Home Instead Senior Care Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search See all 3,523 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable management and professional training based on your daily activities.
Caregiver for Elderly (Former Employee) –  Dublin, IRELAND2 October 2018
It was a pleasure working with them for over a year. I really felt myself as an important part of the team, as they were always trying to make sure that my safety was guaranteed.
Pros
Higher salary
Cons
Difficult management of schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Healthcare Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterford1 June 2018
Caring for the elderly in thier own homes
how to promote there health and well being in their own homes
office staff are great, they link in with you on a daily basis there is always someeone on the the other end of the phone should you need them
the hardest part for me was the traveling to and from clients
being with the elderly in their own homes reeminds me of my own grandmother and putting a smile on their face over a cup of tea and aa chat
Pros
promoting health and well in the communtiy
Cons
a lot of travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wexford4 April 2018
I enjoy the work as every client that I go to has different needs. The office staff are also easy to approach if I have a problem with a client. As each client has different needs it can be very challenging. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I am making a difference to a client is being cared for at home rather than having to go into a nursing home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable position
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Blackrock, County Dublin14 February 2018
working for Home Instead these past number of years has been extremely benificial to myself and those i care for. they are a great support to both myself and my clients
Pros
great support
Cons
not enough clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Healthcare Assistant (Former Employee) –  Offaly13 February 2018
going from house to house helping people in their daily activities and needs, Giving showers if they wanted them, Helping with the limited list we r allowed to help with.
Pros
meet lovely people
Cons
not enough time for each client
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company...
Home Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tipperary South Riding, County Tipperary21 January 2018
Home instead are very good to work for...have plenty of work..value there staff...Irish company..run courses all the time...pay welll...very well organised...great management...check in on there staff all the time...
Pros
Run courses all the time
Cons
Don't pay diesel...have a lit driving to do...
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely job
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Galway29 November 2017
very rewarding place to work. have met some lovely people along my travels and have supported some very strong people that have a hard life. it is a lovely place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to Work with.
Home Instead Senior Care (Former Employee) –  Limerick14 November 2017
I loved Working for this Company. All the staff were lovely and such wonderful clients. Gerat characters were met throughout my time with home Instead.
Pros
Great understanding staff in the office
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours. Good support from HomeCare Manager.
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Tipperary24 October 2017
Client's and Caregivers suitably matched. Good induction given prior to working with client. Good teamwork and support from HomeCare Manager. Travel distance to Client can sometimes be far away for a short working time.
Cons
Uncertain hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
HCA (Former Employee) –  Trim, County Meath6 September 2017
Overall a nice company, clients are lovely.

Money is poor as you are not paid for millage, so you are paying literally to keep your car on the road.

Your schedule does be all over the place as it will change over the 2 weeks you get your roster.

Don't give up full time work to work at home help as you will not get full time hours.
Pros
Nice Clients
Cons
Long hours, poor pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork26 August 2017
I worked only few hours a week but Home Instead is a great company to work for, they are always calling to see if everything is OK at work and when an employee has a situation or a problem there is always someone on the phone to help, I had a good experience and gained a lot of new skills in a very short time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick17 August 2017
Very poor experience. Management have established favourites within company who receive the most hours work and favorable hours to work. Not approachable and bad atmosphere within office.
Pros
Clients
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and reliable
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thurles, co Tipperary19 July 2017
My role in home instead was that of healthcare assistant. I would travel to the home of an elderly person in need of care and help them. This would be shopping, cleaning, assistance in bathing or shaving and companionship activities.
Pros
Talking to and helping my clients
Cons
The long drives to and from clients homes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All management and staff were great to work with .
Carer (Former Employee) –  Kilcullen, County Kildare2 July 2017
It was a great place to work all staff from top to bottom were amazing people to work with . I learned who to care for people emotionally and physically. The hardest part of my job was to see any of my clients suffering when coming to end of life .
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Healthcare Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tullamore, County Offaly31 May 2017
hours varied wage was low due to insufficient hours. loved the work and all staff were nice but not very understanding at times when it came to employees home life and responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients homes
Health care assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick11 January 2017
Typical day at work: Its home care going from home to home for 30 mins - an hour.

I have learnt to listen actively when working with clients in there own homes

Management tries hard to get work for their staff although sometimes its not very easy to get jobs for everyone.

We don't meet very often

The hardest part of the job is when there is when failure to build a relationship with the client or the family

The most enjoyable part of the job is when there is enough hours, and when you get on with the client and the family.
Pros
Provide training
Cons
Not enough work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work place
care assistant (Current Employee) –  letterrkenny30 December 2016
When you need time off you have to give plenty of notice because sometimes it's hard to get cover,if they want you to cover they give you very little notice and sometimes they can't accept no for an answer.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
not that good at communication with each other
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ennis, County Clare17 November 2016
Home instead senior care was a very productive and fun workplace to work in.
All the staff were friendly, cooperative and willing to assist in any capacity.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  dublin 5/ dublin 132 November 2016
Home instead is a great company to work for.
The office staff do there very best to work around you schedule ,so you can balance your work and home life.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
pay rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 33Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment
Home care assistant (Former Employee) –  Swords, County Dublin19 September 2016
I loved working for my two elderly lady's they were full of chat and would love me coming to look after them.. I got them up washed fed gave medication and light house work .. We shared story's and loved each others company unfortunately I had to leave my job for family circumstances to care for a family member till she perished a few months ago..
Pros
Making the ladies happy
Cons
Non really I loved my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Instead Senior Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,524 reviews
51.3K
4912
3663
2260
1397

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Home Instead Senior Care Reviews by Location