Play YouTube video button
Insomnia Coffee Company

Insomnia Coffee Company Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Café Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Charleville, County Cork12 January 2020
Great place to work with great career progression opportunities within the company. Supervisory pay could be better due to the extra workload and responsibilities but other than that its a great place and company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insomnia
Barista and Waitress (Former Employee) –  Lucan, County Dublin6 January 2020
I really enjoyed working with insomnia its a great company and even the staff and customers are so friendly and so kind, i am a people person who gets on with everyone i have get customer skills.

I learned how to make coffee such as lattes, flat whites and i was showning how to do order froms and stock taking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Professional
Barista / Trainee Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dublin18 December 2019
Very fun environment to work in. Flexible with hours once you give notice to your Manager, Head Office are very approachable if you need to talk to them about any matter.
Pros
Free Lunches, Flexible working hours, Fun working environment
Cons
Hourly rate is the only negative
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment.
Barista (Former Employee) –  County Galway25 November 2019
The coffee its quite nice and the job it's not too bad even s it's not easy sometimes bear annoying and spoiled costumers with childish manners.
The management was good and the staff friendly; the company sometimes lacked in organization but nothing too heavy. It's been a good experience overall; It's a good job to keep for one or two years.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review, we would like the opportunity to speak with you to discuss your feedback, both positive and negative in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena manager de tienda
Barista (Former Employee) –  Galway14 November 2019
Fue una experiencia muy enriquecedora gracias a mis compañeros y mi manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Galway14 November 2019
Poor management leadership and no career progression.
A place for getting buy while you are in college.
fast-paced
Lack of workplace culture and value.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

I’m sorry to read about your past poor experience while working with Insomnia. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Streesfull, bad supervisor , bad manager.
Barista . Customer service (Current Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin8 November 2019
Stresful , bad supervisor behaivor.

paper company policies look good, but in practice supervisors do not fulfill their task of motivating and training staff in a good way, they treat employees badly, threaten them to lose their job but do what they are asked to do generating stress and fear of being fired, they make fun of the employee for their difference in culture and if you do not speak English perfectly they treat you badly although there are many students and foreigners working with them, I think the company does not know that this happens since the managers take care that it does not reach the ears of the company meanwhile the supervisors are in charge of doing psychological work so that the employee gets tired and leaves the company or seeks to be transferred to another store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia in the past. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay at best
Barista (Former Employee) –  Dublin9 September 2019
Work days were busy, definitely a hard job to have if you're a full time student as the work expects you to be flexible. Management was nice but not always so understanding when you needed a change in shift hours because of college. Pay was good and always on time. Some drama between co-workers which could make work environment uncomfortable. Definitely got treated with less respect because I was the youngest and still.in college. Didn't ge
T trained on some things other baristas could do like close the till and opening on my own because I was just "Part Time". Looked down on for being part time yet the hours I was given were not even close to being part time. Be ready to work on your feet for 11 and a half hours more than once a week.the
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

I’m sorry to read about your poor experience while working with Insomnia in the past. I’d like an opportunity to chat to you about your experience and see if there are ways that we can further improve. Please get in touch and let us know the best way to reach you: internalcareers@insomnia.ie

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  Dublin7 September 2019
It's was fun to work there's , company was nice with staff , I learn there's how to make a coffee and how to work with different people and how to be flexible .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear that you have had a positive experience while working with Insomnia in the past. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin26 August 2019
Great workplace, nice team, good working conditions, career opportunities, a lot of smart and bright people to work with. very enjoyed my time there. great coffee also
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear that your experience with Insomnia was a positive one. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cork18 July 2019
Very demanding, challenging and at the same time rewarding environment. A place where people come first. Good pay, good work life balance, diverse and inclusive work place. Overall, great company to work for
Pros
free lunches, partially paid breaks, a lot of training provided
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Official response from Insomnia Coffee Company
28 January 2020

Hi There


Thanks for your review, we’re delighted to hear such positive feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our business. If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, could you get in touch via email and we’ll give you a call? Thanks, internalcareers@insomnia.ie

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Barista (Former Employee) –  Dublin25 April 2019
Woudnt recommend to work here .
The management was just terrible, when I called in sick once when I was genuinely having a huge fever, the manager expected me come in or find anyone else to work instead, which is not even my job.
Pros
Tips
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Barista (Current Employee) –  Dublin20 December 2018
in general a great place to work, I am part of a lovely team, free lunch and coffee on shift. Some days can be long hours and weekend work is required, which is the only downside
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, bad place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dublin8 December 2018
Worked 4 years here and staff are treated horribly. They expect so much for minimum wage. I worked as a supervisor and the pay is 10.80 which is very low

*STAY AWAY FROM SANDYFORD* the staff are not friendly and are extremely rude to you
Pros
Free food after 6 months
Cons
Management don’t care
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contrary
Barista/ waitress/ keyholder (Former Employee) –  Limerick29 August 2018
Not only did the assistant manager ignore when approached about issues but also played a part in getting my job terminated mainly because the now supervisor is her brother in law. Sabotage all the way. Also they conducted interviews for my replacement while I still worked there. Supervisor is a narcissist full of self entitlement. Don't waste your time on this place. Honestly.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
All of the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unhappy and dull
barista (Former Employee) –  Mulhuddart, County Dublin16 June 2018
A typical day was busy or lonely. I am happy with the skills i have learned and will happily present these skills elsewhere as i was unhappy here. I just hope the manager is nice to the next recruitment because she was not to me and to the other candidates before me.
Pros
discounts
Cons
lonely closing
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training, good working atmosphere
Barista (Current Employee) –  Dublin11 March 2018
Good company to work for. They differ from the usual retail jobs in that they give you very comprehensive training, they provide a free meal and unlimited hot drinks on shift, and pay part of your break time. You also get a small premium for Sunday work. They also pay above minimum wage, which is rare for a retail company. You're given plenty of freedom to resolve customer issues, in that you don't need managerial approval to replace a drink or food item if a customer is unhappy - it's fantastic to have the ability to be able to resolve issues by yourself.

My own colleagues are good to work with, fun and friendly people so it's a good working environment for me. Hours are decent, almost always full time with the ability to pick up shifts in other stores if you need more hours.
Pros
Free lunch, paid breaks, free drinks, good training.
Cons
Some shifts are short which can be a pain when you want more hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barista
Barista (Former Employee) –  Dublin14 January 2018
Worked as part of a catering team to serve customers food and beverages. Evolved teamwork and communication skills through interacting with the public.
Pros
Complenetary food and snacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
Barista (Former Employee) –  Dublin18 September 2017
I didn't get enough hours and was bullied by a co-worker and a manager. The wage wasn't great either. I was not paid correctly on numerous occasions with hours missing.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long days, not enough hours, not being paid correctly/on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training, but not a job for life.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Dublin11 June 2017
While the company makes sure you are trained very well, I feel they are lacking in certain areas.
You will often be asked to work long hours, and head office will rarely notice or appreciate if you go out of your way to help out and better the company.
It´s a good place to get started no doubt about it, but be ready to move on after a while.
Pros
Good training and experience.
Cons
Ruled by head office who only contact you with complaints or problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report