Halfords Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 1,016 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of emtpy promise from area manger
staff (Former Employee) –  Louth Town, County Louth25 August 2019
The Managers treats the colleagues badly and get away with it . Health and safety are very bad dragging heavy boxes up and down stair all the time .
store manager at xmas she'll be super nice a hypocrite ,
After xmas her attitude change to really bad ,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine for summer work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blanchardstown, County Dublin25 May 2019
The job was fine for summer work, however the managment was rather unreasonable. I was in the busiest Irish branch so the work load could be quite high at times but it was never more than i could handle.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you like a dog, random hours , impossible to make plans
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sligo20 April 2019
Worked a number years, took all the hours i could to boost pay from my low hours contract, colleagues would regularly ring in sick and then i'd get a last minute phone call.

Bad managers made the good ones lose hope and leave.

Huge staff turnover even in the middle of the worst recession in history such was the toxic atmosphere .

About 80% of customers are really nice and great-full for help, which leaves about 20% complaining about prices of products something which staff have no control over, wanting bicycles fixed for free, demanding ridiculous warranty issues on bicycles, complaining bulbs which have other shop brand names on them were bought last month and should be replaced under warranty.
Not enough staff on duty to run the store.
Very difficult to take a break .

You do get 25% staff discount .
Some items on clearance are very cheap.
Pros
25% discount although can still be more expensive than other stores.
Cons
Under staffed, ran ragged, worked like a dog, no regard for hard work done by staff just take take take
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed it as a kid
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  North Dublin, County Dublin11 September 2018
when i first started working in halfords i really did enjoy it working there building anf selling bicycles i loved bicycles as a kid so i has an intrest in them, but now im older and want to get a trade for my future in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your working career
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin9 March 2018
Halfords is a great place to start your working career. While working there you are learning basic skills required in the potential future jobs. Such skills include: Communication, Teamwork, Problem solving, Organisational, Precision and Ability to work under pressure. The management of Halfords is great, helpfull and encourages you to improve yourself. Dealing with a variety of customers is the hardest part, due to their variability and sometimes their mood. The co-workers are the best people in your life, cracking jokes and keep you accompany throughout the day.
Pros
Great Start in great environment.
Cons
Standing whole day on your feet.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place and the job gets done .
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Limerick26 November 2017
Great place to work of you are nit involved with any activitys outside of work. The hours chop and change very often and is hard ta make a schedule. I enjoy rugby but I can't play any matchs due to working every weekend.
Pros
Great colleges.
Cons
Different hours everu week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Ireland22 November 2017
You can expect to gain great experience form how to deal with basic daily tasks to learning how to meet and excel above sales targets. A very good team atmosphere that helps the work day to go by, and with a management team that are always on hand to deal with employee needs.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork26 September 2017
Great working environment,

The people are friendly and helpful

There is no career progression opportunities for front line staff on a part time contract
Pros
Very flexible
Cons
No progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of emtpy promise from area manger
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin8 November 2016
Not a great place to work . They could not careless about the colleagues as the expect you to spend all your time in the work place . Managers like to spend most of the time in the office and micro manage . The pay is stocking and bonuses where taken away from colleagues but the managers still get bonus and you are always messed around with your pay . Area manager promise you the earth moon and stars but nothing ever comes of it . Managers treats the colleagues badly and get away with it . Health and safety are very bad dragging heavy boxes up and down stair all the time with little to no storage space
Pros
You get staff card for 25% discount but the produce they sell are not great . So no point
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training given
Everywhere (Former Employee) –  Waterford14 September 2016
You can do a great deal of courses but unfortunately you never get to follow through with the training!! Was stuck in the same position for years with no advancements career wise so that's a ploy to get people in,it's not a nice place to work as there seems to be too many people acting like management (were normal floor staff but got away with it) throwing orders at people while they sat and drank tea with the management and other staff couldn't even go to the bathroom without permission or a telling off for leaving their position!!
Pros
Discount is good but not worth it
Cons
trying to deal with numerous customers and quiries at the same time with no help!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun place to work.
Bike Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Dublin, D15 January 2016
Halford's is a great place to work as you develop experience in all areas dealing with customers and sorting shelves and stock.
I would recommend it to anyone to work here as its a great place to gain skills .
Pros
great discounts on bikes and other materials .
Cons
hard working sometimes coming into different seasons like Christmas is very busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Assistant
Sales (Former Employee) –  Louth, ENG13 August 2014
I worked in audio selling sat navs n car stereos i love it i even got to fit car radios …i had my own section to run in d shop which i loved.. also help d lads out with bulbs and batteries etc.. on and off the tills depends what staff was in… got moved to upstairs then selling kids bikes and assembling them .. onto baby car seats selling and fitting them..Got on well with the staff we all worked as a team always kept busy in there with keep d shelfs stocked up,, helping customers and fitting parts … I loved this job but got into recession and i got made redundant…
Pros
2 breaks
Cons
full time 9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Atmosphere
Full Time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Letterkenny Co.Donegal Ireland30 July 2014
Typical day would be at 8.30 am opening the shop and closing and locking the shop at 6.15 pm
It would include collating figures to staff about takings for the store and the area for the week and the targets that we need to achieve financially.
It would also involve delegating tasks to staff members and praising for jobs completed early and above standard but along with holding them responsible for jobs not completed on time or to when required standard.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with unhappy customers that felt they had been let down by a member of the team
The most enjoyable part was working with the team that I had, all were very motivated and really wanted to get to work and succeed.
Pros
Really fun to work for. Very easy to move through the ranks as they ran 140+ stores, Bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 16Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, Supportive workplace.
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Unit 4 Lakeland Retail Park, Dublin Road7 June 2014
A typical day at work included a vast amount of tasks that were challenging however throughout the day they were all completed. I learnt important skills to go with retail as a sector such as merchandising, stock taking and just general house keeping/facing off. I also learnt very valuable skills when it comes to bikes as well as cars that I have and I'm sure I will continue to use in the future. The management was very well structured and succeeded well in motivating the team throughout the day, getting the workload at hand complete. My co-workers were also very hard working and helped to make me feel part of the team. The hardest part of the job had to be the getting up early in the morning to make the hour long journey to work however after the day had ended I got an excellent feeling of satisfaction knowing a good days work had been done and that was also the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Friendly work space.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 13Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good place to work
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  swords29 August 2013
good and fun place to work pay is not the best . managers is ok staff is really good and really fun to work with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 20Report

See more Halfords reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Halfords. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,016 reviews
5231
4329
3244
2104
1108

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture