Lidl Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard work well
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  IE19 April 2018
The company really prioritises customer experience , The management are kind and well qualified , teamwork plays a huge part and success is usually expected
Pros
pay
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst nightmare that you could dream about
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Newbridge, County Kildare11 April 2018
Success of this company is based on a lie. You can't ask for anything but if you try then be prepared to meet a wall. This is perfect job only for young physically fit people without kids or even partner. Really easy to get injured when working especially in fruit & veg dept. Loads of straps, pallets, pieces of broken palles on the floor. If You will hit their targets they gonna always ask for more and more. Maybe stores is a different place.. Management cares only about numbers. You must ask even before goin to the toilet. And the last thing is You work really fast then You can get like 6 hours if not they will make a problems even to work those contracted ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glenageary, County Dublin26 March 2018
Timings are bit odd which doesn't suit me well. Secondly, it's very far from where I lived. Other than that every thing was alright. Lot of opportunities of carers progress ion into Lidl.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High responsibility and strong work ethic
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  IE4 March 2018
Working within Lidl requires a strong work ethic and passion to improve upon your strengths and develop your weaknesses. Lidl are keen for employees to assume responsibility and ownership of tasks. Key focus on achieving organisations KPIs is fundamental to success within the role
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money, hard work, no work life balance
Sales Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, Ireland26 February 2018
No one retires from Lidl. It's burn and churn management. The money is great. Leadership tends to be old and bitter or young and inexperienced. They make unwanted promotions and terminations frequently. Old boys club could be used to describe the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best in retail industry
Deputy Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin12 February 2018
A very good employer giving you the opportunity to work in a very fast environment, excellent training and excellent opportunity to develop professionally (staff management, stock and orders, team work, etc).
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary and benefits, no work-life balance
Deputy Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cork1 February 2018
If you are willing to put your life on hold and earn some good money this is the job for you!
Long hours at times unsociable, extremely physical workload in somewhat unrealistic time constraints
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work.
Store assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle West, County Limerick19 January 2018
Typical day at work is hard day. I have learned how to deal with customers to make them happy. Workplace culture is fine. THe hardest part ofo the job is to make customer happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dynamic environment
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin13 January 2018
Can be much better. sometimes is organisation of the job very low.
Very often you are splitted between tills and work on shop floor.
Sometimes must stay much longer after your shift after store closing because of cleaning and sorting and products separation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Regional Logistics Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Charleville, County Cork10 January 2018
Long hours
no Job security
poor culture
no support from management
no communication
no training
no Job support
learned very little
high staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly atmosphere, great team attitude
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tullamore, County Offaly6 January 2018
I have worked with Lidl Ireland for over 1 year and i really enjoyed my time working for the company. My day would usually consist of taking in orders and organising the warehouse upon delivery.
Pros
Great attitude in store
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way of thinking bad implementation
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Cork16 December 2017
Pays very good per hour but only managerial positions are on full time contract. Staff usually get a 10-30 hours contract. Starters on lower hours contract. Hours could vary from very short days to very long days. There could be very low hours one week and very high another. Gets unsocial able at times also no job security as most people can't make a living on 10-20 hours a weeks.

As much as it looks like they have a good system for training out of a few day not much training provided. New staff almost immediately expected to hit same targets as staff who are there for years. Staff are expected to follow strict guidelines but none is trained enough to know what they are exactly.

The targets are reachable but in an ideal world's ideal scenarios but as we don't live in an ideal world it makes them borderline unrealistic therefore most days things fall behind or done quantity over quality way.

Staff are good even management only few exceptions can't really complain about them but it seems like due to targets set on the edge of possibility you can get told off anytime for something. It seems that Management as it goes down from top to bottom everyone tells off everyone and no appraisals given which seems to be Lidl's culture in Ireland.

I think its great that you work harder and in faster pace while you have to watch quality and customer service as well but due to the above culture it gets out of hand and causes to much stress.
Advise for top management don't forget pushing for the extra income in short term could cause loss in the long run. Give lieu way for unforeseen
  more... events. Staff should have proper training on daily routine tasks that's could speed up things. It seems like good ideas have bad implementation and every blames everyone.  less
Pros
Salary, people are nice
Cons
Lack of training, stress, lack of appraisal
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Side. CORK11 December 2017
No work life balance
No shift rotation including weekends therefore no life.

Management are on another level talking down to employees.

If your not management you wont be involved in anything, even conversations.

You would work a 10 hour shift and after starting your shift an hour later you are sent on break leaving you 8 to 9 hours without a break and food.

Higher management do not care no point in complaining.

Constantly breaking legal requirements eg. an 11 to 12 hour gap between shifts.

Often found myself working 10 days in a row.

Do not dare ask a question as you will recieve abuse.

No training given to new staff.

Building and moving tables, shelves, heavy items and stock in and of warehouses and freezers etc. That could be twice the average persons bodyweight. No health and safety.

My first 3 months were ok my last 9 to 10 months were a nightmare.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, Bad management, No shift rotation, awful treatment by management, no life at all I never seen my kid or partner, No consideration for staff, all around bad place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tipperary30 September 2017
I worked for LIDL and here are my observations:

Little to no relevant training is provided!

Everything is rushed from the day you start and it does not matter to management that you are new to the job, you are expected to be the same speed at everything as the people in the job ten years.

In the store I worked the management style was laissez faire; little to no direction or communication. One of the worst managers I have ever worked for or observed in any field!

I found that people working in the job had become robots who could only converse about LIDL life and not about much else. I guess that is the effect of such a regimented workplace!
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Monthly pay, unsociable hours, horrible culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Supermarket operator (Former Employee) –  Dublin19 September 2017
good job,where i could doing different task,since restock,to salesman, it was a serious and a demanding company, i enjoyed worked there,
the bad side i think it´s clean, at the end of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Athy, County Kildare16 August 2017
very busy place of work, have fun everyday with different people.
i learned how to be friendly and care for peoples needs.
management not bad and it depends on what you mean by management
just that you have to be responsible for everything
people around you all time
Pros
you have to be responsible for your lunch
Cons
fight for hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No go!
Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Numerous27 July 2017
Left in 2012 after 3 years of torture. Still to this day I count this as the worst experience of my life. They push you beyond belief, to actual tears most days. Less then zero work life balance, could do 12 days in a row, no regard for law in this matter. I experienced very sly upper management, on occasion they would even blantanly lie to save their own nose; you spend most of the time defending yourself. Staff are to blame for everything, even though they work themself to the bone.
Pros
Zero
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely hard, draining, no life work balance
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Ireland20 July 2017
Very hard, extremely long hours, all managers are contracted for 48h and are often expect to commute long distances on top. Plus many work more off the clock. Culture is awful, there are small changes in right direction being attempted but not much real difference made, Most people are there for money only. Managers are put in golden handcuffs, being paid well, but with their confidence being crushed on a daily basis. Many of them are of foreign origin and dont have suffiecient language skills or education to seek good employment elsewhere, which perfectly suit the company.
After few years many of them become sick, back injuries are super common, no suprise when people work 12h shifts every day.
Pros
good wage and benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but rewarding
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Cork4 May 2017
Lidl is a great place to develop a retail knowledge. While it is an extremely tough job, it is also very rewarding. I have enjoyed my time with Lidl but now feel the need to look elsewhere to try establish a better work life balance.
Pros
salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pressure and unrealistic excpectations on store managment
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cork24 April 2017
not for everyone, store managment staff often frustrated due to pressure from higher managment. if one wants to move up it needs to deal with it. carrot is often offered but rarely delivered.
Pros
salary, i guess
Cons
no work life balance for store managment positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report