River Island

River Island Employee Reviews

Found 89 reviews matching the search See all 1,498 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life revolves around work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Letterkenny, County Donegal6 July 2018
Rota comes out 2/3 days in advance - impossible to plan your life around work
Never two days off together so constant feeling of always working
Managment team not supportive at all - speak to staff like they don’t matter
Only get minimum wage if your over 20 - no increase in wage after length of service
Hard to work with managment to have holidays approved
Stupid returns policies that leave customers being horrible to you

Wouldn’t recommend unless working 1 - 2 days a week - not an ideal full time place to work
Pros
40% discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swords, County Dublin5 July 2018
Good commission and nice workers. Really builds your interacting and customer service skills and gives you the ability to be able to close deals. They never hoarded you with work and were always there to lend a helping hand.
Pros
None
Cons
Expected too much from employees and were never appreciative of effort
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job not great money whatsoever.
Level 2 (Former Employee) –  Ireland13 June 2018
It's an ok job however if you aim to save or progress, don't bother. The company pays terribly for a LOT of responsibility and what's expected of management and general staff compared to other retailers is just a joke for what they're all paid.
Pros
The discount, the people working there, 4 weeks holiday
Cons
Shift pattern can be all over the place if youre a manager, long nights and delivery shifts as well as weekends, Hard to work youre way up as thr company dont really pay well at all, No maternity/paternity leave, minimum sick pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and everchanging
DEPUTY MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Dublin7 June 2018
A typical day is usually extremely busy and never the same.
Continuous learning and upskilling keeps the team motivated and driven.
Excellent in line management and support through senior management and also between stores.
Enjoyable workplace culture as team are all very hands on and hardworking.
Hardest part of the job is the ever changing team and trying to retain staff.
Pros
staff discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin3 June 2018
At work i focus mainly on stock replenishment which involves taking certain stock from the stock room and bringing it out onto the floor as items on the floor are purchased. We also restock the stock room when a delivery comes in. We work in a team environment and the staff are friendly and welcoming. the hardest part of the job is getting used to the stock room as it is a vast area, and so it takes time to learn where everything is held. Management is usually helpful as well.
Cons
Not enough hours on offer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pressured
Senior Flagship Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  dublin9 May 2018
After working with the company for 12 years I have seen the culture change. It can be a very high pressured role with tight work dead lines due to lace of team members and managements refusal to recruit but still expect high standards and quick turn around.
Pros
clothing discount- even that is limited so could be better
Cons
high pressure - expectations can be unrealistic within time frame
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace fun environment
County Dublin (Former Employee) –  County Dublin9 May 2018
I really enjoyed working here it was a great experience and I got many opportunities to learn and improve my skill set. Typical day at work included helping customers and ensuring that the store was tidy.
Pros
Friendly employees
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place good people
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Crescent shopping center Limerick9 May 2018
I like working in River Island. Good people to work with. They are very helpful with hours from college and if i have anything on they have no problem in helping
Pros
short hours
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people, not good pay and not enough hours
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Dublin25 April 2018
At River Island, I learned many important skills. I learnt valuable customer service skills. Unfortunately, the money is not great and due to this staff turnover is high. Fantastic work colleagues and great discount.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appalling Workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin18 April 2018
Worked with River Island for just under 2 years.
Would not recommend this company to work for to anyone! Management is shocking, salary is ridiculously low and the way they treat their staff is appalling.
The only perk of the job would be the 40% discount but even at that, it is not worth it.
Moral is very low and staff turnover is extremely high as management could be quite the bullies!
Pros
Discount
Cons
Everything..
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time work
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ireland10 April 2018
Good people to work with and discount was a plus. The company do expect a lot considering they are paying minimum wage. I found it a good place to work while I was in college.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Experience overall
Sales Assistant and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Dublin28 March 2018
In the past two years i've worked for River Island, i have enjoyed my time there, i have been fully-trained in all areas including stockroom, tills, and the floor which includes footwear and fitting rooms. The work is rewarding as the customers are always really appreciative of the lengths our staff will go to give them the best customer service around. All in all, i've enjoyed working there and would recommend it to anyone starting out in retail.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin21 February 2018
It was fun just the hours were not good and the pay was awful the hardest part of the job was the long hours for bad pay and the most enjoyable part was the people i worked with and working with fashion.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressed
Part time (Current Employee) –  County Dublin8 February 2018
The trainings are very poor to begin with. 4 hrs shift on minimum wage. Monthly pay and some staff is unlikely to be helpful in any way. Feeling more like security working there then making actual sales. You get to learn raital in most chaotic way.
Pros
Free uniform
Cons
Wages, 4 hr shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin30 January 2018
I found river iseland to be a great working environment. The girls I worked with wore amazing at welcoming new team members and lending a helping at at getting new members settled.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and beneficial
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbridge, County Kildare17 January 2018
Excellent place to work, always kept busy and fantastic training provided. Gained a huge amount of experience and also was able to take on new challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great atmosphere and staff
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  County Kildare13 January 2018
Great training provided, managers were very friendly and helpful.
Fellow staff were all great team workers, helped eachother with tasks, etc.

Only downside of the job is the pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant manager fashion retail
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin city10 January 2018
Great store and company to work for. Fun enviroment l, fast moving and up to date with new fashion. At the time i found there development structure was still in need of development.
Pros
75% of uniform
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente lavorativo stimolante
manager marketing (Former Employee) –  dublino, irlanda18 December 2017
Un ambiente lavorativo che premia il lavoratore, tira fuori il meglio
Pros
trattamento personale ed economico
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work in
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Kilkenny28 November 2017
The managers aren't very patient overall, they do not train you very well in the things you're not familiar with. They do very short contracts and get rid of whoever they want whenever they want. All about security instead of sales, you end up feeling like you're there as a security guard rather than a sales adviser. Not enjoyable and no job satisfaction. Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report