Dixons Carphone

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews for Sales Consultant

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 1,548 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do yourself a favour - find somewhere else to work
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ireland7 January 2020
I applied here because I liked working with technology and liked working with people. However, I quickly came to find that the job from day one is forcing you to hit targets and and is not what you would expect. You are forced to be a robot and sell sell sell. If you miss ONE thing out of a plethora of products you need to sell, the manager gives out to you. The acting manager at the time disclosed they wish they were just a sales consultant as they lived to sell - this was obvious in how they carried out their managerial position covering for a manager. Essentially they didn't really care about me - I was basically just a number that had to sell. Nothing more.

You need to reach a certain amount of sales every month across different areas - failure to meet any of these, and the manager shouts at you, making you feel worthless. These targets (KPIs) also contribute to your commission earned (which by the way is paid 3 months after). Here's how commission works in this stingy company:

- 30% you receive automatically
- The 70% is split up into different channels you need to hit, ranging from contracts to broadband sales

This 70% is almost impossible to get. Doesn't matter if the store is dead or customers don't want to buy the product - you don't hit this you don't get the commission - it all goes into the companies pockets.

The atmosphere can get very intense and heated. When it gets busy, higher ups can't help you very much - and when you do make any sort of mistake, you get scolded to the point where you feel almost useless - not to mention that any mistake you make
  more... in a contract can lead up to €20 being deducted from your pay.

The atmosphere got so bad that an employee had to take a week off due to mental health reasons. The job is seriously mentally draining, and you would feel like this coming home after work (in which sometimes you would have 10-11 hour shifts), especially after some time working in the company. People (especially the higher ups) talk behind employee's backs and are quick to blame one another.

Compared to other companies which only deal with one network, you are paid excruciatingly less than what they are. And at CPW you have to deal with so much more including setting up phones (which the other companies don't do) - all at minimum wage!!!

The only positive aspect of working here is that I actually got on with a good few people here - but like me were miserable working in this job.

To anybody reading this - I was excited to start working here. Please don't ruin your life working for this company.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dublin11 November 2019
Carphone Warehouse is an amazing Job to start off in if you are in collage end of school year etc
Helps you to understand technology alot better and makes you understand how to cope with face to face customer services
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand company
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dublin16 April 2018
A good company to work for overall, lots of pleasant people to work with but salary and commission has been lagging behind competitors somewhat recently. Seems to be a company on the up however with many new streamlined processes implemented.
Pros
Almost always more than enough staff working so as to never be to busy
Cons
Can be difficult to deal with people in head office to get issues resolved
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ireland10 July 2017
Carphone Warehouse has potential to be a good company to work for however due to poor management and bullying within the company I wouldn't really recommend anyone applying.. There is absolutely no progression in the company, you do not receive any sort of praise or feedback for good work done and you're constantly called and messaged on days off. It also can be extremely boring as there are a lot of quiet days. All the systems need a massive update and management need to start looking after there staff as the turnover is phenomenon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress!!! stress!!! stress!!!
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dublin27 June 2017
scam!! scam company!!! always pressure on sales staff for impossible targets,sic managers not trained properly always giving out to staff,treat you like s***,staffs fainting on the floor because of bad store manager ,very old software system ,takes ages to learn and still keep on learning , kick you out of the job anytime with out warning.
Pros
free water to drink
Cons
no lunch breaks, no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Give carphone a miss...
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ireland13 October 2016
Work here a couple of years now so hard to get any sort of promotion basically lucky if you get one. Money is v poor for the job you have to do. Mangers and head office don't care about you you are just a number to them. I would never recommend working for this company . They set you targets that are unachievable so they don't have to pay you bonus. Very poor training given to staff so they find it hard to sell. Overall I would give this company a miss or work here for a year for experience to get a job with a network store where they actually pay well and train you up properly!
Pros
Great work colleagues
Cons
V poor training given to staff . No support
Was this review helpful?Yes 72No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Galway Bay, County Galway13 May 2016
really friendly atmosphere,full training on the job given,challenging every day.working at own incitiative,rewarding work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place while i was workin here i am not now i am in o2
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dublin24 July 2013
Typical day was the sales process in the shop and looking after customers on a day to day basic also taking delivery's and doing the cash or the shop.
Cons
long hours and expected to work more then rostered for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cork, C19 June 2013
Such a brilliant company to work for. Great staff, can honestly say I love my job there. Never a day I dread going to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report

See more Dixons Carphone reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dixons Carphone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,548 reviews
5370
4405
3323
2158
1292

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Dixons Carphone Reviews by Location