Brown Thomas Employee Reviews

Found 52 reviews matching the search See all 60 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin13 October 2019
Mixed age group
Busy environment
Lots of teamwork
People skills required
Best part of the job is always working with different people and the new season stock arriving
Hardest part is Christmas hours, for example, working St Stephen's Day and Christmas Eve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin28 September 2019
brown thomas has a good team environment and it is very easy to make friends in work, reasonable work and life balance, offers plenty of opportunity within
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stylish and Fast-paced work environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin23 September 2019
Great teamwork among staff. Excellent pay and competitive commission. Glamorous and aesthetically pleasing workplace. Great interaction with customers and busy city-center location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales associate - David Clulow (Sunglasses) (Current Employee) –  Dublin31 August 2019
It is a good place to work in, getting to know new people everyday, making new friends, working in team with the staff. There is something new to learn everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork29 August 2019
what a fantastic place to work. so Kind and friendly could not have been a better company to work for. I was given the best training and pushed to learn as much as I could. Always helpful and understanding, the best company I ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versatile, flexible, challenging
Supervisor/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Limerick30 July 2019
Excellent work conditions, great work atmosphere. Management is extremely helpful and professional. Customer service is not the easiest job, but the training provided within makes it more manageable. I personally love the sense of unity in this company; you make friends for life and get surrounded by luxury!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and friendly work enviroment
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Dublin13 July 2019
fast paced and energetic work place, management and staff were friendly and added to the enjoyment of the job. Lack of communication from management sometimes caused issues but they were always resolved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy store but management lacking
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork23 May 2019
Store was often quiet with too many staff on the floor so sales were spread thinly and commision was reduced as a result.
Great atmosphere and culture amongst the floor staff but managment was not particularly warm and created a doom and gloom atmosphere when they were on the floor with some staff being afraid to voice any issues they may be having
Pros
discounts
Cons
sporadic hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall an average place to work
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin19 May 2019
A typical day is being over worked and underpaid. I learned how to deal with difficult customers here and also difficult managers. Retail is a hard enough job but Brown Thomas was extremely difficult due to the politics. Management acting like they were better then staff due to where they were from and who they knew. Extreme pressure put on staff when the ceo was coming to visit, which all seemed very fake.
Pros
discounts
Cons
long hours, underpaid, management, type of staff they have working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Seasonal Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin7 May 2019
The managers were nice, my co-workers were all nice, the whole atmosphere in the entire place was nice, it was just an all around nice place to work, especially around Christmas
Pros
Cheap Lunches, flexible dress code
Cons
None that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place but hard to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway10 March 2019
sometimes it is hard to work because of managemet, they might be rude and mean. people and other staff members are nice, good working hours, customers are nice and friendlt but demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety place to work
Warehouse General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin18 February 2019
I'm working at their warehouse and they are following all safety rules.
And they care always about employees.
The most enjoyable part of the job are managers and all team.
Pros
Such a good environment.
Cons
It is not very easy to get a promotion within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Retail Sales Associate & Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Dublin11 January 2019
Worked here a long time ago but when I did it was truly a fun place to work and it really did feel like a large family business.
Overall staff and colleagues were generally great and worked to create a nice place to work and made it fun.
No real major perks that I can remember like pension or health cover etc but a nice environment and a lovely store with mainly nice custiomers overall.
Pros
Great team spirit
Cons
No major benefical perks at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Working environment
Stockroom Assistant/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick, Ireland9 January 2019
Brown Thomas is an excellent place to work and the staff there are innovative, welcoming and experienced. I learnt a lot of personal skills here and developed lots of friendships with both floor staff and managers. The company looks after its staff extremely well and it was a pleasure to have been part of such an illustrious company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are able to flourish in a very strict environment than you may do well at brown thomas
Despatch/stockroom (Current Employee) –  Cork7 November 2018
As I still work at the job I'm not all that sure as to what I can say. It definitely used to be a better place to work for sure but times change. I really thought I'd be working at that place for the next twenty years but not the case.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Tough management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Cork6 July 2018
i thoroughly enjoyed working in Brown thomas. i got on really well with the manager and she was very fair to all the staff. the staff were very friendly and always looked out for you and helped you if you ever needed assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Coffee Specialist - Nespresso (Former Employee) –  Dublin4 April 2018
Loved working for Brown Thomas, high standards are held which encourage you to perform to your highest standard.

The skills I learned while working within the organisation have stayed with me in my professional career, such as a standard for excellence
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Floor Summary
Part Time Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dublin6 February 2018
The work day start times vary due to it being a retail store, based on the 3rd floor there is a large range of products to become familiar with from food to kitchen electrical appliances. Confidence is necessary in order to communicate the benefits and uniqueness of each brand to customers with many being tourists who are looking for gifts. Good manners and tactfulness are necessary too as Brown Thomas is an established name and high quality service is expected from the moment a customer walks through the door. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting different customers from all over Ireland and the world and making them feel welcome and looked after and finding the ideal gift or product that suits their needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway6 February 2018
I had a great experience at brown Thomas in Galway and I hope to go back some day as the staff was so welcoming and management was very helpful. I am so grateful for the work I got there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great sales job
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dublin30 January 2018
Enjoyable, good perks if fashion oriented. Very hierarchical management system to be expected. It was a short term job for me and I was happy yo have been kept on for 9/10 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brown Thomas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 60 reviews
530
419
39
20
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture

Brown Thomas Reviews by Location