Dunnes Stores Employee Reviews

Found 798 reviews matching the search See all 1,003 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance/awful culture
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  County Limerick11 November 2019
Hours for management are very long and you are expected not to leave on time. Too many managers in the company over 25 years and most are just counting the days until retirement.
A lot of management have awful attitude towards staff and judge them too harshly. They aren't seen as human. Head Office need to perform exit interviews too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days drag
Stockroom/ Shop floor assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick11 November 2019
Dunnes are absolute c##ts to work for every one is highly stresses all the new managers that start end up grey after a year.the pay is cat and your treated like a piece of s##t.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont bother
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Naas, County Kildare10 November 2019
This job is suited to school leavers looking to get on the job ladder and don't mind getting bossed about for pocket money, the hours are silly, like 19 to 25 hours,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot but not a nice place to work
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin8 November 2019
Great training, learned a lot but toxic work environment. Senior management & Directors treat others very badly. Shout at managers and degrade them publicly whether in stores or head office. Pay reviews are awful and male grocery staff are favored. Great as a stepping stone to better career but no one stays long term
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Terryland, County Galway6 November 2019
Friendly environment to work in. You had a routine every morning that you would follow when the delivery come in you would unpack it and bring out what is needed on shop floor and bring excess up to stock room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and Friendly.
Customer Service/Stock Worker (Former Employee) –  Newbridge1 November 2019
The work kept me busy all summer. Was moved around from customer service role to a regular stock worker. Had more than enough hours for a part time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Assistant
Christmas staff (Former Employee) –  Swords, County Dublin31 October 2019
My typical day in Dunnes Swords.

Some days I worked on the tills on the fashion floor so entering sales and packing away customers purchases.

I worked in the stock room opening deliveries and checking of stock against delivery list.
Pros
Close to home - so not much travelling involved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Dublin29 October 2019
On a typical day of work, I would be stacking shelves and packing products for the net day for customers to choose from. At the end of the day, I would be facing off the shelves and making everything look presentable for the next morning. the management is good for most of the time but sometimes there can be some low.
Pros
good pay and reasonable breaks
Cons
Not enough flexibility for students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin21 October 2019
Very fast paced environment
long days
commitment to the job is important
dealing with customers daily
running the operation of the store
implementing food and safety regulations
Pros
good pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13.49 after 11 yrs
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Douglas, County Cork4 October 2019
Not nice place to work.coctract 15 up.shifts 3+.work most of weekends.not easy to get time off.expect to be call to work at when they short.difrent shifts week to week.stress.prrson is only a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive clean workplace
fruit and veg department (Former Employee) –  Limerick2 October 2019
I enjoyed working in Dunnes Stores, it is a very positive and productive place to work. Any question I ever had was answered and everyone was very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working enviorment
Sales Assistant (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Dublin30 September 2019
A typical day at work required a large amount of interpersonal skills as you're required to help customers regularly. Another large part of the job involved making sure the section of the store in which you are based is continually faced off and presentable.

The workplace culture was both friendly and hard-working amongst colleges. Management could be very rude for example one member of the management team would click his fingers at you rather than address you politely from time to time.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to aid a customer when they had a query, while the hardest part of the job was getting used to working on the fish counter once I had been knife trained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid if you value your sanity
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork27 September 2019
Management are the downfall of this company ( the magority are good but the few ruin it for everyone) expect you to do 3 peoples work and do tills and stock units and be under staffed constantly. Wages are good tho. Fellow staff can be good but can also be so lazy its incredible to think they find there way home. Work hours vary depending on season so over worked winter months and no hours in the summer time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal retail workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick26 September 2019
Duties were typical of most retail jobs. They included Sales, exchanges and refunds of merchandise, cleaning shop every night and taking in large deliveries in the mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard , play hard. great colleagues
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  multiple locations24 September 2019
Worked as management from 1996 to 2004 . Loved the job and the training was very much on the job . You were encouraged to think for yourself and take ownership of your store. Great standards and great coaching from experienced managers in a time when managers used to run stores and make decisions all by themselves.
made
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork24 September 2019
Didn't work out with my college commitments. Would have been happy to work there for a period of time, work life was quiet. Short shifts are manageable but the demand from HR to fulfill a minimum of 4 shifts a week doesn't suit students.
Pros
good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Cork - Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork22 September 2019
Working at Dunnes Stores was an experience that i won't forget.
The wages was well received as well as working with the other fellow employees, they were all kind and the workplace was constantly busy with it being the Xmas period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin21 September 2019
Never have I worked for such a company that cares so little about their staff. You’re just a number and no more to them. You’re spoken down to and belittled by mangers and people that are in a higher position then you.
Pros
Pay is good
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good, organized,clean
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Laoise, County Laois20 September 2019
At that time when i was searching for job it was kind of dream to get and i got, managers was funny and understanding, oranized,we allweys had meatings if there was something new about work,every one knew their work to do,just once i was dissapointed when they hired a Polish guy who didnt speak any english at all-it was hard to communicate with him and i suppost to teach him.i was wondering how he got the job,becouse i had to go true many application filling out and interviews to get the job.
But over all i liked the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway19 September 2019
It wos nice place to work, I had lucky because I had great people in my team. I worked on Deli so It wos hard job and we had to be a very careful. Most of manager wos nice. They paid well and if someone work longer, wages goes higher. Minus wos shifts. After maternity I could not change my hours and work on part time, even for next few weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dunnes Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,003 reviews
5295
4336
3236
270
166

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture