Mr Price Branded Bargains
2.5 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Mr Price Branded Bargains Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Ireland100 reviews

Ratings by category

2.5Work-life balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 100 reviews matching the searchSee all 105 reviews

Okay place to work

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I enjoyed working at mr p, unfortunately towards the end I was fed up of being left on tills alone all day with no one answering bell when called, most the staff sat out the back in there clique head office are a clique also tell you one thing when clearly lieing to your face, overall I enjoyed the workplace some days like any normal job I did dislike it,
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

28 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. As a company, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Mr.Price.

Absolute kip

Kip to work in management don't care about staff and is rarely in the shop, colleagues are all snakes and rats, toxic environment and pay is dreadful
Was this review helpful?

Bad pay for very difficult work, and little care for staff

This is a bad employer, with poor infrastructure and always finding ways to not look after staff. Due to low wages, but expecting such high levels of hard work they burn out staff in a short time, leaving most stores short of staff and even continuously having no management leading the teams in stores, then blaming staff for not reaching standers in these situations.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

28 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Fun to work for but has its cons

Great to work for but head office not so great, don't listen to you, delivery's pile in to you when there is no need for them, big stock loss needs to be looked at aswell
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

28 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. As a company, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Mr.Price.

Bad communication

Not enough communication between store Management and HR. Instead of working as a team, focusing on company progress and making it easier, they are arguing with each other. Not helping the Management team to progress as individuals.Easy to progress if you are good and you have a good Management team in-store. A good place to get experience. If you are lucky, you can meet a lot of very good people and enjoy time spend at work with them in-store.

Pros

Roster scheduled how you need if you have a good Manager

Cons

Salary, Head Office
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

28 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Accommodating but poor training and management

I joined mr price as a summer job whilst in university. Staff were friendly but there was a toxic atmosphere. The training I found to be extremely poor. They expected me to know things I was never told and this had negatively impacted my probation period and my relationship with management. I had only received formal training from management 4 MONTHS INTO MY EMPLOYMENT. As a result of this they failed me on probation and let me and a few others go. They got the busy periods like Christmas and back to school done and were happy to terminate young staff members on probation there after. Extremely poor communication from managementTo end on a positive note regular staff there was lovely and management had always payed on time and were accommodating in regards to college and time off.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

28 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Not good

Terrible company to work for. No organization in stores and no communication between store and HQ. Pay under standard minimum wage if you are under 20 and/or it's your first job. Terrible
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

17 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Unfair work place.

Not a nice place to work. management don’t know how to manage. bully staff. you are expected to take on supervisor work without the title or pay. very toxic.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

17 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Horrible to work for

No good at all horrible company to work for not appreciated no matter how much work you do work your backside off and don’t get anything more for it

Pros

None

Cons

Expected more for less pay not appreciate
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

17 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Productive with Management Support

The manager is very supportive and very patient to educate the new employees. Adequate training is provided. Nice place to work on. The shop location is situated where it is accessible to customers.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

15 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. As a company, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Mr.Price.

Stressful

Hours are long not treated with respect felt pushed out of my job which upset me as I liked the staff I worked with and was handy to get to. Job is ok for college and school wouldn't recommend for long term

Pros

Friendly staff

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

15 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Good place to work

Mr price is a good place to work. Always busy management are very supportive and always their to help. Would recommend to work here. Only thing is it's only 10.50 a hour for the work we do it should be more
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

15 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. As a company, we are delighted to hear that you are enjoying your time working at Mr.Price.

Fast pasted fun

I found the company good to work for, very helpful, can be very busy so if u don't like fast pasted environment work u would find it stressful. If u do the work and complete the tasks, it's fine.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

15 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. As a company, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Mr.Price.

Productive

Great place for work experience except your given little to no guidance, for me atleast, I didn’t learn as much as I could’ve, I was left to fend for myself and just walk around store aimlessly only skill I earned was dealing with customers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

15 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Poor pay and bad environment

I myself and many of my other colleagues who have since too expressed or unhappiness at being paid up to €3 less an hour than some of our other colleagues. This was not age based to the most part. We were pushed to work just as hard as those making a liveable wage and it was damaging for our mental health we believed. Management were also extremely rude and unhelpful. Was also consistently given way too many hours considering I am in full time education and then was treated poorly by management when I complained on multiple occasions- and I have heard that many people have this complaint. Rostering was consistently incorrect or impossible to attend on days rostered despite continuous complaints.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

15 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Bad management

The salary is very poor, the management is also very poor. Big staff turnover. There is an awful lot of favouritism. Heavy lifting involved. Okay for short term
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

16 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Horrible place to work, wouldn’t recommend

Underpayed staff for the work that gets done. Horrible Area manager and horrible key holder who had to stand in when there was no manager present for a month. Only in it for short term. Company doesn’t care about any staff, to them you are expendable and they can pay anyone else the minimum wage they give. As a person under 18 my wage is so bad 3 euro under the national minimum wage for doing the same work. Would never recommend.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

16 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Stressful underpaid and under appreciated

People are lovely , but the company itself have no clue , overworked and under staffed always . Breaks are long which is great but not paid for , shifts are stupid In for 5 o clock in the morning , makes no sense there till 11 at night sometimes , it's a shame because the staff are lovey and try there hardest

Pros

Long breaks

Cons

Ridiculous hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

16 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Stressful environment

Not enjoyable there was not much teamwork ,communication between staff was very stressful and unhelpful.low pay for a lot of work you do ,they change your work hours even if you have been on same for years..management of store was not qualified really and head office are no help only make problems.few people I met were nice .

Pros

None really

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

16 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. We have noted your feedback and if you wish to discuss further please email hrsupport@mrprice.ie.

Fun place to work Great people

Hi I woukd just like to say Mr price was a great place to work I loved working there I always put in a great shift unfortunately the pay was poor for the hours I had to be up at 4am in the morning shift starts at 5 and finishes at 2pm come the end of the week your shattered and drained and it's tough work aswell so the lay isn't great it dosnt match up to what it should for that type of work other than that it's great ace to work.

Pros

Sometimes free lunch 10% off on the shop

Cons

Long early starts low pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

8 February 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. As a company, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Mr.Price.

Not perfect, but great employer if you want to progress a career in retail.

The quality of managers and team leaders varies widely. If you're lucky enough to be in a store with an excellent manager, this can be an amazing place to work.Like most of retail, some staff with authority can be petty, especially if they are unskilled or uneducated. I found working with unmotivated and lazy sales assistants tiring - and unfortunately bad managers create bad teams. I had a horrible store manager, but was given the opportunity to work in other stores and with other teams, and I absolutely loved that. The Area Managers (Support Managers) I worked with were all awesome. The company promotes from within, so if you're looking to move up the chain, all you have to do is apply yourself and have an interest, and you can find yourself progressing very fast. This was definitely something I respected about the company.

Pros

Promotion opportunities.

Cons

Working alongside mindless or unmotivated young people.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Mr Price Branded Bargains

8 February 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Mr.Price. As a company, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Mr.Price.

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mr Price Branded Bargains. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 105 reviews

Ratings by category

2.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.0 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.5 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.4 out of 5 stars for Management
2.4 out of 5 stars for Culture
  • Companies
  • Mr Price Branded Bargains
  • Employee reviews