South Dublin County Council

South Dublin County Council Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient
Housing Department Assistant (Former Employee) –  Housing Department8 January 2020
Supervisor explained my duties (which were relatively straightforward) really well and was always around to answer any of my questions. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company
General Operative (Current Employee) –  Tallaght, County Dublin10 December 2019
They dont respect there employees out in the field and treat them like dirt very low salary for the work that is done and management have no interest in helping improve conditions in there depots
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant and welcoming workplace
Office Assistant in Development (Former Employee) –  Tallaght, County Dublin26 February 2019
As I was a Transition Year student during this work experience placement, I was in need of guidance and aid during my time there. The staff were very willing to help me throughout the day and provided me with enough information in order for me to complete my tasks. The typical day at work was very diverse with many different tasks assigned which have helped gain and improve various skills.
Pros
Very helpful staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sdcc
Assistant stff officer (Grade 4) (Current Employee) –  Tallaght, County Dublin19 October 2018
In the 14 years that I have been working in South Dublin County Council I have gained a vast amount of experience within Local Government.
• Throughout my years in Land Use Planning & Transportation, Environment, Water & Climate Change and now in my current position in Housing. I have developed an appreciation of the importance of effective communications as well as strong interpersonal skills.
• I feel I have an understanding to the changes that are occurring in the public service in order to continue deliver quality services.
• I can adopt to change and am willing to learn new information and learn ways of improving our service. I have the ability to work within a team but also on my own initiative.
• I have vast experience with dealing with the members of the public and also Council Officials through our customer care system, over the phone and in person in relation to traffic queries and now public realm queries.
• From time to time I would have provided backup and support to my line manager in order to meet deadlines, achieve goals and tasks.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
long commute from Carlow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver , general Operative
Driver / general operative (Former Employee) –  Dublin8 January 2018
Can't fault the place absolutely loved my time there, the lads welcomed me on day one, pay was good, holidays and sick day provided was excellent, the training you do the more money you get
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sewage maintenance (Former Employee) –  Dublin30 September 2017
I really enjoyed the time i worked for this Council. I should of stayed in this council instead of leaving for another Local Authority. Pity i left this job.
Pros
Yes
Cons
Great overtime available
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
generally a good place to work.
Clerical Officer (Current Employee) –  Tallaght, County Dublin6 June 2017
Very nice people, too much nepotism, preventing the best people from getting ahead. not easy to get into, can be difficult to move up the ranks. Promotion is usually from within or another county council, never outside.
Pros
flexitime
Cons
pay is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experance
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Lucan, County Dublin12 May 2017
working for the council was a learning experience. This job though me about gardening and how to work as part of a large team and take take direction from a number of different supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver and General Maintenance and Environment
Driver/Labourer (Former Employee) –  dublin9 March 2017
Nice place to work
South Dublin County Council August 2014 — December 2016
Driver and General Maintenance and Environment
My responsability was hightway maintanance and driving the van.
Pros
nice
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Dublin13 April 2016
getting to meet new people everyday and being part of a great team, been here for more than 10 years, great opportunities t if you want to develop and attend training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying the gratitude of your foreman
General Operative & Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Tallaght, D29 July 2014
A typical day at work would be cutting grass, planting flowers, trees around South Dublin in all weather, I learned a lot about working around wildlife & plantlife, my management were a good group to work with, always teaching you, my co workers were also nice to me and to show me ways at doing my job, the most enjoyable part of the day was when people would come up to you and say your doing a beautiful job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family friendly employment
Assistant Officer, Housing Applications Department (Current Employee) –  Tallaght29 July 2014
9am-5pm
Various different departments
lots of varity
over 800 employees
flexiable
Pros
flexi time can be worked up
Cons
low salery
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experiences
Accountant Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tallaght, D1 July 2013
I was enjoyable to work in SDCC for 2 months. The management was very active and help me a lot in my experiences.
They have staff canteen.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more South Dublin County Council reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Dublin County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 15 reviews
57
46
31
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

South Dublin County Council Reviews by Location