Hyatt

Hyatt Employee Reviews for Banquet Captain

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 8,777 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Server/Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Newport Beach, CA4 December 2019
Horrible place to work at in Newport Beach it will s a franchise ran Hyatt near airport and the owners keep all the gratuity for the banquet servers and pay them minimum wage 🤬horrible peopl
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Bellhop Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OK3 December 2019
Decent company with decent benefits. Nothing special and managers tried to show appreciation of the employees. Located downtown has its advantages for parking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Banquet Server/Captain (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GA6 November 2019
The only way to move up in the company is to be someone who can be "molded" ie. a professional butt kisser. If you are someone who actually thinks. Your job could be on the line if you were to voice those thoughts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work !
Banquet Captain (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FL10 July 2019
A very enjoyable place to work, with some great perks as well. My only complaint would be gettin paid every two weeks, other than that, I don’t have anything bad to say. Great company to work for !
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Park City, UT4 June 2019
I love working in the food and beverage. I love the fast pace of the industry and all the different people I have met along the way. Hyatt is a great company to work for.
Pros
Competitive salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Banquet Captain (Current Employee) –  Hauppauge, NY26 March 2019
Have worked there for a really longtime. It is a very friendly and organized environment. Management is very straight forward in their policies. I will miss this place if i ever leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WA20 February 2019
stressful for PM shift no help from AM shift
I learned to work on my own no help or back up
revolving door rollercoaster or personalities
very negative from staff towards supervisors and management
working big events alone with other peers that work AM and refuse to help PM
Free Parking
Pros
beautiful property plenty of work
Cons
staff has management afraid of holding anyone accountable for bad behavior and lazy habits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers willing to work with your schedule time
Banquet Captain (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OK29 November 2018
It is a good place to work and learn new skills through new costumes and new challenges, good companionship and different cultures, but communication with the managers and other departments are not so good.
Pros
Free parking, free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfu
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO14 October 2018
Cut-throat management, love to hire young white people, stressful at the time I was there, Hard to get into top management not able to stay at hotel
Pros
free lunches at the time I was there and you can get your uniform cleaned
Cons
no room for advancement if you are older and black
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay and hours vary
Banquet Captain (Current Employee) –  Valencia, CA20 August 2018
This Hyatt is the lowest paying banquet, and hours are being cut by new management. Was a fun place to work, now not paying the bills. I am looking for a second job to help cause I am here for advancement.
Pros
Free meals served twice a day
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for the right person
Banquet/Beverage Captain (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD13 October 2017
Great job to meet people from all around the world. A very well respected name hotel with much to offer to both guests and employees. If "challenge" is your thing...this is a great place for you to work.
Pros
Free lunch, free rooms at any Hyatt worldwide
Cons
Schedules can be hectic with day & night shifts in Banquets
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it seems to be
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CA 9264812 December 2016
The staff is great and their manner of operations is outstanding, there is a negative atmosphere between employees and management in preference. Some are reprimanded others are not for the same questionable actions made by staff. This issue with in the department keeps moving forward. Reprimand is made for whom ever speaks out to management on the issues on hand in the departmentl
Pros
great staff
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at two locations 25 years apart
Banquet Captain/new employee trainer (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NY 1460412 May 2016
Loved working at LAX Hyatt & Rochester Hyatt. Great company, great people and an incredible job experience for a career in Customer Service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA11 April 2016
everyday is something new, never a dull moment. able to meet new people and help out all the time. coworkers made the environment a great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Banquet Captain (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NM9 March 2015
Great place to work, Hyatt was always for their employees. never fell left without leadership or direction. Thankful for all I learned in hospitality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional atmosphere
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  CA30 December 2014
typical banquet facilities that has many cultural and llearning posiblities. Many differences between management in job deverse and execution styles, Management promised and didn't deliver on the promisse. Most area missed of the job is the employee family atmosphere.
Pros
job experience, salary
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Banquet Captain (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA4 June 2014
I've enjoyed all of my years at Hyatt.

Flexible Schedule
$1 dollar Lunch
Nice co-workers
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Re-model lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SC10 April 2014
LOVED this job! everyday was a party! i worked in banquets and we set up for all types of parties.served them and cleaned up after. best job ever!
Pros
employee cafeteria
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to gain experience
Banquet/Banquet Beverage Captain (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, Florida20 January 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is the guests. However, the Food and Beverage management team doesn't work together; creating confusion and chaos in the department. The GM of the hotel is amazing; catering, rooms, and sales are great departments to work for and offer the "Hyatt" work environment. Benefits are great; cheap insurance, sick and vacation days, plus free hotel nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Clearwater Beach, FL30 January 2013
The best hopitality company with great benefits. The managment and co-workers all work together to make sure every guest its satisfied
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

See more Hyatt reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hyatt. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 8,777 reviews
54.2K
42.5K
31.3K
2387
1397

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture