Hodson Bay Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where careers go to die
Manager (Former Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath30 July 2019
The job was sold to me so enthusiastically I was so excited for the potential of the role. The reality is completely different. Place zero trust in staff, offer little to no flexibility. You are watched like a hawk. The time I spent working there knocked my confidence in every way. If you are hoping to further your career in hospitality run dont walk away from this hotel.

It's a lovely family run business and a great hotel but cannot recommend as somewhere good to work.
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Terrible lunch food, wages, backwards management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Junior chef (Former Employee) –  Dogs body17 June 2019
I went here to work as a chef the induction training was non existent the training was shocking when asked about dishes they pointed to a picture on the wall
The items very missing from fridges everything was batch cooked you could wander all day long and no one would look for you the head geezer sits on his tod doing Jack all
Little commis run the joint from start to close
The staff are unfriendly and hate to help each other out if you can understand there lingo
No proper system to clock in you need to ask for everything
As the head geezer one said any chef worth there salt stay away
Guys wise up and train up
To the customers avoid the food preheated
Pros
Zero
Cons
No break 12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Stagiaire dans un hotel 4 étoiles (Former Employee) –  County Westmeath19 April 2019
Environnement de travail agréable,
chef à l'écoute.
Pros
Accès aux services de l’hôtel
Cons
Logement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Banquet Assistant (Former Employee) –  Athlone30 September 2017
A fast paced learning environment. I enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly relationship between co-workers and management. A good job for working overtime
Pros
Free meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Night Porter (Former Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath29 September 2017
Especially as a person working there at night my team always felt excluded as we were always a lost identity in the hotel. In general not a nice place to work in only good thing about the place is some of the ppl that work in there.
Pros
Free lunches but i would not go near them.
Cons
Long hours no one appreciates the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grate experience
4 month as a pastry chef (Former Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath11 January 2017
I was worked at Hodson Bay Hotel for the summer of 2016. It's a busy place but you learn a lot about yourself. The manager are helpful.
I also acquired a nice experience about working with big groups.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the experience but I want something new
porter, nightporter, house keeping, restaurant (Current Employee) –  athlone27 September 2015
I have worked in numerous departments which inclue day and night porter, house keeping and restaurant along with octagon. I enjoyed the experience but I want something new
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and enjoyed the atmosphere
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Athlone, WH13 December 2013
Run morning reports to include Events being held on the day. Dealing with customers both on the phone and reception
Pros
free meals
Cons
The early shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Kids Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  Athlone, WH6 June 2013
- A typical day at work involved organising indoor and outdoor games and activities for large groups of children between the ages of 0-12, organising and serving them lunch and dinner and organising an evening movie for them
- I learned how to be patient and deal with difficult children while remaining friendly and happy towards them. I learned how to work as part of a team and under the direction of a supervisor
- My co- workers were of a similar age and we got along really well which made the job an enjoyable experience
- The hardest part of the job was keeping a large group of young children under control
- The most enjoyable part of the job was playing games with children and encouraging them to make friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report

See more Hodson Bay Hotel reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hodson Bay Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 13 reviews
53
44
33
21
12

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Hodson Bay Hotel Reviews by Location