Supervalu Ireland Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 271 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervalu Kilbarry
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterford16 September 2019
Management very unreasonable.
No hours available.
Staff discount & Christmas bonus excellent
Colleagues like family
Holidays 4 wks a year
Own brand Excellent
Pros
Friends
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Baker (Former Employee) –  Westport, County Mayo1 September 2019
No training giving when starting. Expected to know what to do when not trained. The pay is shockingly bad to the job, it’s a very heavy work place for only minimum wage. Having to work during lunches and after finishing and not getting paid. But will be docked wages if late by only 1 minute. It’s 40 degrees in the stock room with no ac or drinking water throughout the store. The staff are all set into clicks and bully young new staff. Management will only stand up for the longest lasting staff members.
Pros
None
Cons
Bad wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The stores I worked for were very understaffed and not well managed
Bakery Operative, Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalkey, County Dublin22 August 2019
While we had staff managers refused to give existing staff the hours they needed and opted to hire more staff than the shop could handle. Leading to a lack of hours for full time staff.
The management skills of the store manager were very lacking and he felt a need to try intimidate staff by cutting hours and "miscalculating" pay
Cons
Hours. Pay. Training. Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad workplace
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lucan, County Dublin10 July 2019
I worked here for 10 months got the worst hours bad pay never put you full time give you hours like 2-10 3 times a week then 6-1 wouldn't go back they bully young people in SUPERVALU LUCAN wousnt work there if I was paid triple what I got
Pros
Nothing free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas temporary
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin West, County Dublin22 June 2019
Did christmas temporary staff and none of us were hired again after the week, we were some of the only ones left in on Christmas eve, younger staff members lovely but the older ones werent.Terrible hours no weekends off if you do get A JOB
Pros
good pay
Cons
terrible hours, dont hire again
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick17 June 2019
Good work place but could do with more staff benefits staff are discouraged to talk to each other in certain cases and the only benefits staff get are the bonus at Christmas time
Pros
Good understanding of staff circumstances
Cons
Low staff communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine.
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mountbellew, County Galway14 June 2019
Take a minute to review Supervalu Ireland.
About your reviews:
NEVER included with your job applications
Posted anonymously on Indeed
Rate this company*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently working here
Deli Assistant (Current Employee) –  Celbridge, County Kildare12 May 2019
The deli work here in SuperValu is great fun. The staff all around are friendly and are willing to help you if needed. You don’t get much benefits which is a down side.
Pros
Friendly staff good pay early enough finishes
Cons
No discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Till Operator (Former Employee) –  Dublin21 April 2019
you get paid really bad and you are treated like slaves. you get no free lunches, there is no staff and the management is horrible to younger staff members
Pros
there is none
Cons
long hours, bad pay, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only good for college students
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tipperary9 April 2019
Nice place to work however there are long hours (the worst shift is 11:45-10) where I work. The hours are different every week with a roster done only on a Thursday for the next week so you can never plan for events. Little or no chance of advancement with minimum wage the norm until you have completed 10 years work. Lunches/breaks are not paid. Made some great friends here though.
Pros
Nice people, easy work and small christmas bonus
Cons
Long hours, no staff discount, no paid breaks, no advancement, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product delivery
Van Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Wicklow19 March 2019
Multy drop deliverys of online shopping can be stressful trying to keep up with time slots. Otherwise can be enjoyable been your own boss on the road for most of the day
Pros
Been your own boss
Cons
Long hours.. Times lots salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable employees overall bad workplace
Floor Staff, Hygiene Personnel (Former Employee) –  Carrigaline, County Cork21 February 2019
In this job i was inexplicably let go as there was money problems in the store that we were not told about i was only given 4 days notice before being let go
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've ever had!
Retail assistant (Current Employee) –  Castletroy, County Limerick12 December 2018
Absolutely amazing environment. Started there in June and I couldn't be happier. Not only are the management great, my co-workers are some of the nicest people I've ever met. After a month of working there, I asked would it be possible to receive more hours, and not even a week later I got them. The benefits are great, my paycheck is great. Couldn't of asked for a better experience. 10/10 :)
Pros
Excellent management, great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
replenish hallways (Former Employee) –  Deansgrange, County Dublin2 November 2018
I was there just for the work experience and the place was good but wasn't a really well paid job I was working for a lot of hours and was a bored work.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for a part-time job.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin27 September 2018
Supervalu was ok for a part-time job. I enjoyed who I worked with but didnt find managment helpful and the wages were not liveable. Hours ect were fine.
Pros
Distance.
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic working environment
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tramore, County Waterford1 July 2018
If you enjoy working with local people and dealing with local customers supervalu is great. The small wage is its only downfall, If supervalu offered the living wage it would certainly be a 5 star employer.
Pros
Helpful management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervalu
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Killiney, County Dublin18 April 2018
Good place to work if your in college or school but terrible pay and no incentives to progress. Family atmosphere but can get tough to work for. Enjoyed my years there as it helped me on my feet during college but they pay is terrible and higher management like the owner aren't the nicest. Staff all nice include store managers I will always be thankful for the job and experience I gained with them.
Pros
Hours given to those who want them
Cons
Long hours, underpaid, overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SuperValu palmerstown
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin14 March 2018
SuperValu is a great place for a part time job for pocket money but as regards full time isn’t ideal as you don’t get paid much for the work you do if you wore running a family I’m young now and have no family and would like to get something better for long term
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervalu
Shop Assistant, Stock control, unloading trucks (Former Employee) –  Celbridge25 February 2018
Hi

I have to Once again that I would not like to recommended this company to anyone unless someone like to work for small amount on money for really bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace at the start
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clare4 January 2018
was a nice workplace at the beginning, after a while was being pulled and dragged to every department of the store which i was used to and didnt mind but was told id be getting a pay increase as i was doing a lot of jobs that a regular employee wouldnt do. kept being told id be getting the pay increase soon and it would be backdated. booked holidays off then 3 weeks in advanced, another member of staff had to leave and then my holidays i booked were forgotten about. gave notice soon after this
Pros
nill
Cons
wasnt payed after closing hours even tho we were made stay and finish it all off
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Supervalu Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 271 reviews
589
487
355
225
115

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture