Supervalu Ireland Employee Reviews for Shop Assistant

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 321 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin14 October 2019
Horrible place to work full time can get 10 hours one week or 40 the next no chance in been able to get rent or a mortgage through working here management are useless aswell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Moate8 July 2019
Managed extremely poorly. Hours are terrible. Mangers talk to you like children, no respect! No respect and no opportunity for long term staff.The pay is very bad. The turnover in staff is huge, for good reason. A lot of people leave due to anxiety over the way there spoken to each day. Save yourself.
Pros
Non
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine.
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mountbellew, County Galway14 June 2019
Take a minute to review Supervalu Ireland.
About your reviews:
NEVER included with your job applications
Posted anonymously on Indeed
Rate this company*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncaring managers
Shop Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Mayo9 March 2019
Very unorganised, there was no clear job duties etc.
The managers did not care and overtime was not paid ever.
I was on the aisles mainly.
Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  cork13 February 2019
its good. good pay. nice to meet people. Get to help many people. rewarding, nice to meet people from your local community. good people work here nice atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 15Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience placement 2017
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork3 November 2018
i enjoyed working here. the staff were always willing to give us a hand and teach us the requirements of working on the shop floor. overall i have found it a great experience and thankful for them taking me on for experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this place
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cobh, County Cork30 September 2018
I'm very interested to work with you I'm happy to work with SuperValu and want to work with people and help them be useful get active be alert I have a keen interest in the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotonous work
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kinsale, Co. Cork27 August 2018
Okay, its basically stacking shelves and its not difficult.

Biggest problem with this job is that you don't know when you will be asked to work from week to week. It can go from being asked to work overtime one week to being asked to only work something like 12 hours the following week. Pay rate would want to be very high for that not to be an issue.

Management seem to be trying to pick things up as they go along - they are often firefighting and quick to apportion blame when the smallest issue arises.
Pros
Nothing to speak of really
Cons
Haphazard style of management, unpredictable work hours, employees are intimidated into staying after hours if a certain manager hasn't inspected their work, employees are barely thanked for their contribution to the business
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and relaxed
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Mayo14 August 2018
friendly work environment. relaxed work environment. friendly staff, good relationship with colleagues able to work to a high standard enjoyable work life
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic working environment
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tramore, County Waterford1 July 2018
If you enjoy working with local people and dealing with local customers supervalu is great. The small wage is its only downfall, If supervalu offered the living wage it would certainly be a 5 star employer.
Pros
Helpful management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork25 June 2018
I had to help customers and stock the shelves. I was also in the stock room which I had to sort everything right. I learned new skills and it helped me gain experience
Pros
Could get my lunches in there
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work apart from work hours. not ideal.
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sligo15 May 2018
i had a love hate relationship with SuperValu. the store itself had its problems like any workplace. the work hours are not ideal, i.e. starting at 12.30 and finishing at 21.30, it left it difficult to do anything else but work!
the hours would be ideal for a college student at the weekend, but if you're an adult with a life, it can get very frustrating. you're literally dying for your next day off.
Work wise it is not stressful or strenuous, i enjoyed the work and my work colleagues, management in our store were always very obliging especially with holidays and days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not enjoy working here
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mountmellick, County Laois8 May 2018
I did not enjoy working here at all. There was a very dull atmosphere and the day was long, when I was working there I just wanted to be at home, I would never work there again
Pros
Customers
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervalu
Shop Assistant, Stock control, unloading trucks (Former Employee) –  Celbridge25 February 2018
Hi

I have to Once again that I would not like to recommended this company to anyone unless someone like to work for small amount on money for really bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace at the start
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clare4 January 2018
was a nice workplace at the beginning, after a while was being pulled and dragged to every department of the store which i was used to and didnt mind but was told id be getting a pay increase as i was doing a lot of jobs that a regular employee wouldnt do. kept being told id be getting the pay increase soon and it would be backdated. booked holidays off then 3 weeks in advanced, another member of staff had to leave and then my holidays i booked were forgotten about. gave notice soon after this
Pros
nill
Cons
wasnt payed after closing hours even tho we were made stay and finish it all off
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and positive
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork9 December 2017
Amazing place for work experience there always there for you if you have trouble and they always show you the positive side of the job it can also led to fun workplace
Pros
Long lunch
Cons
Must be always available
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Dublin, County Dublin4 August 2017
Productive workplace but on the other hand you can find yourself being left idle unless you have an assigned aile which is quite annoying and your day can become tedious
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful environment
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roscommon26 May 2017
I found the staff very friendly and easy to work with. they were on hand to help me with problems or questions I had about the work carried out. I enjoyed being on the till helping customers with their shopping. I found the shelf stacking quite easy to learn. I acquired great skills here working in this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Deansgrange, County Dublin21 May 2017
I thought that SuperValu was good for work experience because it helped me see what I would actually be doing if I were to get another job like this and it helped me out a lot with the communication with everyone in the workplace.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and challenging, but enjoyable
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manorhamilton, County Leitrim10 May 2017
The location in which I worked was very busy, and so, the day for me was very busy also. However, I enjoyed being busy and the hustle and bustle. It gave me the opportunity to meet a lot of new people and build up a lot of new skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Supervalu Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 321 reviews
5101
4101
363
231
125

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture