Hyatt Employee Reviews in Calgary, AB

Found 40 reviews matching the search See all 8,782 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Second Cook (Former Employee) –  Hyatt Calgary15 December 2019
Unfair treatment to new staff. Senior staffs are lazy, they only love to gossip rather than to work, they pick up all the easy works to do and leave behind the ugly ones to new staffs. Poor training and rude environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic food preparation under a more experienced chef
Cook 3 Intern (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 October 2019
Good working conditions. Fast paced environment. Was shown what they wanted me to do then I was left on my own to do it. They have a great program for feeding staff during breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poorly managed or lack of...
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 August 2019
I worked at Hyatt airport Calgary for a short time. Completely understaffed and expected to cover all positions when I was hired directly for maintenance.
Lobby's and elevators very dirty with no daytime housekeeping, only partial bedding changed for guests in fact some linens went back up to floors still dirty. Avoid this place at all cost !
I now work for a reputable and well focused Hotel chain and would never go back to work for Hyatt after this experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Rooms Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2018
good benefits, management needs improvement, employees are nice, warm and welcoming. Current management cares less about employees. Meals and uniform included
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some of the chefs were great
Pastry Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2018
loved working here. my department mananger didnt like me much but the chefs were always funny and looked out for each other. if I had free time and spotted one of the chefs doing something interesting I was allowed to watch and learn.
Pros
free delicious food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place, lots of fun
Cooks 3, internship (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2018
I was there more for my internship from schooling, great place to work, good people. Chef tests your skills and abilities, keeps ya on your toes. If I could go back there to work I would greatly accept.
Pros
very busy, chef is very helpful.
Cons
downtown, hard place to apply for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Enviroment, Amazing Staff
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2018
I loved working at this hotel and the professional environment I was surrounded by. The staff was great to work with and I learned a lot about the tourism industry.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Werid Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work
ANALISTA DE SERVICIO AL CLIENTE (Former Employee) –  CALGARY CANADA11 November 2017
Excelnte lugar para trabajar, excelente equipo de trabajo, y mejor experiencia de vida
Cons
Mucho frio
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for a few years
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hyatt Regency Calgary11 November 2017
The job an be fulfilling but the pressure to meet sales targets and the consequences of not doing so feels like a stressful pressure cooker-like atmosphere. Most people work 2-3 years in Sales & Events without a promotion. They over-emphasize the quality and treatment of their guests but fail to extend the same to their staff behind the scenes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place to work
Pastry Cook III (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 November 2017
- great job, with minimal benefits
- can be inconsistent with hours depending on where you work
- open door policy
- accepting of other people/religions/cultures/languages
Pros
free lunches
Cons
unstable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace that makes you feel like your in a family
Banquet Server (Current Employee) –  Downtown Calgary5 October 2017
I have worked at Hyatt for 12 years, and I can say that I have grown so close with my co-workers. The over-all atmosphere is inviting and it really allows me to be the best individual I can be for the guests.
Pros
Free lunch, Medical benefits
Cons
Slow seasons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,efficient,organized,a great place to work at!
Dishwasher/Prep (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 October 2017
I did dishes,ran up and down stairs and took the elevator,tore down events,stayed really late due too other dishwashers not being able too complete their jobs.Nice people worked there,hardest part was doing the day dishwashers job almost every day we showed up there.The best part was being able learn that type of job(stewarding etc)and we were able to eat almost every night,cooks would make an insane amount of food for all the staff!
Pros
Free food and nice people
Cons
Doing others work that they couldnt complete on a regular basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
Service Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 September 2017
Management makes this a wonderful, caring environment that is still fun and exciting. The days work is generally predictable and doesn't get too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge and time management
Car Detailer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2017
Working with Hyatt Infiniti gives me knowledge and teach me how to detail the car in the standard way. Time management is one of the hardest part job.
Pros
Salary base and paid vacation
Cons
Decision making of the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too long ago
SALES COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 March 2017
Worked in the basement sales office. Had a good team and growing in the role. Laid off in 2008 but no hard feelings. New team there so don't know the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent hotel, corporate attitude
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2017
Good hotel, easy to gain good working relationships with coworkers but can be quite impersonal when it comes to management or head office. Work smart, plan ahead and you can rise easily through the chaff
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Very corporate feeling, impersonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work and high end service training
RESTAURANT SERVER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 January 2017
Training system needs work and is not monitored. Some managers are a little sexist at times. Overall I enjoyed working here. Most staff were very friendly.
Pros
Cafeteria and gym access
Cons
Expected to stay until 3am and return to work at 8am for a buyout.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not much room for growth
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 November 2016
Benefits are great. People I worked there were the best on their fields. Off season less work hours for all staff. Culture and values are awesome. Lots to learn
Pros
Benefits are good
Cons
off season less hrs for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hyatt is a very good company.
ROOM ATTENDANT (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2016
I learned how to interact to the guest and colleague. I love to work at hyatt because the people around ar very nice ans so with the supervisor. The most enjoable part was when we had gathering with the housekeeping family
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
When we have a lot of check outs
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity and fun
Line coach (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2016
one of the best place to work .excellent service and great staff .i as a cook learnt lot of things
thank you very much chef and all team
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hyatt. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 8,782 reviews
54.2K
42.5K
31.3K
2388
1397

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture