Tesco Employee Reviews

Found 457 reviews matching the search See all 14,788 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Wilton, County Cork8 November 2019
One of the hardest jobs I ever had wouldn't recommend it to any not a nice place to work the lads I work with are nice to work with but the management staff are not they use u when they feel like it and never appreciate all the work we do for them all they want is to look good to the other boss that they answer to there is more boss there than staff cant wait to get out of there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Grocery Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Cork3 November 2019
They were really great employers. While I was in school they were really understanding about the hours I could do and when I was on holidays I was offered extra hours bit not over loaded. There was a fair balance. I really enjoyed the work as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/life balance is unfair
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin3 November 2019
Pay is low and management is terrible. External management don't care about individuals all they care about is hitting targets. Work/life balance is awful. The surveys about working there are terrible and are guided towards giving good reviews. Management sit in with you as you are doing the great place to work survey. I was not asked to do the great place to work survey because i would have told the truth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management I’ve ever worked for
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ireland26 October 2019
I have never had to work for such selfish, disrespectful managers. The way they bully their employees and the lack of humanity they show is disgraceful. They do everything for there own benefit and expect the world out of employees but are never willing to give the adequate training we need to do so. If the staff around me weren’t so amazing I don’t think I would have been able to stick it out this long
Pros
Staff
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Almost 13 years in Tesco
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Dún Laoghaire, County Dublin19 October 2019
Good employer,alot of benefits.
Clubcard with 10% discount,xmas bonus,alot of activity in shop for stuff.alot of extra hours if someone wants to work.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low rate for start
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A thankless job with no social life.
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dublin14 October 2019
Management is the main problem, it seems as though no one was trained properly. When I first started, I wasn't trained correctly either. If you have an issue, it doesn't get sorted easily, or sometimes at all. The late working hours means no social life and the rosters were changed last minute quite a lot. My mental health completely deteriorated - you're treated as just another number, easily replaceable. The pay is okay and I enjoyed working with the people there, however, it is not worth the stressful, thankless days of working until 10 pm.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Laoise, County Laois10 October 2019
Friendly and fair pay for unskilled work, couple of OK perks to the job and nice to be part of a diverse and decent work team. I can certainly see why someone would remain here for many years as overall its not too bad. Its also enjoyable speaking with lots of members of the public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Betrayed
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Tallaght10 October 2019
19yrs working for power imports and then tesco stabbed in the back by what I thought was not only work colleagues but friends both them and tesco as a company are both slimey back stabbing shower that are only out for themselves very , very unprofessional and are both cut from.the same cloth
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not the greatest of places to work
Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  New Ross, County Wexford8 October 2019
It's not the greatest place to work management are not that of quality they are rude and use bully boy tactics it's a thankless job the hours do not suit if you have a family that you need to work around the rate of pay is average it does not increase as time goes by the shop in general is not up to standards as people are working the job of 3 people single handedly
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great money, but no balance of work/life
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin, Ireland2 October 2019
great experience, was able to work in many different sections, hard to work flexible hours once you have kids, hard to juggle life and work, but for single young people great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handy to pay bills
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Ross, County Wexford2 October 2019
Not great to work, senior managers undesirable, training not adhered to, work/home life balance not great, dignity at work not in existence, wages poor,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic workplace because of managers
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bailieboro, County Cavan2 October 2019
Managers ruin this place they are all insecure and have no training in management and have no idea how too. have to wait along time to get your increase in wage. not a fun place to work
Pros
worked around my college hours
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and lovely people
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin1 October 2019
A place of amazing people who helped me develop as a professional and improve my English, fair and competent managers.
Coworkers are for sure the best.

Miss You Tescos
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin23 September 2019
The work experience in Tesco helps me increase my employment skills which requires aiding the customer for help including locating the Iles for specific stock. I'm very happy of doing the 2 weeks work experience in Tesco. I will be doing it as part of my part-time employment as a retail assistant
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable experience
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carrick-on-Suir, County Tipperary21 September 2019
Would not recommend working here as management in the majority of cases are out of their depth and dont have the skill set needed in a busy retail atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every little doesn't help
General assistant (Current Employee) –  Ireland21 September 2019
Stressful with limited staff with low pay and bad management, bad managerial decisions. Employees are far past a second thought with limited to zero advancements and will look after customers before staff and this can be seen in stores Nationwide. Terrible company.
Pros
Can be okay for students
Cons
Soul sucking atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work wasnt too challenging but managment werent flexible or comunicative
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Malahide, County Dublin20 September 2019
work wasnt too challenging but managment werent flexible or comunicative, 25 hours a week was mainly 7pm-11pm 5 days a week which made for a poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Temporary Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  County Dublin19 September 2019
I had a temporary position, so I can´t say much...
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough employers
Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Wicklow19 September 2019
Tough employers to work for demands on so little staff unrealistic .work life balance was ok 3 out of 4 weekends working depending on who done roster.Booking time off was hard but most of time got it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall pleasant workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limerick15 September 2019
I enjoyed my time with Tesco, banter among staff and engaging with customers etc.. my only issue was the management - the team leaders in particular. My store was quite small, so few staff on at a time and one team leader. When i began working, i received no training whatsoever. My first day on the job (having had NO prior experience in a busy shop) I was left on tills by myself. I had to teach myself everything. They didnt take this on board, and when i tried to communicate with them, they treated me like it was my fault and i was incompetent. They made me feel disregarded and silly. NOT A HEALTHY ENVIRONMENT FOR SOMEONE SENSITIVE/ ANXIOUS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 14,788 reviews
54.1K
45.1K
33.6K
21.1K
1945

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture