Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews

Found 55 reviews matching the search See all 1,483 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dublin11 November 2019
Carphone Warehouse is an amazing Job to start off in if you are in collage end of school year etc
Helps you to understand technology alot better and makes you understand how to cope with face to face customer services
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay clear
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tralee, County Kerry24 September 2019
What can I say except stay clear of this place, firstly the management, the manager himself is nothing but a bully and his management team are far from qualified to run a store. If you are not part of their click forget about it as favouritism is rife. Expect to be called in on your day off with the promise of a paid day off in return that you will never see. Wages are a joke and constantly wrong and their so called bonus system well it’s easier to find hens teeth than get a bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work for
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Ballymount, County Dublin7 April 2019
Worst place to work for I wouldn't recommend anyone to work for them management is very poor and when call sick they give u a lot questions to and talk behind your back to other staff
Pros
None
Cons
Way the management in office treating there staff I would never recommend somebody to work for these
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic oppertunitys, staff and overall work enjoyment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tralee, County Kerry12 March 2019
I loved my time with currys pc world, The training i recieved was 2nd to none. If you enjoy working in a fast paced, rewarding role then currys is the place for you. All staff were welcoming and so helpful. Great oppertunitys to progress further in the company. I never had any issues with managers or staff, will always help you out whenever they can. Overall just a fantastic place to work
Pros
Friendly co-workers, rewarding salary, hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 23Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just A Number
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Somewhere26 February 2019
I have given quite a lot of my time to this company. Just under 10 years so I think I can give other people an idea what it's like to work in this environment.

The care for staff is their biggest downfall, promised so much and never delivered. Coming first in the country numerous times with sales and promised so much from regional managers all to be taken away from us and not even given a reason why. We were just asked to look at the next target. Keep on pushing while the staff are literally out on their feet.

Been put forward for the best store in the UK/Ireland and told us to get the store into shape, we were down on our knees just to get it right and were promised a visit from the head of CPW to review us and see where we stood on winning. Not even a call was received, the head of CPW just ignored us and the regional managers also just fobbed us off. After given so much into the store the morale was completely taken from us.

But yet we needed to keep going, we are machines, that's the only way they seen us. The regional managers fight among themselves, who had the bigger ego and it spread like wildfire. That puts the staff under extra pressure so someones ego will get a pat on the back but they seem to forget that the staff were down on their knees cleaning just to get some recognition from the insane work that we did. For what exactly.

The pay is ridiculous for the work and responsibility that is expected from you.

Next to no training is giving, you are thrown in the deep end fairly quickly and expected to sell sell and sell.

The only pro's
  more... I had from this job was my work colleagues, that is something I will always take from this place.

Would I recommend working here, Yes if you want to be treated like a machine, but your better than that......You really are.
  less
Pros
You may meet nice people, you may not !
Cons
I could keep going !
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never ever again
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Galway24 February 2019
Staff A+++++ management forget it they don't care about you or other staff plain and simple definitely not worth it at all there a disgrace don't even try this position as a team leader trust me regret is a understatement
Pros
Great sales stff
Cons
Management and targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard/play hard culture
Area Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Santry, Dublin, IE13 December 2018
work hard play hard culture and was undergoing rapid scale at the time. Young workforce and a fun place to work. I learned a lot while working there and still use the skills today.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sligo27 October 2018
Worst place to work for is Curry's PcWorld.
Managers don't care about staff and are so fake.
Safely say never ever work for them it's not a nice place and you would see that a few weeks into the job attitudes change.

Don't bother look else were trust me in this it's not worth the stress management hassle.
Pros
None unfortunately
Cons
Pay is pad the managers don't care no chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Limerick10 October 2018
Worked with great people, however the store was in a bad situation and management rolled the excrement downhill, i need more characters to fill this piece.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work .
Customer support technician (Former Employee) –  Curry's PCworld Limerick2 October 2018
Do yourself a favour and don't come anywhere near this company . After working there for 5 years , it's safe to say it's the worst company I've ever had the misfortune to work for.
Pros
Work colleagues
Cons
Poor pay, poor management, poor everything .
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ireland4 September 2018
Payment does not reflect targets and whats expected.

No commission based system, their argument is you gain a bonus each month - Less than 50 euro extra a month in most cases.

Just a number, staff are not valued. Staff are their an X amount of years - still on the same pay.

Management very unhelpful - give no incentive for staff to sell and moan when targets are not met - lowers confidence, constantly being compared to other branches.

Internal growth for staff or progression is non existent.

Staff moral is always low. Miserable place to work.

Avoid this company.
Pros
Learning the social aspect and customer service is helpful
Cons
Very basic pay, unrealistic targets, terrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Killarney, County Kerry13 August 2018
Very commission based work . Need to be good with phones and technology. Clear phone voice needed as you will spend a lot of time on phone to phone companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting company with Managers to match
Head Office Support (Former Employee) –  Dublin9 August 2018
If you value the make of your car more than the way people behave then you will fit right in. No values or morals, anything goes especially when it comes to people.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wages
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sligo Town, County Sligo7 August 2018
The amount of work you have to do and targets for the money the pay is a absolute joke. €9.50 is what they get paid and the amount of stuff you do for that is a joke seriously.

Don't even bother asking for a bouns it's another con job. There is also supposed to be commesion on some things oh guess what you will never get it and still expecting too do what they ask

If this job paid a bonus and also paid €15 a hour which would be more acceptable then.
I would say go for it other then that don't waste your time.
Pros
Great staff look out for each other
Cons
The pay is ridiculous surprised anyone wants to work there for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you to live at work . Work here.
7.5 tonne driver (Former Employee) –  Irl24 July 2018
Worst place you could ever work avoid!!!!
You work 13 hours a day. Vans over loaded. Too many drops. You work thru your Tacho breaks as don't get travel time between drops. Vosa would have a field day here . Drivers taking out their card. Health and safety a joke. Ripping off the elderly
Too much to list
Pros
If your face fits your okay
Cons
Long hours. Overoaded vans . Bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours low wage
Senior Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, County Cork19 July 2018
I really enjoyed the job itself, engaging with customers and selling but the hours were less than ideal there pay is minimal and they like to keep adding the responsibility and targets with out rewarding efficiently
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations, little reward
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dublin10 June 2018
Worked for this company for 2 years, couldn't wait to get out in the end. Managers given very little hours to dish out between employees, therefore never had enough staff and if one person was sick the whole place was thrown into turmoil. Pay is just a few cents above minimum wage which is ridiculous for the job your expected to do. High targets and managing contracts and lots of personal details. If one person shines in sales a lot of pressure is put on them to carry the store. If you make a mistake on a contract 20 euro is deducted from your commission, even though you may only actually earn 4 euro in commission for that sale. Very little progression opportunities, often very low staff morale. Only thing that kept me there so long was that all the staff were miserable together. Very high turnover of staff. Definitely not a job for long term.
Pros
Getting to know new technology if your interested
Cons
Low staff, low commission, high deductions from commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand company
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dublin16 April 2018
A good company to work for overall, lots of pleasant people to work with but salary and commission has been lagging behind competitors somewhat recently. Seems to be a company on the up however with many new streamlined processes implemented.
Pros
Almost always more than enough staff working so as to never be to busy
Cons
Can be difficult to deal with people in head office to get issues resolved
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
check your pay slip
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  waterford31 March 2018
Apart of the corporate governance is the policy of applying emergency tax for the first two months regardless of p45 status. You won't be paid for your first month and expect to be underpaid when you are finally re imbursed
Pros
small discount
Cons
non or under payment of wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Retail Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kilkenny Town, County Kilkenny13 March 2018
A nice work environment with simple achievable monthly targets.

No real advancement options and the pay could be better for the quality of work need doing.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
advancement and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dixons Carphone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,483 reviews
5357
4388
3308
2151
1279

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture