Dublin Simon Community Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to get experience dealing with issues related to Homelessness,Addiction and trainings
Project Worker (Current Employee) –  Dublin30 September 2019
DSC is an organisation where you learn and acquire the critical skills to deal with issues emanating from homelessness and addiction. There is huge support for staff.
The hardest part f the job is meeting clients with very challenging behaviours.
Pros
Series of free trainings
Cons
challenging work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
CE scheme (Current Employee) –  Dublin5 February 2019
Fun workplace health and safety of course hard work on your feet constantly also bad hours 12-9pm 4 days a week and 11-5 of a Saturday management are brilliant people
Pros
Comfy lunch room with all kitchen appliances and vending machines
Cons
Long hours and not much of a life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  Dublin20 January 2019
Direct line managers were excellent and there were opportunities for self- development and expansion of the organisation.
However, the above was not financially matched and after 5 years working in the same organisation I was ready for a new challenge.
Pros
Learnt a lot
Cons
poor work/life balance and salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa boa
voluntario (Former Employee) –  dublin16 September 2018
empresa muito boa, as pessoas te ajudam como podem.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Run
Bucket Shaker (Current Employee) –  Dublin15 April 2018
Great charity to work for. Extremely organised and always someone there to help with any issues, would definitely recommend for anyone looking to do some good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Delivery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chapelizard12 March 2018
The people there were great and very helpful and it was interesting and rewarding to help people in need. Another classmate and I spent the days delivering food to homeless shelters across Dublin
Cons
far away
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a workplace
none (Former Employee) –  phoenix park10 March 2018
Dublin simon community charity run is not a workplace. I participated in the 5 mile run in 2012, 2013, 2014. the run was enjoyable and I done it with my school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A welcoming workplace with grat satisfactio
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Dublin14 January 2018
I enjoy working part time in Dublin simon I am a big supporter of the quest to end homelessness, i really get to interact with alot of people there, Iam gaining valuable experience which benifits my college social studies
Pros
Hands on experience working with vunerable adults
Cons
Im only working part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Fun.
Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin29 June 2017
Good bunch Of People to work with and have a laugh. Always learning about new things, And loving it to be part of it. Staff are very nice and friendly.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and intimidating environment
Project Worker (Former Employee) –  Dublin28 September 2016
very demanding and challenging workplace. a culture of intimidation and hostility has been created by management due to service users not held responsible for their actions.
Pros
friendly work colleagues
Cons
agressive/hostile clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dublin life
Full-time Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Palmerston, County Dublin16 April 2016
I was assigned to a Dublin Simon Community service called Riversdale House, which is long term residential house, I am mainly responsible for supporting and linking with our residents with their daily lives and prompting them with group activities and social events;
Organising social activities and events for residents is a part of work, the main purpose is to encourage and increase participation in order to enrich daily lives;
As a foreigner, the most enjoyable part of my job is experiencing totally Irish working environment and my kind Irish coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dublin Simon Community
Friday Night Soup Run coordinator (Current Employee) –  Dublin City, County Dublin4 March 2016
Some of the most challenging and uplifting work I have experienced is my continued voluntary work with the Dublin Simon Community in supporting individuals who are homeless and living in supported temporary accommodation. We as an organisation experience a wide variety of issues including addiction, abuse, mental health difficulties and family discord. This experience of supporting the immediate needs of the individuals at hand and working as part of a comprehensive team to help clients achieve a better standard of living, has ignited a passion within me, to continually help and support people with complex needs. This experience both educated me on the current political climate of the homeless crisis, and on how to interact and engage with service users.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A difficult environment to work nin
Project Worker (Former Employee) –  Harcourt St. Dublin 26 April 2015
There was a tension between the demands of management for tighter control of discipline issues and the need for project workers to maintain the trust of the service users
Pros
Having a positive influence on peole in distress
Cons
Tensions with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  dublin2 July 2013
Started at 8am and finished at 5pm everyday,i had to learn how to run a warehouse computer system,so that i could load all the right trucks,i got on with all of my co-workers
Pros
social life
Cons
only worked 5 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Dublin Simon Community reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dublin Simon Community. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 18 reviews
54
47
35
22
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture

Dublin Simon Community Reviews by Location