Insomnia Coffee Company
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Insomnia Coffee Company Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 31 reviews matching the search
See all 38 reviews
3.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My colleagues were great people but the head management is out of touch with the staff with a high staff turn over as they don't care about competitive salaries from over companies. Also depending on what shop you work in the manager can make the job horrible without repercussions
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Family,friendly, fun, helpful, kind,love working in Insomnia because I am a people person. Money could be more for what I do but then again money isn't everything, happiness is. 😊
Pros
Free lunch and coffee
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?
1.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked there for 6 months. I was given anything between 6 to 10 hour shifts 6 days a week. I was paid 300 and never paid for overtime. I have a 3 year old daughter who has health issues and my job was threatened because I couldn’t come to work as she had a bad turn and I needed to take her to hospital. My shifts were CONSTANTLY changed without notice the most notice I’d get would be around 6 hours. It’s not a job I enjoyed.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It's an amazing place to work. Wonderful environment and staff. The company provides proper training and the manager makes you feel comfortable and aslo helps you a lot!
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed working at Insomnia Coffee Company in Shannon, County Clare. The staff and management were fantastic and the atmosphere was always high. My reason for leaving insomnia was simply due to the salary as I was only available to do weekends. Any after college hours did not suit at the time resulting in me relocating jobs. I would very happily work in Insomnia Shannon again given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My time at insomnia was possibly my most enjoyable. The co workers along with the manager where all so lovely. The job itself was really fun to carry out as it made us interact with the customers.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work with great career progression opportunities within the company. Supervisory pay could be better due to the extra workload and responsibilities but other than that its a great place and company to work for.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
4.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I really enjoyed working with insomnia its a great company and even the staff and customers are so friendly and so kind, i am a people person who gets on with everyone i have get customer skills. I learned how to make coffee such as lattes, flat whites and i was showning how to do order froms and stock taking.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very fun environment to work in. Flexible with hours once you give notice to your Manager, Head Office are very approachable if you need to talk to them about any matter.
Pros
Free Lunches, Flexible working hours, Fun working environment
Cons
Hourly rate is the only negative
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Insomnia Coffee Company?
4.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The coffee its quite nice and the job it's not too bad even s it's not easy sometimes bear annoying and spoiled costumers with childish manners. The management was good and the staff friendly; the company sometimes lacked in organization but nothing too heavy. It's been a good experience overall; It's a good job to keep for one or two years.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we would like the opportunity to speak with you to discuss your feedback, both positive and negative in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
4.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Fue una experiencia muy enriquecedora gracias a mis compañeros y mi manager.
Was this review helpful?
1.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Poor management leadership and no career progression. A place for getting buy while you are in college. fast-paced Lack of workplace culture and value.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your past poor experience while working with Insomnia. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
3.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Stresful , bad supervisor behaivor. paper company policies look good, but in practice supervisors do not fulfill their task of motivating and training staff in a good way, they treat employees badly, threaten them to lose their job but do what they are asked to do generating stress and fear of being fired, they make fun of the employee for their difference in culture and if you do not speak English perfectly they treat you badly although there are many students and foreigners working with them, I think the company does not know that this happens since the managers take care that it does not reach the ears of the company meanwhile the supervisors are in charge of doing psychological work so that the employee gets tired and leaves the company or seeks to be transferred to another store.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia in the past. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
4.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
working for insomnia you see people at there best and there worst, some people can be a bit hard to deal with before there morning coffee HOWEVER you will definitely make friends in the role both with staff and customers alike
Pros
Coffee
Cons
can be very busy
Was this review helpful?
3.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Work days were busy, definitely a hard job to have if you're a full time student as the work expects you to be flexible. Management was nice but not always so understanding when you needed a change in shift hours because of college. Pay was good and always on time. Some drama between co-workers which could make work environment uncomfortable. Definitely got treated with less respect because I was the youngest and still.in college. Didn't ge T trained on some things other baristas could do like close the till and opening on my own because I was just "Part Time". Looked down on for being part time yet the hours I was given were not even close to being part time. Be ready to work on your feet for 11 and a half hours more than once a week.the
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia in the past. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie
4.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It's was fun to work there's , company was nice with staff , I learn there's how to make a coffee and how to work with different people and how to be flexible .
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear that you have had a positive experience while working with Insomnia in the past. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great workplace, nice team, good working conditions, career opportunities, a lot of smart and bright people to work with. very enjoyed my time there. great coffee also
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear that your experience with Insomnia was a positive one. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very demanding, challenging and at the same time rewarding environment. A place where people come first. Good pay, good work life balance, diverse and inclusive work place. Overall, great company to work for
Pros
free lunches, partially paid breaks, a lot of training provided
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020
Hi There Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie
2.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Woudnt recommend to work here . The management was just terrible, when I called in sick once when I was genuinely having a huge fever, the manager expected me come in or find anyone else to work instead, which is not even my job.
Pros
Tips
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?
4.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
in general a great place to work, I am part of a lovely team, free lunch and coffee on shift. Some days can be long hours and weekend work is required, which is the only downside
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?
1.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked 4 years here and staff are treated horribly. They expect so much for minimum wage. I worked as a supervisor and the pay is 10.80 which is very low *STAY AWAY FROM SANDYFORD* the staff are not friendly and are extremely rude to you
Pros
Free food after 6 months
Cons
Management don’t care
Was this review helpful?