Dublin City Council Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job gave personal satisfaction and fulfillment
Volunteer in Recreational Facilities (Former Employee) –  County Dublin13 November 2019
The staff was polite and the job atmosphere was positive and relaxing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did work experience there.
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Dublin27 November 2018
Was shown around, did some maintenance on the computers around the office. Mostly just shadowed the staff there. Nice people and an interesting place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Systematic and safe workplace
Civil Engineer (Current Employee) –  Dublin9 October 2018
Working in Dublin City council needs for management skills more than the technical ones. At Dublin city council, the assessment for risks and hazards is taken into account duly by the people working in the site. The work is very systematic leading to solve issues may arise at work place quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Gym Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ballyfermot, County Dublin23 February 2018
My review of this company is that’s it quick and very easy to use and shows simple formats and how it should be filled out and what should be were . I like it a lot
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great public service provider
Senior Executive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Dublin23 January 2018
Very busy environment. You learn a lot on daily basis. Lack of resources does not help. Great professionals to work with. Opportunities for promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot enjoyable work experience
Leisure Attendant (Former Employee) –  Finglas, County Dublin16 November 2017
Really enjoyed my work experience in the gym found everyone very helpful and always had a job for me to do. I got to try every job there was to try while working there I feel I really learned a lot to help me with my course work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Dublin9 October 2017
I did work experience for 5 days in the youth centre in Cabra, it was enjoyable and had a great atmosphere. Each day was different due to different activity with the children on each day, it was hard to get the children to settle,but overall a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivating and great enviornment.
Event Manager (Current Employee) –  Dublin7 August 2017
I was really welcomed and found the work challenging but in a good way I always had goals and was never bored. The other staff were very helpful and friendly, I was very happy in my internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dublin City Council is a company I would love to be in.
Office Junior Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dublin7 July 2017
This was my first job role when I was very young and inquisitive and I found it to be very interesting. If I were to be in a Dublin City Council job today,it would be in a job for life .. this is one of those jobs that is hugely advantageous for all kinds of reasons if you would like to know more about its company policy and its mission statement.
Pros
Work advancement.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good crack
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Dublin10 May 2017
very enjoyable a lot of good hours learned a lot from the courses they have plenty of overtime at the time alot shift work now i think and i think it rotate in dublin city centre itself and some standby work is well
Pros
free lunches sometimes on courses
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Marrowbone lane Dublin 82 February 2017
Open up
Assessments
Run true programmes
Run classes
General set up and General cleaning
Different every day
Meeting people and seeing the changes in their fitness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dcc
Relief Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dublin15 November 2016
A good working environment for individuals starting off their career in employment. A environment that supports team work and open opinions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Leisure attendant (Former Employee) –  Ballymun, County Dublin26 August 2016
I learned how to deal with customers more effectively and my co workers were very supporting during my first couple of weeks on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique and good environment to work in.
Community Assisant to the Elderly (Former Employee) –  Crumlin, County Dublin26 April 2016
A typical day would require me visiting elderly citizens who lived in complexes and I would help them with things and listen to them as they spoke about their daily routines.
I enjoyed doing this very much as it opened my mind to the lives on the older generation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, fast paced environment to work in
Relief attendant (Former Employee) –  Ballymun, County Dublin1 January 2016
the days were always very eventful, you were always busy whether it be cleaning, training, or teaching a swimming lesson. my co-workers were friendly and fun to be around. the hardest part of the job was cleaning as the felicity was so large there was a lot of cleaning to be done
Pros
free lunches
Cons
late night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work colleagues
Dublin Regional Homeless Executive (Former Employee) –  Dublin, D28 September 2015
Good work ethic and environment to work in with decent opportunities for advancement and/or further study both within the organisation and externally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Enjoyable Placement
Dublin City Sports Network Co-operative Placement (Former Employee) –  Dublin15 September 2014
My time with Dublin City Sports Network was very rewarding and beneficial. My day to day tasks varied depending on my being in the office or out in the field. I learned largely about the workings of the sports sector. I became part of the team and worked well with my co-workers. The most enjoyable part of the job was improving the day to day lives of those who we provided our services to. Overall it was an excellent experience from which i learned a large amount.
Pros
Rewarding Experience
Cons
Large amount of travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive Research
Summer Planning Researcher (Former Employee) –  Dublin, Ireland9 June 2014
Research position was based on international trends for redevelopment of Brownfield lands and vacant buildings. Different experiences of land tax incentives, grants and levies were analysed in order to suggest improvements for future policy changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy working for DCC.
School Warden (Current Employee) –  Dublin 922 May 2014
Working for DCC has given me the opportunity to complete my Fetac Level 5 healthcare assistant course. It also gives me the freedom to be their for my children. Because I have a permanent position for the last two years it has allowed me to transfer my son to the school where I work and because of this i don't have the worry of depending on anyone to bring my son to and from school.
Pros
I drop my son to school and earn a wage while doing so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dublin City Council day (typical)
General Operative (permanent, fulltime hrs) (Former Employee) –  Dublin, D25 February 2014
8.30 start, job tasked by 9.30, on site by 10 am, work until 1pm, lunch for 30 min, after lunch return to job site from earlier or assigned a further different job for the rest of the day for finish time of 5pm
Pros
Teachs flexibility, interacting with tenants, different tasks each job
Cons
short lunch break, delays in being jobbed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dublin City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 26 reviews
516
48
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
4.2Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.1Culture

Dublin City Council Reviews by Location