Dawn Meats Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely don't go here
Skilled Labourer (Current Employee) –  Ballyhaunis, County Mayo30 August 2019
I spent here almost 6 years as a certified butcher, while my supervisor don't know anything about a job he supervises,higher management is not able to answer to "good morning",pay is horrible and if you are skilled enough,they don't even want to give you holidays because they need you,after 6 years I have 10,7 per hour and if I eat in canteen it is like 9 euros per day,I hate it but I have to be here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work and every people so good Friends..
The boner room and abattoir at refiller (Former Employee) –  Midleton co cork30 July 2019
I look this company Dawn meats ltd give oportunity for all Man women etc and all jught boss and boss..
I thanks for one day I working in company Dawn meats ltd city midleton co cork..2003/2007..thank you God..
Thank you Dawn meats ltd..
Pros
Good food
Cons
No problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is joke...
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Carroll's Cross Roads, County Waterford27 July 2019
Company cheating with meat, cheating on employees, cheating with holidays and salaries.
Burgers and meat out of date going everytime back for rework.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
This place should be shut down
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A meat factory..
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Waterford20 March 2019
It’s a shift work meat factory. Monday to Friday is great and the pay was decent enough aswell. Management on the floor are Okay but any management upstairs are far from it. HR is absolutely scandalous and how they look at cases/ employees are terrible. They do not care as you are just simply a number IN the clocking system.
Pros
Steady job
Cons
Management are terrible. HR are worse. Meat factory, long days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Ballyhaunis, County Mayo3 December 2018
If you got sick they will put you on other place to work...harder and if you can't lift heavy pieces of meat (17-25 kg) you will got fired. This is not work for women.
Cons
Bad menangment
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Charleville, County Cork17 October 2018
hardwork...management never happy.,,doing overtimes very often that is the only way how to get better money..never get a pay rise even if i was working there over ten years...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Shipping Administrator (Current Employee) –  Dawn Meats Charleville10 October 2018
Dawn Meats is a great place to work very well organised great workplace culture very busy but this suits me management was a pleasure to deal with very close to home I gained a lot of confidence as you are trained very well
Pros
Good Working Environment
Cons
Not knowing a finish time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
down meat
General Operator (Current Employee) –  Waterford27 September 2018
is very good but not for some people and in the there however tthe factory environment are ok and very good place to work if u interest in and enjoy ur work
Pros
alright
Cons
great
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 19Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vary bad place to work
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Ballyhaunis, County Mayo23 August 2018
No safety rules, slave work.
Salary below required minimum. 8.9
Hard work conditions.
THey use opportunity that most people doesn't speak english.
Company can fire you within one week in trial period of 11 months and they often do that.
No care about your health. Wouldn not recommend to anybody.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grannagh
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Waterford22 March 2018
Work there as a cleaner you get no respect in this place supervisor lazy doesn't do his job just sits in office playing on computer or watching films on you tube you as constantly wet you can't get sick joke of a place pay is terrible for the work you have to do
Pros
Noting
Cons
Cleaning supervisor hours you work pay is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Gereral operative (Former Employee) –  Ballyhaunis15 February 2018
Lifting heavy boxes all day, working in the cold chill, lot of responsibilities putting together large orders for low pay. Short unpaid breaks for breakfast and lunch.
Pros
No pros come to mind
Cons
Working in cold, heavy boxes, poor facilities in canteen, no bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work place
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Sligo18 January 2018
My typical day at dawn meat would be to handle the meat in a health and safety manner making sure it was carried out appropriately following the proper procedures in cutting and trimming the meat.
Work place was fun and the staff was helpful and hardworkers.
The hardest job was to make sure it all was carried out safely when handling food but it was good once it all was carried out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packaging/Machine Operator
Packaging/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Charleville, County Cork19 December 2017
 Received, inspected and stored meat upon delivery;
 Stored meats in refrigerators or freezers at the required temperature;
 Removed finished packaged items from machine and separate rejected items;
 Stopped or resettled machines when malfunctions occur, clear machine jams, and report malfunctions to a supervisor;
 Stocked and sorted product for packaging or filling machine operation and replenish packaging supplies, such as wrapping paper, plastic sheet, boxes, cartons, glue, ink, or labels, among other duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 26Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good practical work experience
Packer (Former Employee) –  County Waterford11 December 2017
Collating and processing order sheets for incoming and outgoing goods was a good experience for me as I learned much from the supervisor and the staff.
Pros
Work enviroment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 19Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive noisy place
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Kilmacthomas, County Waterford18 October 2017
The same as above,too many people come and go.No payrise even if you are there 8-10 years.Very busy place very bored and hard job.Very cold place,very small locker room,very dirty toilet.
Pros
Free tee and coffe
Cons
Long hours hard jod
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality focused work environment
Beef Abattoir (Current Employee) –  Ráth Domhnaigh, County Laois6 June 2017
I find Dawn Meats an overall good company to work for in regards to health and safety and how they treat their staff. The Job is not for everybody and can get quiet dirty at times but the management are always there to tend to the needs of people that need support.

Animal welfare is a huge part of their ethics which I like and the people there are also quiet nice.

What some people might find difficult is the initial introduction to blood and other matter that they might not usually come across on a daily basic but overall once fully trained and competent there is no jobs in there impossible.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Short Hours, 4 day week and minimum wage which is impossible to support a family on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
General Operative (Current Employee) –  Cross, County Waterford16 May 2017
On a day to day basis we are given a certain figure to match before our shift is over, most days we meet it and others we don't as we can sometimes be held up. The company that we work for is a large company. There is 15 workers on my shift this includes maintenence as they maintain machines at all times to make sure that everything is run smoothly.
Pros
we are charged for both lunches and dinners
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty work and treated unfairly.
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Waterford4 May 2017
I worked in the kilmac plant.the place is a disaster.
Apply only if u are very very stuck for work.
They avertise positons to work up in the factory during busy periods to entice people to work harder for there chance to rise up but never follow thru on these.i worked 60 hours a week and its still happening there now.
Pros
None
Cons
To many
Was this review helpful?Yes 72No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unplesant experience
General Operative (Former Employee) –  granagh23 October 2016
Typical day at work involve doing every dirty job what general operative can do, cleaning, caring heavy boxes or doing hard job on production line. I learned how to clean and thats all. There is no much to learn.
Management in abattoir is biggest problem in company and thats the reason why people leaving company. They are kind but most annoying part of job is when you receive payslip and you realize that they didnt pay all hours worked, even when you complain about that they just gives you a lies and false hope. Cut hours is very common thing in company and beside hard job, this is the second worst thing in company.
Pros
Most of co-workers is nice and friendly.
Cons
Long hours, cut-hours, bad management, dirty and hazard jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 74No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irish company
Operator (Former Employee) –  Ireland10 October 2016
Take total advantage of the economic situation in Ireland and make you work long hours in a bad working environment for very little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dawn Meats. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 44 reviews
511
46
39
25
113

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.9Culture