Dixons Carphone

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 1,550 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay clear
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tralee, County Kerry24 September 2019
What can I say except stay clear of this place, firstly the management, the manager himself is nothing but a bully and his management team are far from qualified to run a store. If you are not part of their click forget about it as favouritism is rife. Expect to be called in on your day off with the promise of a paid day off in return that you will never see. Wages are a joke and constantly wrong and their so called bonus system well it’s easier to find hens teeth than get a bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic oppertunitys, staff and overall work enjoyment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tralee, County Kerry12 March 2019
I loved my time with currys pc world, The training i recieved was 2nd to none. If you enjoy working in a fast paced, rewarding role then currys is the place for you. All staff were welcoming and so helpful. Great oppertunitys to progress further in the company. I never had any issues with managers or staff, will always help you out whenever they can. Overall just a fantastic place to work
Pros
Friendly co-workers, rewarding salary, hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 24Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just A Number
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Somewhere26 February 2019
I have given quite a lot of my time to this company. Just under 10 years so I think I can give other people an idea what it's like to work in this environment.

The care for staff is their biggest downfall, promised so much and never delivered. Coming first in the country numerous times with sales and promised so much from regional managers all to be taken away from us and not even given a reason why. We were just asked to look at the next target. Keep on pushing while the staff are literally out on their feet.

Been put forward for the best store in the UK/Ireland and told us to get the store into shape, we were down on our knees just to get it right and were promised a visit from the head of CPW to review us and see where we stood on winning. Not even a call was received, the head of CPW just ignored us and the regional managers also just fobbed us off. After given so much into the store the morale was completely taken from us.

But yet we needed to keep going, we are machines, that's the only way they seen us. The regional managers fight among themselves, who had the bigger ego and it spread like wildfire. That puts the staff under extra pressure so someones ego will get a pat on the back but they seem to forget that the staff were down on their knees cleaning just to get some recognition from the insane work that we did. For what exactly.

The pay is ridiculous for the work and responsibility that is expected from you.

Next to no training is giving, you are thrown in the deep end fairly quickly and expected to sell sell and sell.

The only pro's
  more... I had from this job was my work colleagues, that is something I will always take from this place.

Would I recommend working here, Yes if you want to be treated like a machine, but your better than that......You really are.
  less
Pros
You may meet nice people, you may not !
Cons
I could keep going !
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sligo27 October 2018
Worst place to work for is Curry's PcWorld.
Managers don't care about staff and are so fake.
Safely say never ever work for them it's not a nice place and you would see that a few weeks into the job attitudes change.

Don't bother look else were trust me in this it's not worth the stress management hassle.
Pros
None unfortunately
Cons
Pay is pad the managers don't care no chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ireland4 September 2018
Payment does not reflect targets and whats expected.

No commission based system, their argument is you gain a bonus each month - Less than 50 euro extra a month in most cases.

Just a number, staff are not valued. Staff are their an X amount of years - still on the same pay.

Management very unhelpful - give no incentive for staff to sell and moan when targets are not met - lowers confidence, constantly being compared to other branches.

Internal growth for staff or progression is non existent.

Staff moral is always low. Miserable place to work.

Avoid this company.
Pros
Learning the social aspect and customer service is helpful
Cons
Very basic pay, unrealistic targets, terrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Killarney, County Kerry13 August 2018
Very commission based work . Need to be good with phones and technology. Clear phone voice needed as you will spend a lot of time on phone to phone companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wages
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sligo Town, County Sligo7 August 2018
The amount of work you have to do and targets for the money the pay is a absolute joke. €9.50 is what they get paid and the amount of stuff you do for that is a joke seriously.

Don't even bother asking for a bouns it's another con job. There is also supposed to be commesion on some things oh guess what you will never get it and still expecting too do what they ask

If this job paid a bonus and also paid €15 a hour which would be more acceptable then.
I would say go for it other then that don't waste your time.
Pros
Great staff look out for each other
Cons
The pay is ridiculous surprised anyone wants to work there for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
check your pay slip
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  waterford31 March 2018
Apart of the corporate governance is the policy of applying emergency tax for the first two months regardless of p45 status. You won't be paid for your first month and expect to be underpaid when you are finally re imbursed
Pros
small discount
Cons
non or under payment of wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louth5 July 2017
Power driven mad managers, who forced people who didn't bend to his every command out of a job by increasing there sales targets every week until it's impossible to hit them. Terrible support from head office and in general a workplace filled with drama, lots of pressure and very little reward. Would not recommend working for this company at all.

(Manager in question has now been fired for s***** harassment in the workplace)
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sligo13 June 2017
Oh god were do i start oh lets see avoid this job completly.
Unrealistic targets and attachments. No chance of pay increase even bonuses.
No training at all provided they will expect so much out of you and no rewards ever.
Ive worked for pc world i left simply beacuse it isnt a great place to work i will tel you know you can do way better.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Pay, Expections, Work Load, Part time means they can call you when they feel like avoid it now
Was this review helpful?Yes 30NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is gone to the dogs
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tullamore, County Offaly17 January 2017
Wouldnt recommend it at all ,high staff turn over , to many mistakes ,staff are treated like dirt ,this company has gotten an awful reputation and for good reason if you do your reasearch
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ireland12 January 2017
Inadequate training provided, even manager told me it was Inadequate although later backtracked on this. Impossible targets given with barely any training couldn't reach these targets. Expected to sell all these phones and prices and plans on system I knew nothing about. Asked for help from managers received none. received a complaint from customer was told I would be under watch. following day was let go due to this complaint and not reaching targets. Poor staff facilities. Often left sitting on step ladder eating lunch and sitting with old phones in order to use toilet which was never cleaned. Never knew when lunch was. Guess work half the time
Absolute diabolical unprofessional company to work for. Mess of a system.
Would not recommend
Pros
None
Cons
Small commission on sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work since the take over
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Meath louth dublin11 July 2016
I worked in many stores and the career advancement is terrible they hire managers from outside the the company with very few internal promotions or advancement. The stores are given very little hours to dish out so id tour on an 8 hour contract which most people are things can get tough. Managers arent very empathic dont trust there staff and can make life difficult. I used to dread going into work. No team bonding. No christmas parties. Minimum wage for a very skilled job espically when your personally take so much risks doing contracts and if you make a mistake the company dont stand behind you. There is little help and TERRIBLE training provided. I did 1 day training quite a few months after i started.
Pros
Meeting lots of new customers
Cons
Atmosphere, pressure, hard achieve any rewards, 8 hour contracts, promotion likelihood
Was this review helpful?Yes 33NoReport

See more Dixons Carphone reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dixons Carphone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,550 reviews
5371
4406
3323
2158
1292

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture