CEO in place, I hope Bank of Ireland will rebuild Staff confidence and morale which in turn will transfer back to our Customers. Our customers are our Bread and Butter and our lifeline
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive workplace
Personal/Business Credit Adviser (Former Employee) –  Kilkenny - Dublin7 March 2019
If you are willing to roll up your sleeves and get stuck in, this can be a good place to work. With various locations available, travel times can be reduced. salaries vary depending on experience and grades. There are good educational supports available within the company.
Pros
subsidised canteen, good senior management
Cons
shift work timimgs can change to meet changing business needs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible - avoid at all costs
Business Advisor (Current Employee) –  Ireland3 March 2019
Worst place I have ever worked. No respect for staff and zero emphasis on promotion based on merit. No formalized training on entry to role, expected to learn on the job.Bullying environment where management use policy to create a toxic environment for staff members. Performance assessment metrics are subjective (not formalized) and open to manipulation by team leaders. A number of staff are on long term stress leave and management make no efforts to resolve causes of work related stress.Promotions are not based on merit. Easily influenced people who will not challenge status quo ineffective processes or unfair treatment of staff members. Zero staff morale/protections in place and no desire to make the environment a efficient, effective, and motivated workplace.
Pros
Salary is comparative with market rates
Cons
IT in dark ages, management uneducated and uninformed, no respect for staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Digital Costumer Service
Digital Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St Louis High School, Rathmines25 February 2019
This was a Transition Year project in accordance with the school. It was an interesting experience helping different students setting up their accounts. Nice team structure and good arrangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Test Manager (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Dublin1 February 2019
It was a good place to work and had the opportunity to learn new things from Bank of Ireland. A day in the Bank of Ireland starts with a busy schedule because I was handling multiple teams located in different countries with different time zones. I learned to handle the remote team in different countries with different culture and different time zones. The hardest part of the job was test data management. I need to rely on the third party for test data and generation of test data is complicated
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the greatest
personal lender up to 65k (Former Employee) –  Dublin29 January 2019
moving within BOI is difficult. salary moving internally doesnt go in line with the role.
they do provide great training and other education
systems are out dated
Pros
education
Cons
salary and progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bank of Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 215 reviews
573
472
346
210
114

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.5Culture