Tesco Employee Reviews

Found 475 reviews matching the search See all 15,318 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst decision I ever made
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterford16 January 2020
Tesco has 2 faces. The face the public see and the face you as an employee see. They take "fully flexible" and truly use it as a weapon. If your seen as someone that rocks the boat even with a genuine reason. They will use this against you. The pay is ok. If you manage to stick around for 3 years to reach the pay cap. Keep in mind your hourly pay is offset as they only hire on 25 hour contracts. After 3 years they really try to make work as awkward as possible. It's cheaper the hire a new person so the same role on a new 25 hour contract on the lower pay rate. The way the company operated is a mess. There is no correct way of doing anything becuase managers and team leaders have different ways to do everything. This essentially means you are always making mistakes and they love pointing this out. Honestly avoid at all costs.
Pros
10% discount after 6 months.
Cons
Pay. Staff. Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dublin12 January 2020
Great place to work. always changes and new ways of working, opportunities to progress.


can work morning and evenings.

lots of training.


the most enjoyable part is meeting customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very fast paced.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mullingar, County Westmeath10 January 2020
I was on tills during the Christmas period for a lenght of three weeks. Training went on for four hours which I found could have been better having more training. It was very very very busy at all times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fulfilling.
Sales assistant and Technical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Liffey Valley Shopping Centre, County Dublin3 January 2020
I did technical support and assisting in sales on a daily basis. This jo b was fulfilling but at times was challenging. Over coming these challenging obstacles was important to a pleasant working experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Dublin16 December 2019
Great place to work would reccomend. All staff and managment friendly treated everyone with respect and dignity overall very enjoyable and flexible job with room to progression to team leader supervisor manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produvtive
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dublin13 December 2019
Nice people to work for. Managers very friendly and always helpful. the team i worked for were a good bunch of workers and never had any issues with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Dublin4 December 2019
Great place to work lads are very supportive and give you all the training you need you are never on your own no two days are ever the same if your hard working and the right attitude and get on with people this is the job for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cork2 December 2019
Loved working here, so friendly helpful great team work and brilliant staff , management was brilliant always on time when needed them, teamwork was always good and very relax environment 2 work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and clean job
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Donabate, County Dublin25 November 2019
Clean job with good facilities. Working at high speed and getting awarded well for working fast. Important communication skills to complete tasks correctly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbridge, County Kildare25 November 2019
Nice management, nice staff, warm and peaceful workplace. Getting a fully flexible working hours in Tesco you have a chance to make money and keep your lifestyle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Shop Assistant (work experience) (Former Employee) –  Dublin24 November 2019
It was a good place to do my work experience as the staff are very friendly and helped me when I was stuck. The management showed me what to in a very easy and simplistic way which helped me work easier
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Killarney, County Kerry22 November 2019
Unnecesary pressure from management. They are rude and have no idea how to organize the staff. They have no patience and are ill mannered, so that soon all the initial friendlyness evaporates and the real situation gets exposed: slave work, bad salary, constant pressure and employees working with dead eyes and bad mood.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Checkout Assistant (Former Employee) –  Finglas, County Dublin22 November 2019
I loved meeting and greeting with customers
Staff and management are nice ppl to work with
Great benefits with working with Tesco
Hours are flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Wexford18 November 2019
Great benefits while working for the company. Busy environment, good training provided.
Fast paced in my role. Allowed to make decisions based on my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its nice
TY Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Drogheda, County Louth16 November 2019
it was good yet it was only work experience i learned a lot of new things and I was a great team player.At first it was very new to me butility I got the hang of it and adapted very quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin16 November 2019
Nothing to say about this company only very unfair place to work in and they bully staff they dnt like.......................................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shame
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Donabate, County Dublin13 November 2019
Very bad place like a prison camp. Not recommened to anyone! Keep it place away. You are treated like a number in statistic not like a human. Nobody care about H&S
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Wilton, County Cork8 November 2019
One of the hardest jobs I ever had wouldn't recommend it to any not a nice place to work the lads I work with are nice to work with but the management staff are not they use u when they feel like it and never appreciate all the work we do for them all they want is to look good to the other boss that they answer to there is more boss there than staff cant wait to get out of there
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Grocery Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Cork3 November 2019
They were really great employers. While I was in school they were really understanding about the hours I could do and when I was on holidays I was offered extra hours bit not over loaded. There was a fair balance. I really enjoyed the work as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/life balance is unfair
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin3 November 2019
Pay is low and management is terrible. External management don't care about individuals all they care about is hitting targets. Work/life balance is awful. The surveys about working there are terrible and are guided towards giving good reviews. Management sit in with you as you are doing the great place to work survey. I was not asked to do the great place to work survey because i would have told the truth
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 15,318 reviews
54.2K
45.3K
33.7K
21.1K
11K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture