Centra Ireland Employee Reviews

Found 205 reviews matching the search See all 238 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is the worst
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin11 October 2019
Managers behaviousr to employees and customers are unacceptable and organization is awful. Roster changes are terrible too. There is no communication between manager and staff. Terrible place to work and shop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unappreciated and Underpaid
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Wexford8 October 2019
Feels like you're disposable and unappreciated, Also the pay is bad for the work you do. There is no work life balance. They want you to be on call at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work but time flew by which was a plus.
Till Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cork4 October 2019
Worked in one of the busier Centras, It was also a petrol Station which made it extra busy but this was good as the time flew. Hours changed every week which was a bit unsettling as it was hard to plan anything. Also found it hard to go from working late to early but you get used to this. Overall found it a pleasant place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and understanding workplace
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bray, County Wicklow1 October 2019
centra in bray is an enjoyable place to work where you will meet a wide range of both co-workers and staff.

while it is sometimes hard to get a lot of hours if you are part time they are more than willing to work around other responsibilities like children or university.

the hardest part of the job on the deli was keeping a fast pace during rush hour where we had to serve the abundance of customers at a fast pace as well as keeping up with anything that was cooking and any deliveries that came in.

the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to interact with so many different people and making great friends through co-workers and customers at centra you could find a friend in any staff member that is always more than happy to help when needed.
Pros
discounted lunches, flexible management
Cons
not much advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterford2 September 2019
Very friendly staff, very helpful too.
The work load is very manageable. Management were very polite and always willing to assist you whenever necessary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Co. Sligo29 August 2019
Good to work for. Nice staff and very well organised and they really appreciate everything you so. Always paid ya on time. Nice atmosphere too. Hard work aswell.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Letterkenny, County Donegal16 August 2019
This deli can be very busy. There is always something to do. Other staff are friendly and helpful. Everyone is nice including staff outside the deli..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Chef (Current Employee) –  Dublin7 August 2019
I worked for a little time in the centra, but it was a good experience because i met the college very available to help for the work. I worked for make a pizza in the centra
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stillorgan, County Dublin3 August 2019
No discounts or lunches, lack of training, management forces you to work till close after midnight but time sheets will have rosters put untill 11:59 so that they don't need to pay you a higher rate past midnight. Management are awful. These are only a few examples of the worst 6 months I've ever worked. Oh yeah, be prepared to work Christmas day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace.
Supervisor/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saggart, County Dublin22 July 2019
An excellent place to work and gain experience while in college. I have learned a lot about working with a team and also training new employees while working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boghall bray14 July 2019
No training given by manager mostly trained in by other staff and then being told by your manager your not quick enough.certain people get monthly reviews depending on if your liked by the manager. They really need to forcous on their managers not the retail staff not a nice place to work unless you want your confidence sharred
Pros
None
Cons
Horrible shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic enviroment
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Dublin, County Dublin10 July 2019
The work culture in the place is very bad. Management barely looks at your face, don't even say good morning. You are treated as a mere worker, you are there to get the job done, and don't expect to receive thanks for anything instead you get a lot of criticisms.
Somehow you can get some flexibility, especially if you are a good employee. They do give you full time hours and pay on time.
Pros
free 4 euro roll and a coffee
Cons
bad environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johnstown Bridge, County Kildare20 June 2019
they care about your flexibility of working and will work around your personal life. they are very understanding and are very communicative with you aswell.
Pros
discounted lunches
Cons
not guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lismore, County Waterford19 June 2019
Sad that I only worked there for work experience because I loved the staff there. So welcoming and friendly. The management were wonderful and always ready to lend a hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your typical sales job
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kildorrery, County Cork11 June 2019
The branch I'm at has its ups and downs. There were a lot of issues (some questionable legal issues such as making staff members pay for drive-offs... has been resolved but after a lot of lash back)

I love the staff and supervisors I work with, the manager is okay too and good with giving time off if we need it, good also when we ask for a specific role or time to work.

The owner, however, isn't good with communicating with employees and doesn't listen to the feedback we give about some issues.
Pros
Other staff, time flexibility
Cons
The staff paying for fuel issue, feedback feels like it's not really listened to
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment and fun workplace
Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin10 June 2019
Starting of i was very nervous but shortly i learned to talk to people more and got to learn how to use the register.the hardest part was not doing any work
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and Happy working environment
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Swords, County Dublin4 June 2019
As a Shift Manager I am required to coordinate the day to day actions on the shop floor. This can vary from stacking shelves, conducting stock checks and cleaning measures. I enjoy working the tills the most, as I get to converse with customers. This job has taught me everything I know about retail, selling and having a positive mental attitude towards work.
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin25 May 2019
It was great working for centra because I found the hours very convenient for myself. 8-4 for everyday and the options where there for extra hours....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tullamore, County Offaly25 May 2019
You are always working when you work with centra. Everyone is very friendly and will help you every step of the way once you start working. The customers are fantastic and very patient if you run into any trouble.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth the hassle
Baker (Former Employee) –  Cork13 May 2019
Very busy, HUGE turn over of staff, no help to do the job.
No life/work balance, working every Saturday and most of Sunday on the top of it.
The worst work culture ever! The most incompetent management on the planet.....
Pros
overtime paid 1, 5 of hourly rate
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centra Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 238 reviews
589
469
353
215
112

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture