GlaxoSmithKline Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 4,026 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10/10 working Environment/facility, Not suitable for people 18-25 as sacrificing weekends at that age can be hard, Good place to work nevertheless
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Dungarvan, County Waterford6 November 2019
If you are married or have kids its a good place to earn a consistant wage with great benefits if you dont mind shift work. Not suitable for someone just finished school. Ideal for people late 20s onwards.
Negative for me was doing shift work as 12hrdays/nights can take its toll on the body both physically and mentally, that is the only concern, other than that its an excellent working environment if you keep the head down and do your work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend this company
Finance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cork28 August 2019
A great company to work for, highly competent staff . A very busy environment especially at month ends. Very approachable managers . I loved working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly regulated organisation
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Carrigaline, County Cork25 March 2019
learned so much on my placement I found a call for my career a production operator was my goal I have followed it by sitting a life science manufacturing course in order to complete my goal to become an operator.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Executive
Marketing Executive (Current Employee) –  Dublin8 November 2018
GSK is an extremely encouraging company to work for, from senior management down to executive level there is a collaborative team environment. The company encourages self development and provides opportunity to advance.
Pros
work/life balance, self-development, autonomy, collaboration
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment to work.
Packing Operator (Current Employee) –  Dungarvan, County Waterford29 August 2018
GSK is a good company to work for some great people working there.Very friendly working culture.From Line Leaders,Supervisors and Mangers very helpfull always there to help.Really enjoying working there.Typical day is working long side Line Leader keeping components in machine.EHS,Quality checks every hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Packaging Operator (Current Employee) –  Dungarvan, County Waterford7 July 2018
Worked here for 2 years, a great company to work for. The hardest part of the job was getting used to the 12 hour shifts. I learned a lot from the training.
Pros
Good health care and good wages
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to succeed
Training and Capability Lead (Former Employee) –  Dungarvan, Co Waterford31 May 2017
Great management support but very poor work life balance
Expected to be available 24/7
Great colleagues and a super Senior Leadership team
Great global team and leadership
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cork21 November 2016
Great company to work for, but unfortunately contract expires on December 2016. With the company recently having been forced into a number of redundancies, there doesn't seem to be a chance of an extension.
Pros
Great company ethos and atmosphere shared amongst all members of staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but enjoyable and good rewards.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Dungarvan, County Waterford27 September 2016
I produced powder formulas to make denture cleaning tablets . We had targets and cleaning duties everyday which had to be reached. The management were very approachable and four. The most enjoyable part of job was reaching targets everyday.
Pros
Rewards for reaching targets such as free breakfast or lunches.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people/HR not organised
OPERATIONS QUALITY ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Dungarvan, County Waterford10 June 2016
The place is quality driven, people are very nice. One minus is that because it is a huge company HR is not very well organised. When you are new to the place you might wait for your login and training a long time, even two weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Dungarvan, County Waterford17 May 2016
I worked in gsk for 9 months on continental shifts as a production operator in a team envoirnment under strict rules and regulations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Dungarvan, County Waterford26 April 2016
The team here where i work are always ready to help in any they can.There is a lt of new things to learn and every day is not the same.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not there long enough to give real view
Started with GSK i Dec at end of follwing January they decided to selling the consumner drnks side of the business so there was so much uncertainity

Changed all journies and people , discontinued all local deals so transition was rather ifficult
Pros
Brands
Cons
Sell off of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning Experience
Industrial Placement Trainee (Former Employee) –  Cork, Ireland29 October 2015
Got a best place and trained well to do my research in future. People who worked with me is just amazing and learned their perspectives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Granulation operative (Former Employee) –  Cork, C14 September 2015
12 hour shifts with weekend work, learned a great deal about gsk and enjoyed learning, management were friendly, the people i worked with were a great bunch of lads, working weekends was the toughest part but has to be done , meeting new people and learning was the best part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly managed company
operative (Former Employee) –  sligo8 May 2015
Worked for stiefel a gsk company in Sligo. Only stayed there 4 weeks... Staff were unfriendly and cold. And management was disgraceful. Never knew who was in charge or who I went to with a problem.
Always felt like a few members of staff were always "out to get you"
Pros
great food in canteen
Cons
too many to write
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 15Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Operational Quality Chemist (Former Employee) –  Cork, C22 December 2014
Great place to work for great atmosphere and team work environment
Pros
Culture
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely professional and well managed pharmaceutical company
Sales Development Representative (Former Employee) –  south and west of Ireland17 March 2014
selling brands such as Lucozade, Panadol and sensodyne to large Multiple sites

Journey planning

fantastic support structure and training provided

GSK's attention to detail to conform with IMB regulations
Pros
company vehicle, tablet, phone
Cons
big geographic area to represent alot of driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Supply Chain Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cork4 February 2014
Friendly welcoming atmosphere, good working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience with rapid learning curve
Project engineer (Former Employee) –  Waterford, Ireland29 May 2013
A typical days work invoved liasing with the GSK engineers for meetings prior to the commencement of work. The information conveyed during these meetings was then brought to site asd communicated to the workforce who carried out their duties under the supervision of the engineers. Any measurements or levels were specified and checked with all responsibility for same given to me, the engineer. The hardest part of the job was ensuring the team completed the tasks adequately and efficiently, with the most enjoyable part incorporating the team building ethos I tried to and successfully brought to the project. I felt it was important to liase effectively with both the management and the construction team, always keeping moral and work ethic high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GlaxoSmithKline. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,026 reviews
51.8K
41.4K
3592
2138
178

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture