Dixons Carphone
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Showing all 3,323 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Salary is poor. Very few benefits no health insurance no dental cover. Feels like uk staff get all the benefits. Progression is all about favouritism and who you’re in with. No transparency in Irish stores. Preference given to curry’s staff
Pros
People and friendships
Cons
High expectations with little regard for getting pay right
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Company expects you to do everything for so little pay in return. Every month there's a new kpi or target to hit but the pay stays the same. Managers don't really care for anything else than you hitting target. A lot favoritism goes on inside. If management don't like you good as gone i would definitely avoid this place. If you want to work at a call centre i I'm sure there's much better places.
Pros
Good colleagues.
Cons
Long hours, too many targets every month.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
From having pay issues for 4 months straight to there being absolute no management chain. This company really is horribly run. If you have any issues regarding work/payment even emotionally there is no resources. They will tell you all about commission and how amazing it is when in reality it’s all taken away from you as store and personal targets are rarely achievable. You will be constantly pressured to sell and meet targets. And trying to take holidays is a nightmare as you will more then likely not be paid for them. Trying to move up in the ranks in carphone is next to impossible also, a lot of manger hires are outside of the company. Would 100% not recommend to anyone.
Pros
Finishing at 6 if that’s even a pro?
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This is very stressful, found having so many targets to achieve and chasing numbers every day. Customer service very poor and limited to what you can do.
Pros
Opportunity to climb the ladder if your face fits
Cons
No work life balance, work weekends
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was so hectic and I did not get my pay for 2 weeks and for my holidays. They completely denied that they don't have to pay me anything. I got my first pay after 3months.
Pros
Good crew to work with
Cons
Payroll team is a nightmare. Just targets and stress. Don't expect to be paid in full.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked for dixons for 5-6 years love the team and the company, great benefits both externally and internally to help with product knowledge and srvices
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Peak season
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
29 October 2020
Thanks for your feedback, we are happy to hear you enjoy working for Team DC!Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Managers are not skilled enough to manage people. They have no qualifications and the jobs are given most of the time to choose people. I would not recommend working for Them.
Pros
Discount to employees
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
16 October 2020
We are sorry to hear you feel that way. As a current colleague we'd recommend you speak to a mentor or HR about your concerns. Regarding vacancies, all our positions are advertised internally and managed centrally by our recruitment team throughout the interview process. Thanks for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
teams were good management are the normal push you till you break. Good opportunity to advance your career. Not for the week hearted or 50+ age band in my opinion
Pros
good overtime opportunities
Cons
Long hours and heavy work load
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
7 October 2020
Thanks for leaving us some feedback. We are pleased to hear you worked with a good team and that you had the opportunity to earn overtime.We understand the day to day challenges of being one of our 7.5t Delivery and Install Driver means heavy lifting and at times longer days but we hope the extra skills you learn, opportunities for progression and the fact that no two days are the same outweigh some of the challenges!All the best in your next role,Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked for Currys for 2 years whilst studying and after. Managers encourage you to push extended warranties that are financially regulated by encouraging “package deals” to trick the customer. Pay structure is very confusing and unclear. Company has paid staff incorrectly on numerous occasions and claim it to always be a “technical issue” however it is never salaries staff experiencing issues. Company culture is simply to push stress into the staff and target with with no reward. The only reward from working in the job is the sales bonus of 0.02% which must be unlocked via customer service satisfaction survey, which in itself encourages the customer to lower their selected score as it is worded as “how was your overall experience?” rather than being something like “how were the sales staff?”. Therefore on numerous occasions delivery issues or product faults cause you to loose bonus. Better to stay away from the company who can make £167million profit and not pay staff
Pros
Non
Cons
As listed above
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
7 October 2020
We are concerned to read some of your feedback as this doesn't sound right atall. We'd encourage you to get in touch so we can look into some of the issues you've raised further. We have an immersive induction and regular training for our retail colleagues to ensure we are offering any of our additional services and products responsibly. It's a high priority for our HR teams to ensure colleagues are paid on time and correctly and if you have had an issue with your pay then please get in touch so we can get this resolved for you immediately. Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working for them at Dixon Carphone Newark was the worst experience of my employment life. Originally I went to work for them and was given training which yes was very good, then you are told you can pick which bit you want to work in, this isn't true, you get stuck where they tell you. They promise lollop training but it never comes to light. My friend and I who are both English were constantly sworn at by A shift managers and treated poorly, whilst Polish workers got to stand around not observing social distancing and having sword fights with wrap tubes. There is a toxic work environment where the Polish don't like the Romanian workers and neither like the English, to the point it verges on racism. I went for a customer service job through HALO, I was told it would be customer service calling customers who had had delivery and check everything was okay, it then turned out it was more logisitcs helping drivers out, arriving for the training, it was a day learning how to be a drivers mate. I left the company and decided to return when I was ask to do so, I was told I didn't need to be in as I had already done the training, to come back the following week for lollop training, which seemed a progress in the right direction. I arrived and was told that I wasn't having the training, so they had nothing to do for me until they eventually stuck me on packing, I was told I would start it at 7pm, then 8pm, then at 9pm I was told its when the guy finishes the other training. I had ten phone calls that week from the office offering me work, despite the fact that I had arragned to start - more...
Pros
It was nearby
Cons
Vile discriminative staff, unstable, lack of progression, poorly organised.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working in this company is stressful as there is no support from management on the floor. Training does not suffice either so extra support is needed. Very little opportunity to progress. Not a great work life balance and difficult to get time off when needed. Management change rotas on short notice and don't say anything.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Hard work, but great if you have the gift of being able to talk to anyone. Job security is okay because there is little to no progression. Basic sales job with a lot of targets.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Peak Sales
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
7 October 2020
Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Over the years I had worked for this company it went through change after change. They say change is a good thing but can be somewhat a bad thing whereby. People was hired hen fired/told the position needs to go Stressful having over 118 KPI to deal with on a daily basis. Sales colleagues way under paid for the role they do making the management role a difficult one to manage people whom have low expectations The high management, Directors CEO just in it for the money. No care at the lower end Customer would be pushed into buying because of the company pressure on the sales colleagues to hit targets. Therefore misselling and colleagues thinking they would always lose they Jobs. To be honest. A nasty company to work for , this isn't a reply of bitterness, its regret I worked there so long. Regional Managers are like old type prison officers. Rude ,pushy. No people skills. Just told to push for more The directors think they are gods no people skills Zero Hour contracts for sales colleagues, skill set of colleagues awulf. Training. On the shop floor. Told do it at home or shoved in a room doing as of when .this many forced from Regional Managers. Because of the Training targets need to be done fast 😤
Pros
10% discount
Cons
long hours. To many KPI. Sales colleagues treated like robots Managers treated like dirt
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
You have to be favourite to get hours in this job. Management isn’t great will stick together! Had a few issues and had no one to turn to. Have to have thick skin working here
Pros
Commission
Cons
Very low hours to share around and you have to be the managers favourite to get the hours
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Started out great when learning things but quickly got dull when trying to find new tasks. After asking management for more work was told there isnt any and most days ended up with stretching a half hour task into a full days work. Monotonous and unfulfilling. Too many team members in each area sharing very little work.
Pros
Perks at work scheme is decent.
Cons
Incredibly boring and unsatisfying work.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
5 October 2020
We are sorry to hear about your experience. Thankyou for your feedback.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Target driven, do not care for the staff. Bonus is decent if you hit said targets. Aren’t many opportunities to progress in the business. Very stressful environment
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
5 October 2020
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. As a current employee we'd recommend having an open and honest conversation with your line manager or mentor about the target expectations you've been set. We want all our colleagues to feel supported in their day to day role.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Its hard work as you work a 5 on and 3 off rota,management is really helpful and always there to offer support if needed.Progression is a real thing here , if you show willing the Company will put you through gas qualifications and enhance your driving licence.My mate started as a mate and they have put him through his hgv 7.5t licence and trained him on various installs.Depot manager is very approachable and friendly which you don't always see.My Transport Manager is really good, he has taught me alot about the rules behind driving for a living, he teaches rather than shouts.For me this is the perfect place to work. 3 days off in a row to spend with my family and prospects on the horizon.
Pros
3 days off every week
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
12 November 2020
Thankyou for your review.We understand that our 7.5t Delivery and Install Drivers do work some long hours but we are pleased to hear the 3 days off gives you that well earned time with your family.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been in the company for 2 years and for the most part it has been great. Only downside is that the targets can sometimes be hard to achieve which in return can sometimes make you feel a bit disheartened. The customers are ok most of the time but when you get stroppy ones it can make an impact on your day.
Pros
Good laughs
Cons
too many targets
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
5 October 2020
Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was a fantastic place to work and very rewarding. Exec changes since the merger removed anyone with industry experience and the capability of success in a very challenging market which in turn took away any USPS of the company and the edge it had in a very competitive Uk sector.The plan since appointing the CEO has surely been to remove the business from the high street and take it online as he did with his previous role in littlewoods/very. If the role you’re interested in is in retail I’d advise you to tread carefully, any other vein of the business who knows? Does CPW have anything better to offer than the networks since they got rid of their independence, market leading deals and world class retail staff?????It’s a NO from me!
Pros
Xmas day off was a given soon as people will want advice on their new gifts on Christmas Day!
Cons
Never being able to believe what your ceo says “mobile is central” heard that for two years
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been working at Team Knowhow for over a year now. I have started as an admin and the company has generously agreed to put me through my 7.5 tonne licence. This has led me to believe that i am working for an honorable company that recognizes hard work and knows the effectiveness of rewarding its employees. The staff here are great outgoing people full of enthusiasm all lead by the site manager which is a man of limitless talents. He gets on well with all staff and never fails to show that he is 100% committed to the company and its progression. Overall i feel blessed with the opportunity to work here.
Pros
Colleague relationships, Rewards, Effective management (especially site manager)
Cons
That I didn't join earlier!!!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
12 November 2020
We are really pleased to hear that you are enjoying your time working for DC and congratulations on being put forward to do your HGV license.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The hours each day are longer but you get days off which is great, I can plan my life and get plenty of time at home with the kids. You're on the road with a drivers mate which I really enjoy and you are your own boss each day. The pay is really good and the place has got much better over the last year.
Pros
Shift pattern, pay
Cons
Its hard work but enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
15 September 2020
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy working in our Basingstoke site.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
  1. Employee reviews