Insomnia Coffee Company
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Insomnia Coffee Company Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.4Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 34 reviews matching the searchSee all 42 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fun workplace with flexible shifts

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
It's a fun and busy place to work with a focus on coffee and customer service. Working hours are reasonable - some early starts but no late evenings. Sometimes have to work a cover shift and this can be frustrating when you have plans.

Pros

Free lunch and free beverages

Cons

rostering can be a bit inconsistent at times
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Busy and tiring

Started off early 2020 it was great, nice hours and staff really nice. Didn’t work for 5 months due to Covid even though the cafe was open. They didn’t call me at all and wouldn’t tell me when I could get my job back. It was all very vague and unsure. We hired another staff member for our busy season and they are unreliable and not showing up for shifts. You are left alone to deal with this while serving customers and making coffee and cleaning and expected to cover shifts without being asked beforehand if this suits you. Rosters are changed frequently without being asked, leaving you unable to make plans and appointments in case you’re made work. A lot of responsibilities are placed on workers that aren’t supervisors or managers, no extra pay for doing more work. The work itself is hard and tiring and can get very stressful when busy while you are expected to keep everything clean. Management is unorganized and there is no help from higher management from what I can see. The hours are fine, very early mornings but closes at 5. Some days you work 10 hour shifts and only get 30 minutes break at MOST. Some days it’s too busy and understaffed you cannot take a break and work 9/10 hours without stopping. If you need a part time job just to get by it’s fine but would not recommend full time work. Free lunch and coffees which is good. Overall, it’s fine if you need a job to get by but full time work is hard and a lot expected of you for minimum wage.

Pros

Free lunch and coffee, closes early enough

Cons

Long shifts, short to no breaks, bad management and frequent roster changes
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not fair

I left this job as I wasn’t been giving enough hours. A week after leaving they’re advertising this position for 2 new employees. They never encouraged me to stay or offered me more hours. Every time I needed to contact HR nobody would answer. I never got my requested days off the first or second time I requested them. Overall I feel as though the management is very unfair. If you’re content with working for a low price, not being treated fairly and having your efforts go unnoticed then this job is perfect for you.

Pros

Customers

Cons

Everything else mainly management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Family

Family,friendly, fun, helpful, kind,love working in Insomnia because I am a people person. Money could be more for what I do but then again money isn't everything, happiness is. 😊

Pros

Free lunch and coffee

Cons

Money
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Treat staff awfully

I worked there for 6 months. I was given anything between 6 to 10 hour shifts 6 days a week. I was paid 300 and never paid for overtime. I have a 3 year old daughter who has health issues and my job was threatened because I couldn’t come to work as she had a bad turn and I needed to take her to hospital. My shifts were CONSTANTLY changed without notice the most notice I’d get would be around 6 hours. It’s not a job I enjoyed.

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Such a Place to Work

It's an amazing place to work. Wonderful environment and staff. The company provides proper training and the manager makes you feel comfortable and aslo helps you a lot!
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive and Fun work place

I enjoyed working at Insomnia Coffee Company in Shannon, County Clare. The staff and management were fantastic and the atmosphere was always high. My reason for leaving insomnia was simply due to the salary as I was only available to do weekends. Any after college hours did not suit at the time resulting in me relocating jobs. I would very happily work in Insomnia Shannon again given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Busy and fun company

My time at insomnia was possibly my most enjoyable. The co workers along with the manager where all so lovely. The job itself was really fun to carry out as it made us interact with the customers.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive and fun workplace

Great place to work with great career progression opportunities within the company. Supervisory pay could be better due to the extra workload and responsibilities but other than that its a great place and company to work for.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Ups and Downs

My colleagues were great people but the head management is out of touch with the staff with a high staff turn over as they don't care about competitive salaries from over companies. Also depending on what shop you work in the manager can make the job horrible without repercussions
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Insomnia

I really enjoyed working with insomnia its a great company and even the staff and customers are so friendly and so kind, i am a people person who gets on with everyone i have get customer skills. I learned how to make coffee such as lattes, flat whites and i was showning how to do order froms and stock taking.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fun and Professional

Very fun environment to work in. Flexible with hours once you give notice to your Manager, Head Office are very approachable if you need to talk to them about any matter.

Pros

Free Lunches, Flexible working hours, Fun working environment

Cons

Hourly rate is the only negative
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Nice environment.

The coffee its quite nice and the job it's not too bad even s it's not easy sometimes bear annoying and spoiled costumers with childish manners. The management was good and the staff friendly; the company sometimes lacked in organization but nothing too heavy. It's been a good experience overall; It's a good job to keep for one or two years.

Pros

Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we would like the opportunity to speak with you to discuss your feedback, both positive and negative in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Buena manager de tienda

Fue una experiencia muy enriquecedora gracias a mis compañeros y mi manager.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Poor management

Poor management leadership and no career progression. A place for getting buy while you are in college. fast-paced Lack of workplace culture and value.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your past poor experience while working with Insomnia. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Streesfull, bad supervisor , bad manager.

Stresful , bad supervisor behaivor. paper company policies look good, but in practice supervisors do not fulfill their task of motivating and training staff in a good way, they treat employees badly, threaten them to lose their job but do what they are asked to do generating stress and fear of being fired, they make fun of the employee for their difference in culture and if you do not speak English perfectly they treat you badly although there are many students and foreigners working with them, I think the company does not know that this happens since the managers take care that it does not reach the ears of the company meanwhile the supervisors are in charge of doing psychological work so that the employee gets tired and leaves the company or seeks to be transferred to another store.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia in the past. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

fast paced but can be fun

working for insomnia you see people at there best and there worst, some people can be a bit hard to deal with before there morning coffee HOWEVER you will definitely make friends in the role both with staff and customers alike

Pros

Coffee

Cons

can be very busy
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Okay at best

Work days were busy, definitely a hard job to have if you're a full time student as the work expects you to be flexible. Management was nice but not always so understanding when you needed a change in shift hours because of college. Pay was good and always on time. Some drama between co-workers which could make work environment uncomfortable. Definitely got treated with less respect because I was the youngest and still.in college. Didn't ge T trained on some things other baristas could do like close the till and opening on my own because I was just "Part Time". Looked down on for being part time yet the hours I was given were not even close to being part time. Be ready to work on your feet for 11 and a half hours more than once a week.the
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia in the past. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Interactive and fun

It's was fun to work there's , company was nice with staff , I learn there's how to make a coffee and how to work with different people and how to be flexible .
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear that you have had a positive experience while working with Insomnia in the past. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

great workplace

Great workplace, nice team, good working conditions, career opportunities, a lot of smart and bright people to work with. very enjoyed my time there. great coffee also
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear that your experience with Insomnia was a positive one. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great company culture

Very demanding, challenging and at the same time rewarding environment. A place where people come first. Good pay, good work life balance, diverse and inclusive work place. Overall, great company to work for

Pros

free lunches, partially paid breaks, a lot of training provided

Cons

no cons
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company

28 January 2020
Hi There Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Insomnia Coffee Company. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7

Based on 42 reviews
5
14
4
13
3
6
2
5
1
4

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job security/advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture
  • Companies
  • Insomnia Coffee Company
  • Employee reviews