Centra Ireland

Centra Ireland Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 251 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable experience.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eas Géitine, County Limerick6 January 2020
Enjoyable environment to work in. Great staff and management. Good staff morale and responsible management who care about the employees. Good pay and clean facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Galway14 December 2019
I’ve worked in retail for ten years now, I took the job because I needed to work, I’m on 9.80 an hour! I work most weekends! Don’t get to see my husband much because I work 3-11 5 days a week, I’ve asked for my shift to be changed but they won’t! I get a half an hour break! Which is not enough! When Im on break I can be called from my break to take the till if its busy so can’t relax on my break! Hate he place
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is the worst
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin11 October 2019
Managers behaviousr to employees and customers are unacceptable and organization is awful. Roster changes are terrible too. There is no communication between manager and staff. Terrible place to work and shop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your typical sales job
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kildorrery, County Cork11 June 2019
The branch I'm at has its ups and downs. There were a lot of issues (some questionable legal issues such as making staff members pay for drive-offs... has been resolved but after a lot of lash back)

I love the staff and supervisors I work with, the manager is okay too and good with giving time off if we need it, good also when we ask for a specific role or time to work.

The owner, however, isn't good with communicating with employees and doesn't listen to the feedback we give about some issues.
Pros
Other staff, time flexibility
Cons
The staff paying for fuel issue, feedback feels like it's not really listened to
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice to work with centra
Sale Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Dublin2 March 2019
working with centra was a pleasure. Centra was very fun and creative i find centra good place to work at. its good salary and nice people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kilcoole, County Wicklow5 February 2019
Good for part-time work if you are studying or in college. The staff is great but that's about it. Typical retail work. Always pushed to do better. It's a good place to start out.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Not great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management and poor wages
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin13 January 2019
Management are horrible , always nagging and creating needless jobs to do , treat people unfairly and generally create an unpleasant working environment. Confiscate people's personal belongings but don't provide a safe place for staff to store their items. Often illegal shift times eg finishing at 10:30pm and being back in at 7am. Roster comes out on a Sunday night and you could be in Monday morning which is ridiculous in my opinion. Minimum wage and most of the time they get your wages wrong anyway and it has to be corrected. Overall an extremely poor place to work and would not recommend to anyone.
Pros
Absolutely lovely and friendly floor staff
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin8 October 2018
I working in centra for a good while then I fell pregnant An moved An had no travel to Dublin .. but I working there 40 hours a week an really enjoyed my time there
Pros
Lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  12 Stoneybatter, Arran Quay, Dublin 715 May 2018
A great place to learn about costumer service. The management could get some knowledge how to keep motivating their staff. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning every single day how to treat people well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting people is a pleasure
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baile Íomhair, County Meath14 May 2018
Having worked in Centra for a few years now ive come to realize that I love working with people, whether it be a regular customer or just somebody passing through the village.

It gives you a sense of accomplishment when you can help out somebody who might not be able to do it for themselves or just want to spend those extra few minutes talking to somebody.
Pros
Meeting people, helping others
Cons
Bad Atmosphere, lack of benefits, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway6 May 2018
The job is easy, but your own security isn't.
I like the morning shifts, which someone would find bad, but for me, that hasn't been a problem. So in the end, I am not really sure.
Pros
Shifts
Cons
Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick4 February 2018
I only worked for 2 weeks work experience so I can't offer much on the company, but they were very nice to me whilst I was their, all staff where friendly and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great time
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin23 January 2018
This job helped me a lot to improve my English skills and to fall in love with Ireland and Irish culture. After the summer that I spent here I understood that Dublin is my place and that is why I want to come here and to establish my future .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad experience
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Monaghan22 December 2017
bad management at monahans and sons centra tuam road
blackmails for doing night shifts if you refuse they reduce your hours.
ted the manager at centra for years.
no oportunity for advancement.
Pros
vast experience
Cons
no oportunity for advancement. bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive busy shop
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  County Kerry11 December 2017
i work 3 days a week on min wage it just about pays my bills what more is there to be said, apart from standing for 8 hours so i go home with swolen legs, there are no staff discounts but its a wonderful place to work
Pros
no pros
Cons
standing for 8 hours with nowhere to sit so i go home with swolen legs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin24 October 2017
- A bit stressing.
- Learnt how to manage time and money
- The management is a bit messy
- Workplace Culture, is good.
- The hardest part of the job was the pressure that they put on you, is little bit overboard.
- I enjoyed a lot the people i worked with.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management and low payment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and not pleasant
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin Centre19 September 2017
Stayed for just 2 weeks.
Didn't like.
Very fast-paced environment with almost zero training.
They don't even told me about the company policies like breaks or shifts.
Pros
Experience at the tills
Cons
No recognition of your effort
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it but tough.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Saggart, County Dublin8 July 2017
The management in the centra I work in is really tough. I love the job I do but here is no progress for me in where I am. I place orders and I am left in charge of other staff members but I am not for some reason being promoted and given a title.
Pros
Local to my home
Cons
Fully charged for lunches, boss never positive always negative
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rosslare, County Wexford18 April 2017
Unfair pay and others things, it's an alright place to work but I wouldn't recommend for anyone wanting a part-time job that's unage. I've learned a lot from the shop, Management isn't the best
Pros
None
Cons
Unfair pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent structure within a part-time context.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lower Kilmacud Road, Dublin 1423 February 2017
My time at The Bottle Shop was one of my fondest memories. My duties involved stock control, customer service, and hygiene.

The management and fellow staff members were extremely friendly, empowering, flexible, and considerate.

I can honestly say I do not have a bad word to say about my time here.
Pros
Delegation of job responsibility, sociable hours.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centra Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 251 reviews
592
473
354
216
116

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.6Culture

Centra Ireland Reviews by Location