Tesco Employee Reviews

Found 442 reviews matching the search See all 14,338 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable experience
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carrick-on-Suir, County Tipperary21 September 2019
Would not recommend working here as management in the majority of cases are out of their depth and dont have the skill set needed in a busy retail atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every little doesn't help
General assistant (Current Employee) –  Ireland21 September 2019
Stressful with limited staff with low pay and bad management, bad managerial decisions. Employees are far past a second thought with limited to zero advancements and will look after customers before staff and this can be seen in stores Nationwide. Terrible company.
Pros
Can be okay for students
Cons
Soul sucking atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Temporary Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  County Dublin19 September 2019
I had a temporary position, so I can´t say much...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough employers
Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Wicklow19 September 2019
Tough employers to work for demands on so little staff unrealistic .work life balance was ok 3 out of 4 weekends working depending on who done roster.Booking time off was hard but most of time got it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall pleasant workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick15 September 2019
I enjoyed my time with Tesco, banter among staff and engaging with customers etc.. my only issue was the management - the team leaders in particular. My store was quite small, so few staff on at a time and one team leader. When i began working, i received no training whatsoever. My first day on the job (having had NO prior experience in a busy shop) I was left on tills by myself. I had to teach myself everything. They didnt take this on board, and when i tried to communicate with them, they treated me like it was my fault and i was incompetent. They made me feel disregarded and silly. NOT A HEALTHY ENVIRONMENT FOR SOMEONE SENSITIVE/ ANXIOUS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Galway13 September 2019
Great workplace for advancement in career, great management and a wonderful work environment. A difficult job to manage with childcare due to late evening shifts and also you have to be fully flexible. No fixed rosters, flexible from week to week. Overall I loved my job and I was very sorry to have to depart the company, was just no longer suitable for me to work late evening and night shifts.
Pros
Great pay, great colleagues, great management
Cons
Full flexibility required, late evening shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bailieborough, County Cavan11 September 2019
If you minus the drama from certain people, it's a great place to work and grow, both as an individual and as a colleague from a general assistant to management there are many ways to go up the ladder and no shortage of help from management.
Pros
Discount for employees, 4 weeks paid leave plus more if you do overtime, fast advancement to new levels and training
Cons
Depending on the store: management, colleagues, attitude to work, level of help and training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pool table and Gym
General Operative, Goods In Support (Former Employee) –  Donabate10 September 2019
The in house training is good for someone with no experience. Lots of opportunity to get different jobs within the warehouse itself, eg loading trailer moving merchandising units
Pros
Gym
Cons
Very strict and sometimes unrealistic targets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Helpful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Monaghan8 September 2019
I worked in Tesco for my 4th Year work experience. My day at work consisted of unpacking the goods that were delivered to the shop and placing them on the shelf's. It was an enjoyable time as I had time to talk with the people at the workplace. If I didn't know were a product went, the workers were so helpful and did mind the help then "new guy". The atmosphere was great. Mostly I enjoyed interacting with the other workers and helping out the customers with product they needed to find as after a few days of work I knew were everything was.
Pros
Long breaks and great food at the canteen
Cons
Hard work as its a large store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disengaging and Negative Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin5 September 2019
This particular workplace was particularly stressful as shift allocation was never allocated as promised and availability was never considered and made at employees inconvenience
Pros
Early finishes
Cons
Little consideration for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterford5 September 2019
Would not recommend this company. Not a nice place to work. They say they care about their employees but they don't. People have worked in this company for majority of their working life and they get treated like dirt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful awful awfil
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin29 August 2019
Never again would I step foot into Tescos management is awful. Supervisors are awful. The place is badly run the hours are horrible. Its not even worth the money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Home delivery (Former Employee) –  Galway26 August 2019
The job itself is fine however the manager of the drivers has never done a days driving in her life and therefor has frightening unreal expectations.
Turn over is high, because after 3 months hours are cut n drivers randomly let go (Unless you are the old staff before her management)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was like working for family every body done tere work and got on well with each other i miss working for an environment that has those qualities
Warehouse Operative/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Dublin20 August 2019
I loved working with tesco I great with a team or on my own I loaded and unloaded for the four years I was tere I love a family owned company I feel I would be a perfect fit for the team if I get my chance I won't let use down thanks for asking look forward to getting a chance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Ballinasloe, County Galway16 August 2019
Have worked in tescos for 3 years and it has been a great experience. I have advanced from a general operate to a team leader. Management are easy to get along with and are always ready to listen
Pros
Privilege card
Cons
Working until 11pm and most weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterford16 August 2019
Management on your back every minute. Staff morale low. Staff vending machines broken for years. You're just a number in the end. Never ring in sick as they want every detail from you and they scrutinise your answer. Sick 2 days in a year and half and they had to put me on review for disciplinary action if it happened again. Best place to work? No they do a survey every year basically forcing what answers to use as they post them up around the back store. Wages for your effort are not worth it. Some managers one in particular is not the sharpest knife in the drawer asking his staff for advice and cursing about the customer when gone. Avoid
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Save yourself the hassle
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going busy workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bettystown, County Meath7 August 2019
Easy-going, fast-paced workplace with the ability to work on yoir own initiative. Ability to progress through the company to suit your needs and standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hopefully I will not be here too much longer
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cork28 July 2019
The managers are genuinely incompetent, some baffle me as to how they are in a job that deals with customers. I really hope that I am not working there by September
Pros
Workers are really nice
Cons
Management are terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sligo25 July 2019
Great place to work, managemnent were good, staff are very helpful and pay was great.
Only downside was job security.
Other than that it was great to work for the company
Pros
Good pay, good shifts, get along well with management and fun to work there
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Warehouse Executive (Current Employee) –  Dublin19 July 2019
Assisting in unloading delivery trucks and compare received products to packing lists to ensure that
deliveries are complete. Responsible for tracking deliveries and troubleshooting order issues with
suppliers.Organizing ,storing goods, cleaning the store,warehouse and parking lot, filling store
shelves, keeping complete records on warehouse operations and participating in inventory work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 14,338 reviews
54K
45K
33.5K
21.1K
1866

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture