Centra Ireland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace.
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cahersiveen, County Kerry4 June 2018
Really enjoy working in this shop for the last few years. It has helped me understand how to deal and manage with peoples preferences and also how to deal with situations that I have never found myself in before. Always provided a welcoming workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork3 June 2018
Great floor staff, difficult management.

8 hour shifts, could be morning or evening shifts. Full-time is five days a week, part-time is usually two or four days a week.

Minimum wage.

HACCP training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy. Loads to do. Met interesting people
Sales and Deli assistant (Current Employee) –  Tallaght, County Dublin22 May 2018
Been with centra a long while. Really suitable hours if you have kids.. management are very hard working and expect the same from all their staff.
I've worked with some great people and still do.
If your willing to work hard and enjoy meeting people you can't go wrong.
Pros
Discount after 6 month's
Cons
No free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  12 Stoneybatter, Arran Quay, Dublin 715 May 2018
A great place to learn about costumer service. The management could get some knowledge how to keep motivating their staff. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning every single day how to treat people well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting people is a pleasure
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baile Íomhair, County Meath14 May 2018
Having worked in Centra for a few years now ive come to realize that I love working with people, whether it be a regular customer or just somebody passing through the village.

It gives you a sense of accomplishment when you can help out somebody who might not be able to do it for themselves or just want to spend those extra few minutes talking to somebody.
Pros
Meeting people, helping others
Cons
Bad Atmosphere, lack of benefits, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway6 May 2018
The job is easy, but your own security isn't.
I like the morning shifts, which someone would find bad, but for me, that hasn't been a problem. So in the end, I am not really sure.
Pros
Shifts
Cons
Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Ireland11 April 2018
I worked on the floor so when a delivery came in the morning I would help the other staff take them in and stock them. We would also have to put what wasnt needed on the shelfs upstairs in the stock room.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work place
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork9 April 2018
Very low salary for eighteen year olds, bad deli management, free lunches and free water, shifts long hours, not very organised, Roster is always late.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dublin4 April 2018
I quite enjoyed my time in Centra as it was a laid back and easy going management style that allowed me to work to my best. I do not work well with micro management, but if I am given free reign then I produce my best work. Centra was a good place to allow me to do this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belmullet, County Mayo20 March 2018
Merchandising and ordering, customer service and general maintenance. 8 hour shifts and plenty of staff to work with. Running promotions on particular items.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive work placement.
Shop Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth9 March 2018
Ciggy breaks, honest assistants, I only worked here for 5/6 months doing work experience but it was a great experience and would look to go back to working here in the future.
Pros
free tea
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick4 February 2018
I only worked for 2 weeks work experience so I can't offer much on the company, but they were very nice to me whilst I was their, all staff where friendly and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Work Experience (Current Employee) –  Baile Átha Buí, County Meath1 February 2018
They offer great work experience for students and get you used to working. The staff are very helpful and they show me what to do and when to do it. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great time
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin23 January 2018
This job helped me a lot to improve my English skills and to fall in love with Ireland and Irish culture. After the summer that I spent here I understood that Dublin is my place and that is why I want to come here and to establish my future .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide and good place to work
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin5 January 2018
It was a good place to start my professional life in Ireland.
I was dealing with the customers, also dealing with amazing friendly colleagues.
With a good manager and very helpful staff.
I enjoyed every single day working in that place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbridge2 January 2018
Was good working there and great people. Not enough lunch just one half hour for 8hour shifts but great managers and great people working with you. Training is good
Pros
All young peiple
Cons
Not enough lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad experience
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Monaghan22 December 2017
bad management at monahans and sons centra tuam road
blackmails for doing night shifts if you refuse they reduce your hours.
ted the manager at centra for years.
no oportunity for advancement.
Pros
vast experience
Cons
no oportunity for advancement. bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bella esperienza
Cassiere e Assistente Vendite (Former Employee) –  County Dublin18 December 2017
bella esperienza
manager molto friendly, ambiente ottimo. orari di lavoro nella media. retribuzione giusta.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive busy shop
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  County Kerry11 December 2017
i work 3 days a week on min wage it just about pays my bills what more is there to be said, apart from standing for 8 hours so i go home with swolen legs, there are no staff discounts but its a wonderful place to work
Pros
no pros
Cons
standing for 8 hours with nowhere to sit so i go home with swolen legs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at work place
Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin25 November 2017
I love to wrk in centra always having fun staff store owner they are very good,always I love to go work cos I like my job this store very busy store we have all product
Pros
I have to buy launch
Cons
Perfect hours 9hours shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centra Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 192 reviews
573
460
342
211
16

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.7Culture