Irish Defence Forces Employee Reviews

Found 87 reviews matching the search See all 97 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job.Good training,good lifestyle
Private, (Current Employee) –  County Cork5 August 2019
My life in the defence forces has been brilliant. Time to move on as unfortunately the salary is not sustainable. The training is very good within the defence forces and courses to up skill are brilliant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Corcaigh, County Cork3 August 2019
I worked in the Irish Defence forces for many years,i did a number of overseas trips as that was the only way to make some money. The job has changed over the years with pay cuts and contracts being changed to to where it was no longer a career but just a job,long hours and always being sent away from home and poor pay is now the reason for many soldiers leaving the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic experence
the rank of Leading Commop (Former Employee) –  Cork23 July 2019
I served in various units within the defence forces and I found to be an amazing experence and one that will live with me for ever and i recommend it to any young person for a good grounding in life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs to change
Fitter (Current Employee) –  Cork11 June 2019
It's just gone to South... Bad wages. Sub and duty pay takes months to get into your hand. Harassment from up the chain for lack of work being done even though some units are down to half their manpower. I loved my job but I need to earn a living aswell
Pros
Friends and memories
Cons
Where to start
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Sergent (Current Employee) –  Cork30 April 2019
It's not just about the low pay anymore. The camaraderie has disappeared since the introduction of the very non transparent promotion competition. Management are a laughing stock on a different planet . The treatment on a daily basis is appalling. Bullying and harrassment is witnesses on a daily basis & if you stand up to them, they get you another way. It was once a great place, experience and knowledge are gone. Hwy dont want to know.There's been serious accidents..all covered up but there'll be a fatality before anything is done.
Pros
Near home
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the money for the way your treated
Soldier (Current Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath28 March 2019
Bad wages for what we're expected to do. Might be told your going away for a week to wicklow the morning of. Unsociable hours. 24hr duty for €20 ridiculous state is making a laugh out of us
Pros
A lot of time off
Cons
Wages, unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied and interesting
Manager (Current Employee) –  Cork11 March 2019
No two days are the same. There is a significant amount of autonomy given to managers but coupled with that is an expectation to deliver. Continued personnel development is expects and encouraged.
Pros
Job variety and satisfaction
Cons
Worklife balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Limerick6 March 2019
Very good if interested in traveling abroad overseas great team work lots of help great discipline and life skills secure weekly pay also a lot of great opportunity to do outside courses over all good
Pros
Free lunch accomidation living in
Cons
365 7 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ex nco
project manager, supply chain & fleet manager, (Former Employee) –  Cork22 February 2019
Lots of managers not a lot of leaders. The defence forces does not follow it's own values. You will have to fight for places on courses that you want and could be waiting years to get the course you wanted.
Pros
Friends
Cons
Respect for members
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RDF - Enjoyable Experience
Corporal (Former Employee) –  Cork/Waterford6 February 2019
I developed my communication skills and leadership skills. I improved my navigation skills and I enjoyed all my tactical training. I was part of the RDF which is only a glimpse of the Defence Forces, not a full picture as a full time career.
Pros
friends for life
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Dublin21 January 2019
8am-4.30pm
parades, roll call, training, courses, revision, duties, manual handling,
lunch, dinner, weapons training, skills and tactical training....
Pros
contract
Cons
low pay cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont care about you or your family
Soldier (Current Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath7 December 2018
A job that is going downhill and will drag you with it.. its managed by people who have no idea about the real day to day work and struggles of a normal soldier and only care about appearances
Pros
Free healthcare and dentist
Cons
Time away from home, bad pay, no over time pay, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Irish defence forces (Former Employee) –  Cork22 November 2018
Good place to work never had any problem with this place of work good opportunity for success and achievement and to fulfil potential and travel to many places
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Career
CQMS Logistivs officer (Former Employee) –  Dublin12 November 2018
After forty years I must say I had an enjoyable career in the Defence forces. Plenty of opportunities for career advancement and overseas travel. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a career
Pros
Career advancement opportunities
Cons
Unsocial hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reserve Defence Forces
member of the Reserve (Former Employee) –  Limerick1 November 2018
The Defence forces be it in the reserve or as a full time soldier is definetly one of the most difficult and underpaid jobs out there, its not exactly all bad as there are thing that make it worth it, the constant excitement of doing something new and above all the friends that you meet there are friends for life
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Soldier (Current Employee) –  Ireland6 October 2018
Don't join. Thankless poorly paid job. Long hours. Lot of bullying especially by some officers. They don't care for anyone except themselves and think they should be worshipped.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours. Bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never reccomend anyone to join
Sgt (Current Employee) –  Dublin18 September 2018
Stay away from this as a career. It's broken. I've 20 years completed and 6 missions overseas.
The government don't care about you.. the higher echelons don't care even more.
I've seen some good days and worked with great guys. But the past 10 years has been terrible. I was earning more money as a Cpl 15 years ago than now top scale Sgt. We haven't evolved into a modern force.. if anything we have devolved.
No funding. No leaders. No future. No vision.
If you like working 60 hr weeks with penny's for wages.. it's for you.
Do yourself a favour.. if you want to strengthen the nation and be proud of youself join the Gardai, prison service, fire service, ambulance service,
Because there's nothing to be proud of wearing this uniform any more..
Pros
Social welfare give you FIS on top of your pay.. which is nice
Cons
Look forward to 60 plus hrs with terrible pay, weekends away from family with work. Two 24hr duties a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Corporal (CPL) (Current Employee) –  Curragh Camp, County Kildare10 June 2018
Every day is different.
I recommend this job to everyone I meet. I think it should be compulsory as it has really made me what I am today. The bond you have with your teammates.
Pros
loads of areas to work in
Cons
long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 16Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale , high bullying factor, terrible wages
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Athlone, County Westmeath14 May 2018
Glad I joined to serve my country , had good times along with the bad but unfortunately the bad weighed heavily over all the good times.. bullying is terrible and abuse of power is widespread, the brass at the top of the ladder really hasn’t a clue of what the normal soldier goes through week to week
Pros
Free gym access
Cons
Too many to list to be honest
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Previously better
Electrical Artificer (Former Employee) –  Cork8 May 2018
The Defence Forces was a far better place to work in times gone by, with better contracts and benefits.

In recent years an unfair amount of commitment is expected for very little reward.

Though I gave the forces my best years I was fortunate to have some fantastic & life changing experiences. The latter years were more of a challenge and less palatable.

The current salary levels for whats expected rule it out as a possibility for most.
Pros
Fitness during work hours, health benefits, free doctor, life experiences & educational opportunities
Cons
Poor salary for expected commitment, modern contracts not appealing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Irish Defence Forces. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 97 reviews
539
421
313
27
117

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture