Universal Music Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical record company
National Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA16 April 2018
It was good when people were actually buying music, then that stopped and the culture changed. Perks decreased, far too many over paid executives operating on an old mind set.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente laboral
Vendedor Jr. (Current Employee) –  Ciudad de México, D. F.12 April 2018
Reconocimiento de Jefes Compañeros y Artistas, Buena Cultura Musical, Conocimientos Generales en Musica y Artistas.
Pros
Estabilidad Laboral
Cons
Promociones Laborales Escasas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Executive Chauffeur (Former Employee) –  New York, NY10 April 2018
worked for the President of the company. Transported him & his family to there destinations daily. Ran errands, made dinner reservations , coordinated theater tickets. set up all maintenance on all vehicles in the private fleet.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Vice President of Finance (Former Employee) –  New York, NY6 April 2018
Financial review, great benefits, good working environment

Daily - cash reports, inventory control

Monthly - financial package, general ledger maintenance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal Music
Executive Director of Finance (Former Employee) –  New York, NY6 April 2018
Financial review, great benefits, good working environment

Daily - cash reports, inventory control

Monthly - financial package, general ledger maintenance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Educational Temp (Former Employee) –  New York, NY5 April 2018
UMG is a great place to work. I was an intern at a label during my last year of college. I learned a lot and made connections that still benefit me today.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Royalties Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NY5 April 2018
Excellent work environment, positive work culture, advancement opportunities, competitive salary, supportive management, hardest part of job was leaving due to relocation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay...Poor Management
SVP Strategic Marketing (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CA29 March 2018
Universal stands out as one of the largest music companies in the world, with many of the top artists on the rosters of the labels, as well as under the publishing arm. However, upper management is not trained to supervise staff. There is a lot of nepotism and subtle racism. Some of the top black artists are still mocked behind closed doors.

It's great for starters and those early in their career. It's always wise to keep your options open at companies like these.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Cut throat environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal summary
Music Producer (Former Employee) –  1755 broadway26 March 2018
just what i thought it would be
a great learning very social
the place i will always want to work
excellent look foward to working for them again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA26 March 2018
Great internship! Learned a lot from staff. Given a lot of creative freedom. Collaborated with group and worked solo. Management was fair and supportive!
Cons
Office in atlanta closed in 2010
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stage en entreprise
Stagiaire polyvalente (Former Employee) –  Paris (75)23 March 2018
J'ai simplement effectué mon stage d'observation là-bas. L'équipe a été formidable avec moi.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized office but good benefits & management
Production Coordinator, E-Commerce (Former Employee) –  New York, NY14 March 2018
Half of the people in the UMG office do all of the work and the other half hang out all day. There is no training program when you start and the departments are very separated (retail vs. tour vs. web). I worked a minimum of 50 hours a week. Luckily, I had great bosses and the work was easy (just too much of it for one person to handle). The rare free concerts and t-shirts were a good addition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMG made my career!
senior mastering engineer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA14 March 2018
I couldn't have done it without the support of everyone at UMG. Supportive staff in every department made learning and coordinating all aspects of my job possible.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo
Asistente de Marketing y finanzas (Current Employee) –  San Bernardo, Región Metropolitana13 March 2018
Empresa pequeña con muy grato ambiente laboral. Debido al tamaño de la empresa es muy familiar y es posible equilibrar el trabajo con otras actividades.
Pros
excelente horario de trabajo
Cons
no hay muchas posibilidades de crecimiento profesional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Fun
Social Media Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CA2 March 2018
Good Salary and attractive incentive structure which pays on time. I highly recommend working with UMG

Had no issues whatsoever during my time working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual and relaxed workplace
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Hammersmith, Greater London1 March 2018
A okay environment to work.

The job is fine for what it is but company works in silos with limited connections between projects.

Management style is not exactly clear and there was no clear path of progression.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best run company I ever worked for, I always felt that I was a part of the best.
Network Systems Analyst II (Former Employee) –  N Hollywood, CA26 February 2018
Terrific workplace filled with a creative culture that inspires the mind. I especially enjoyed mingling with people that were outside my area of responsibility. It's amazing to see how the pieces fit together to drive the business to excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Relaxed Work place with Less salary
Vendor Analyst (Current Employee) –  California6 February 2018
Can maintain work life balance as it is not stressful though the salary is less in this company.
The Benefits are really good. The growth is very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne entreprise
Juriste Junior PI (Former Employee) –  Paris (75)2 February 2018
Universal Music France est une très bonne entreprise
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet Relaxed
Paralegal Assistant (Current Employee) –  1755 Broadway31 January 2018
My typical day at UMG would include reading emails, making phone calls and checking statuses of certain projects for my supervisor. The culture is very relaxed and friendly. I learned how to view the music industry under a legal perspective.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Universal Music Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 218 reviews
599
474
335
28
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture