Centra Ireland

Centra Ireland Employee Reviews

Found 218 reviews matching the search See all 252 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and not pleasant
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin Centre19 September 2017
Stayed for just 2 weeks.
Didn't like.
Very fast-paced environment with almost zero training.
They don't even told me about the company policies like breaks or shifts.
Pros
Experience at the tills
Cons
No recognition of your effort
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productuive
Assistant baker (Former Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth13 September 2017
great store , good value for money . always recruituing staff so different people in store. baker is a pleasure to work for / with. great deals on when they do the 4 dale sale,.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training in customer service
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork29 August 2017
Good place to work to learn more about customer service, a good work ethic, and the service-industry. Teamwork, communication, and problem-solving key to success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork22 August 2017
This type of job give you skills that help with any job, it helps you communicate with staff and customers coming into the store. Give's you a positive look on work and helps you take on the job by watching the other staff teaching or you just observing how they act and how they approach things within good reason and mannerly of course.
Pros
Good social skills
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rochfortbridge, Westmeath18 August 2017
I only did a few day shifts in this shop as I was only there for work experience during secondary school, but it taught me some valuable skills I've held on to since then and was a great stepping stone into work life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Warehouse and Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tullyallen, County Louth9 August 2017
For my leaving cert applied
Cleaning
stock taking
putting stock onto shelves and changing around with used by dates
Putting products into the trolly for other staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it but tough.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Saggart, County Dublin8 July 2017
The management in the centra I work in is really tough. I love the job I do but here is no progress for me in where I am. I place orders and I am left in charge of other staff members but I am not for some reason being promoted and given a title.
Pros
Local to my home
Cons
Fully charged for lunches, boss never positive always negative
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  ennis road4 July 2017
generally a good place to work, fast paced environment which can pass away your work day, always different things to do every day which can be refreshing
Pros
no pros
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Waterford29 June 2017
very fun place to work and everyone is very nice and friendly and I made a lot of friends working hear. the work is relatively easy and management is easy going.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekend work, first job not very enjoyable
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nobber, County Meath29 June 2017
I didnt really like working here as the hours were changing every weekend.
Getting time off was also so such a chore and you were made feel bad even if it was weeks in advance.
Management could be nice one day and then go crazy the next day for doing the exact same level of work.
Pros
One of my friends worked there
Cons
Ratty customers, ratty managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work in
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dublin16 June 2017
a typical day at work is 9 to 3 working on the till and if not busy stacking shelves and cleaning the store the most hardest part of the job is getting use to the till and opening the till the most enjoyable part was working with the people they were so freindly
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail assistant
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick10 June 2017
from my experience in working in centra it was very positive. i found all the staff very positive in every aspect of work. i learned a lot of new things from working here e.g. working behind tills, serving customers and many more.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work with really friendly people
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barnhill, Dalkey, Co. Dublin28 May 2017
Usually at tills serving customers but would get given a lot of other responsibilities such as facing off the shop, unpacking, cleaning etc. Gained a lot of people skills and communication skills. Good management. Worked with really nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rosslare, County Wexford18 April 2017
Unfair pay and others things, it's an alright place to work but I wouldn't recommend for anyone wanting a part-time job that's unage. I've learned a lot from the shop, Management isn't the best
Pros
None
Cons
Unfair pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shop Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ennis, County Clare14 April 2017
There was a good vibe in the workplace where I became good friends with my colleagues.

My typical work day would include working in the petrol hunt, on the cashier, taking in deliveries and dealing with customers.

I've been very loyal to my employer, working there over 7 years and now I'm ready for a new opportunity.
Pros
Team bonding
Cons
No opportunity to progress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic place
Cash Office/Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin31 March 2017
fantastic managers and staff members to work with. really enjoyed my time with them. very busy place all the time. great atmosphere with excellent Director(owner).
Pros
cheaper lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not rewarding or great place to work
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ballina, County Mayo26 March 2017
I liked working with some of staff members as I got along with them while doing our duties.
I disliked working here as not all staff are friendly, I didn't like the way I was treated by the management and deli manager at times.
In doing my duties day in and day out I held my head high and got on with my job from start to finish. The most enjoyable part of the job was serving customers and assisting customers with their queries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great fun
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin14 March 2017
I made loads of friends , the other workers were friendly got along easily. They made me feel comfortable around them even thought they didn't know me well . Would recommend anyone to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent structure within a part-time context.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lower Kilmacud Road, Dublin 1423 February 2017
My time at The Bottle Shop was one of my fondest memories. My duties involved stock control, customer service, and hygiene.

The management and fellow staff members were extremely friendly, empowering, flexible, and considerate.

I can honestly say I do not have a bad word to say about my time here.
Pros
Delegation of job responsibility, sociable hours.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Deli assistant and till worker (Former Employee) –  Galway25 January 2017
It was a busy work environment, I liked this because I like to be working hard while at my job. I liked everyone I worked with and would always want to help them any time I could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centra Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 252 reviews
592
473
354
217
116

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.6Culture