New Look Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search See all 1,597 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal
Dependienta (Former Employee) –  Cork, Irlanda.31 August 2019
if u are looking for something to get quick money just put it clothes in the right place and no talk with nobody at all, this is your place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management
Part time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Opera Lane, Cork11 August 2019
Management tend to come up the ranks without formal qualifications and it shows. Management are 1 clique so if 1 doesn’t like you, none do. If 1 manager leaves, they are replaced by a supervisor who isn’t trained, doesn’t have formal qualifications, or experience and this shows with the way staff are treated as they usually can’t cope and take the frustration out on staff. Shifts are badly organized and if you can’t do a ‘last minute’ request to come in, staff are told they are uncooperative & told they might not get their requested leave as a result. Most of the staff are really lovely and it would be a great place to work if professional management were recruited. The work is good, usual retail work.
Pros
Discount, fellow staff, city center location
Cons
Management, understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Blanchardstown, County Dublin15 June 2019
my typical day in new look would be merchandising the store and replenishing, and doing standards.
I learned everything I know from new look.
the hardest part about the job is tasking on a busy day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork Opera Lane16 February 2019
Very badly oraginised branch and would not recommend working here unless you enjoy getting your weeks rota not even a full day in advance. Which is illegal by the way. Wasn’t even properly trained in, was simply thrown onto the floor and told to work away with what I thought should be done. Also the management have a snarky air to them. Not a very nice environment to work in at all. Especially for students as they are very uncooperative about the excessive hours you have to work in which you are not contracted for (was contracted for 8 hours and ended up working up to 30.) This is obviously because nobody in management is willing to find someone else to work in the place full time. And for good reason too. The place is barely hanging by a thread.
Cons
Excessive amount of hours for students, lack of cooperation when asking for less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not enjoy my time working here.
Cashier & Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway14 January 2019
Most of the workers were not welcoming and had given me a hardtime adjusting to work the enviroment there, including suprivisers. Felt unwelcome at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great staff discount but poor work-life balance and frequency of payment.
Supervisor/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tipperary12 July 2018
A very fast-paced environment to work in
Great staff discount and got on very well with all staff
Various opportunities to advance within the company

However there is a poor work-home balance with rosters changing continuously making it hard to plan your home life. Often called in at the last minute also
Payed monthly which is also extremely hard to budget when you are on a small contract.
Pros
great staff discount
Cons
poor work-home balance, payed monthly, sometimes poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Navan, County Meath25 June 2018
Great place to work , enjoyed my short christmas staff role.
fellow staff members were always friendly and helpful.
if i was unable to work a certain shift it could be easily swapped for others.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
poor pay for under 18's
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
SALES ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Dundalk, County Louth26 February 2018
Great place to work as it is a friendly working environment
management in new look is great too everything is very organized and you are set tasks and goals every morning before starting your shift. I got the proper training before starting which was helpful
Pros
great colleagues organized management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for part-time/students.
Accessories Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dublin7 January 2018
good place to work, if looking part-time or a student etc, not good if wanting full time as its not available and will only work 4/5 days at 4/6hr shifts max. Unrealistic targets to meet by head office. Can grow easily within, only if you are fully flexible but. 50% discount for yourself and "1" other person. 25% family/friends vouchers available.
Pros
Room to grow if fully flexible. 50% discount for you and "1" other.
Cons
4hr shifts........ 6 at most.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ireland1 November 2017
HR are not helpful if you have a problem they will make it worse.

It's who you know rather than hiring the best people.

They will set you up to fail .
Pros
discount
Cons
underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ireland20 October 2017
Worked part time during school years! Management was good thrived to get the best from you, very fast paced company. Not much in house progression but fun to work
Pros
Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway10 October 2017
i enjoyed working for new look, the hours were long and it was very tiring on your feet all day. But you were kept busy on the floor and restocking etc
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere and nice people
Part-time retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin24 August 2017
I worked in New Look at Christmas and even during the stressful period of hustle and bustle. The workers were fun to work with, always keeping a positibe attitude and trying to reach their usual goals even when its harder to do during a busy period.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin4 August 2017
Treated very nicely. Nice company to work for. I worked in the shoe department, where i sorted the shoes in the right areas and took in the stock and put it on the shelves.
Pros
50% off discount
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard and unpleasant
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin16 July 2017
i used to love working in this shop, made so many friends and learned so much. However, since the company was bought and the hours were cut across the board it is a horrible place to work. Understaffed, overtasked and underpaid for the level of stress and harshness of some members of management. the lack of security within my shop means we the assistants have to follow and stop shoplifters whom often threaten and intimidate us. would not recommend anyone to work here unless the CEO's stop being so money hungry and actually give us some hours so we can run the shop in a way that makes sense!
Pros
50% off clothing
Cons
long shifts, horrible management, overworked, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork10 February 2017
Very good place to work, very nice people and a great working environment, I liked working out in the shop I didn't really like working in the stock room
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attitude
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galway31 January 2017
As well as being hard-working and reliable, I am also very happy to work on my own initiative. I have always enjoyed an excellent working relationship with my colleagues and team members in my career to date.
Pros
Friendly customers
Cons
Rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and lovely staff
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dublin11 November 2016
New look is a good place to work in but it can be very stressful when they don't have enough staff In , understaff is a big problem with new look it can be very stressful but I've always just got on with my work and tried my hardest
Pros
Getting discounts
Cons
Not having enough staff in
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hands on in a fast fashion pace business
sales manager (Current Employee) –  newlook opera lane cork8 May 2016
I enjoy been hands on and in newlook its a store the defiantly needs people that are hands on the needs to make quick commercial decisions to react to the current customer flow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin6 April 2016
its one of the best retail shop to work in so buzz go laugh good hours to work around your life and and full of sound people plus 50% off your cloths
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Look. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,597 reviews
5429
4485
3404
2147
1132

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture